We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLEAN AND DECENT”
Review of EconoLodge Arena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
EconoLodge Arena
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
671 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“CLEAN AND DECENT”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is one of those hotels that are really for those who will be out and about but want a place that is clean and offer a decent nights rest. This is that type of hotel. Continental breakfast in the morning was very good. I had scrambled eggs, toast, banana and of course, coffee. All was very good and my family (4 people) all found something to their liking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMC_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent visit with us.
Your opinion really does matter.
I was happy to hear you enjoyed the new addition to our breakfast. We recently upgraded from just a Continental to a Full hot breakfast and most of our guests have given us very positive feedback.
Thank you again and we hope to see you soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    147
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
98
135
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is my go-to stop in WB, have family and history there so will visit again.
Convenient to downtown, generous breakfast, staff is friendly and helpful.
Rooms are clean and comfortable and quiet. Perkins restaurant is convenient for late night and early morning checkouts.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Bonnie...
I truly appreciate that you took the time to offer your thoughts about your recent stay with us.
I was thrilled to hear that your visit was a pleasant one and you'll return to us again.
Our repeat customers are the hotel's lifeline.
Thank you...and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked a 2dbl non-smoking room. This property is not the newest, but it proves what good management can do. The room was spotless and comfortable. The internet worked well. The water pressure was good. The staff was friendly and efficient. The breakfast was above average, and the area was kept spotless. This hotel has won numerous awards, including a platinum award for Wyndham for 2014. You can see why! They have everything down to a science and give you a magnifying glass with a rating sheet when you check in. That's confidence! I would highly recommend this hotel, especially for the price.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel faces a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobPC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so very much for sharing your time and experience with us.
I cannot express how wonderful reading your comments about your recent stay made me feel. I will certainly pass them along to the entire staff.
Feedback such as yours just seems to make the day to day business of the hotel just a bit brighter.
Thank you again and hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The night manager was extremely nice and was very efficient and helpful at getting me checked in. The room was clean and spacious. My only complaint was some of the shady individuals staying in the place.when I got to my room later at night after going to the casino there were two guys outside being loud and drunk trying to hitch a ride to a strip club. They offered me cocaine but I politely declined. Meanwhile the late night desk person just say there instead of asking the idiots to leave. Other than that it was an ok experience considering the cheap price.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Traveling with a pet can be an eye opener. I know for a fact that we have been relegated to a few stinky back, often shoddy, rooms that many of these places have set aside for people with pets. Then they have the nerve to charge an additional fee. Really irritating. I also know for a fact that my pooch is probably cleaner than a lot of the people checking us in.

Not this Econo Lodge though. Didn't feel like a second class citizen at all. Room was spotless, air didn't smell like a horrid meadow of dead lillies, bathroom was clean, towels good, beds comfy! Well done Econo Lodge!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PollyBidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with other travelers and with us.
We eagerly use this information in order to maintain our award winning staus. Whether positive or negative our guests impressions are an invaluable resource.
Thank you again and hopefully we'll get to see you and your pooch again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Picked this hotel because of the many good reviews found on Tripadvisor, and I wasn't disappointed. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Plus, you get 10% off at the Perkins Restaurant right in front of the hotel by showing your room key, which was also very good. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swinsonm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to offer your review of our hotel.
We appreciate it more than you know.
In this age of social media, It is imperative for a successful business to listen to their customers whether positive or negative.
In the hotel business, former guests that are potentially repeat customers are our lifeline.
Thank you again for your kind words and especially for the high ratings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yellowstone, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while passing through. Asked for a quiet room and was placed on the top floor which is half non smoking half smoking...but what non smoker wants to share with smokers? Alas despite the smokey hallway the room smelled fresh. Other guests were loud in the hallway throughout this saturday night. Earplugs recommended. In the morning the shower refused to get hotter than lukewarm much to my dismay. Grabbed some mini yogurts from the breakfast offerings and headed to the dunkin donuts across the street where (bonus review) they made my coffee wrong. Onward I went.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Violet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Violet R,
Thank you immensely for taking time to offer your review of the hotel.
Guests feedback, such as yours, are an invaluable resource to improve the overall guest experience.
We use it as a tool to maintain our award winning status.
I am so sorry your experience wasn't quite what you hoped for.

Unfortunately, when the hotel is busy it can sometimes be noisy. I can only suggest that in the future, you contact the front desk as they may be able to get the noisy guests to quiet down.
We do have a strict quiet time policy and if someone does not adher to it we need to know when it is happening.

I am a Regarding the luke warm water temperature you experienced... Did you report it to the staff?
Sadly, we can only address these types of issues when we know about them and the date of your stay nor the room number is available on TripAdvisor.
In the future, please don't ever hesitate to let hotel staff know whenever you have a problem.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
#13 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
394 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
231 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
#14 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
547 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Arena

Property: EconoLodge Arena
Address: 1075 Wilkes Barre Township Blvd, Sr 309, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6172
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Casino Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated at the foot of the Poconos off Interstate 81, the hotel is minutes from the Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza. PNC Park, Steam Town National Historic Site and the FM Kirby Center for the Performing Arts. Mohegan Sun Casino at Pocono Downs is just five miles away, featuring casino gambling and live harness racing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your EconoLodge Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Arena Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Econo Lodge Wilkes Barre
Econolodge Wilkes Barre
Wilkes-Barre Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing