We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of EconoLodge Arena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
EconoLodge Arena
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here on our way back from a cross country trip to visit family. We had our son's dog and stayed in one of the rooms reserved for pets. Not being used to traveling with a dog we were somewhat concerned about what kind of room we would end up with. We were very pleased. It was first floor, clean well appointed and not shabby at all. Continental breakfast was fine. This is a good place to stay if you are traveling through and need a room accessible to the interstate. It is right off Interstate 81 and very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carl12061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were
to receive your kind words of praise.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night's stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. But, it's only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.

Again, let me thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    145
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
97
132
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Wanting to spend some time in the Poconos mountains leaf peeping we made reservations at this Econo lodge in Wilkes-Barre Pa. We were only going to stay two nights and ended up staying three as the place was way better then I had expected. The People behind the desk were very helpful with all kinds of info about the area. The place was very clean room was spotless and the breakfast was very good as well as a very competitive price. What more would any body want. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klink1194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and especially for the 5 Star ranking.
Your feedback is shared with our entire staff and I am sure they will be thrilled to read your comments.
I hope you'll consider visiting us again should you decide to peep at God's canvas again next year.
Thank you again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We needed a place to rest to break up a long trip to NH, so we arrived late and stayed just one night. This is an excellent budget hotel! The lobby, halls, and room were all very clean. The hotel seemed very safe, the exterior was well lit and you needed a room key to open exterior doors. The room had a clean mini fridge and microwave. Good hot water and pressure in the shower. Some of the furnishings were dated, but well maintained. The room was quiet and the beds were very comfy. The staff was friendly. The breakfast had a selection of cereals; breads, bagels, and waffles for toasting; a nice pot full of warm oatmeal; hard boiled eggs; and juice and coffee. Served in a clean pleasant eating area with plenty of seating.
Definitely reccomend, especially of you just need a place to rest on a trip. Very conveniently located right off the highway.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friendviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so much for the positive review and especially for choosing us on your way through the area.
Guests, such as yourself, willing to take time out of your life to offer your comments are invaluable to us and to the many travelers that visit Trip Advisor.
Thank you once again and we hope you'll visit again should you be in the Wilkes Barre area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife and i stayed here one night while passing through Wilkes-Barre. The gentleman on the front desk was very friendly and changed our room to the front of the hotel on the first floor when I asked for quiet. It was too! He could not provide a map of the area but did print out directions to downtown and offered a couple of suggestions for a restaurant. The hotel has clearly been in place for a long time but is still clean and fresh. The room was well equipped and the continental breakfast was quite satisfactory. Very good value for a budget hotel.

Room Tip: First floor at the front for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hello Tony...
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Econo Lodge Arena.
I was thrilled to hear your visit was pleasant and comfortable for you and your wife.
If you are ever passing through again, I hope you will stop again for a visit.
Until then....Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Staff was friendly, bed comfortable, everything VERY CLEAN, nice, would recommend to anyone!

Bathroom fixtures were free from rust (a pleasant surprise), towels and sheets soft, floor clean, carpet in great condition, everything was very very nice.

Breakfast was wonderful as well. Lots of options! Fresh bagels, waffles, English muffins etc, with a "roller" toaster, yogurt, fruit, a big crock pot full of either grits or oatmeal, fruit and coffee.... couldn't ask for more, all offered in a very nice room with a few tables avail, all away from the front desk which added a nice element of privacy.

Room Tip: Very near highway exit, with a Perkins next door. Bring your room card and they will knock 10% off y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gelph94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
I cannot THANK YOU enough for the positive feedback and the wonderful comments about our hotel.
Those 5 stars really make me smile.
Just knowing you feel that strongly about your experience makes the day to day life around the hotel worth every minute.

Thank you again...you made my day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Our room was clean, quiet and pet friendly. Our room was on the first floor on the highway side, and, surprisingly, it was still very quiet. And the price was right! Easy access off the highway and back on the next day. Great restaurants and night life in downtown Wilkes-Barre if you're so inclined -- only 5 minutes away. Breakfast the next morning was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, General Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hello Nancy,
Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments about your visit to our hotel.
On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were
to receive your kind words of praise.
Feedback from our guests whether positive or negative is an invaluable tool to maintain our award winning status.
We especially love getting the positive and all those great stars!
Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barboursville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Our tour group stayed here and what a warm welcome we felt upon driving up. Our group name was on their sign outside. On the right as you walk in the door is the hospitality room. A beautiful huge sheet cake with our name on it was waiting for us. The staff was so friendly. Our room was immaculate. No odor and nicely decorated. A goodie bag was placed on the counter to take on our trip. The beds were very comfortable and the air conditioner was quiet. The one problem we had was our room was next to the hospitality room and at 4 AM someone was scooching the chairs around on the floor. It was very loud and woke us up. Yes, I would stay here again

Room Tip: Don't stay next to the hospitality room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CALewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
On behalf of our entire hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were
to receive your kind words of praise regarding your groups visit to the hotel. We truly enjoyed having you as our guests and hope you will visit us again.
Your feedback regarding the noise from the chairs will be addressed with our night auditor. I'm sure he was setting up breakfast at that time of the morning. I am so sorry your sleep was disturbed.
Once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
#13 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
#14 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
535 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Arena

Property: EconoLodge Arena
Address: 1075 Wilkes Barre Township Blvd, SR 309, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6172
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Casino Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated at the foot of the Poconos off Interstate 81, the hotel is minutes from the Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza. PNC Park, Steam Town National Historic Site and the FM Kirby Center for the Performing Arts. Mohegan Sun Casino at Pocono Downs is just five miles away, featuring casino gambling and live harness racing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your EconoLodge Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Arena Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Econo Lodge Wilkes Barre
Econolodge Wilkes Barre
Wilkes-Barre Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing