We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of EconoLodge Arena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
EconoLodge Arena
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Meadows Of Dan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed at this Econo Lodge in May and was very pleased with how clean my room turned out to be. Awesome! Hats off to the housekeeping dept. for such an excellent job. Staff was very courteous and the rates are great. Quick check-in and check-out. Large truck parking made this Econo Lodge perfect. Would stay again and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougLMeadowsOfDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you so very much for sharing your time and experience with us.
I cannot express how wonderful reading your comments about your recent stay made me feel. I will certainly pass them along to the entire staff.
Feedback such as yours just seems to make the day to day business of the hotel just a bit brighter.
Thank you again and hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    140
    30
    6
    4
See reviews for
94
124
35
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My husband, two dogs and I spent one night at this incredibly inexpensive Econo Lodge. Check-in was a breeze and we were provided a comfortable room. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Beds appeared a tad small, but nonetheless were comfortable. B'fast was quite good. The hotel is only 5 miles from the beautiful Mohegan Sun Casino so if you're planning to spend time there, the Econo Lodge is a good home base.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hi Gloria...
I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to offer your review and for expressing your positive comments.
It's truly rewarding to hear how pleased you were with your visit.
Our guests feedback is more important than you can imagine and yours is like icing on a cake.
Thank you again and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I just stayed here with my four young children. I felt safe at all times. The staff was friendly and very on top of things. I didn't have to wait or ask twice for anything we needed. Housekeeping was friendly and worked willingly around our morning schedule. The free continental breakfast is more than I've seen at most places. They had scrambled eggs, sausage, baked oatmeal with all the toppings, all types of muffins/waffles/bread, etc., cereal, and more! It was so helpful to be able to start our days with full and happy kids!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10years2gether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent visit with us.
Thank you for taking the time to let me know.
We just recently upgraded to a hot breakfast and the response so far has been very positive. Most of our guests really enjoy the scrambled eggs and sausage. Even the freshly made oatmeal has been a big hit even though it's warm weather, which surprised me.
Once again....thank you and we hope we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Have stayed here several times over years and it seems to get better. A minute off I-81 and steps from a Perkins restaurant, the Econolodge is a great bargain. I paid $67 for a weeknight, which is lower than anything I've seen anywhere in years that was a decent hotel. Very clean, great staff, good breakfast, close and safe parking. Just a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Americansportswriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
I can't thank you enough for sharing your positive experience with potential visitors to Wilkes Barre.
As I'm sure you are aware, it can sometimes be a challenge to try to please everyone and even more difficult to peak their interest enough to give us a try.
Your kind words regarding your visits with us are more valuable than you can imagine.
THANK YOU again and I hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I court write forever and ever on this wonderful hotel. Bottom line is how your treated during my stay. Going thru a difficult time in my life and the staff really go out of their way and take the time their own time, to make me feel as family to them. No word can describe how i feel. Top notch place in my opinion and gets a five star and needs to be known as a five star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeFlorek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so very much for the positive feedback and sharing it with other travelers.
You know when you stay with us ...you are part of our family....not just a guest!
Once again....THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
184 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed over night this week. I was very pleased with the professionalism with the front desk.
He checked me in quickly and with no issues. I was impressed with his multitasking skills as well, he had a rush of phone calls and people asking questions. He answered each question with professionalism and he did not complain or made any facial expressions that would show if he was frustrated or not.
My room was clean, comfortable and the A/C worked very well as I like it cold.
Check out was quick as well.
If you are in the area, the prices are reasonable and have numerous restaurants and shopping centers nearby. I will be a returning guests.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
I cannot thank you enough for the wonderful review you've shared.
I was thrilled to hear that our staff was such a good multi-tasker and he handled your check-in with such ease.
What made me feel even better is that you plan on being a repeat customer.
That alone is invaluable.
Thank you again and again....
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

There's nothing on the highway sign, or sign on the building saying Econo Lodge "Arena".
So we where not sure if we where at the right one.
The Econo Lodge web site and Pet Friendly.com said there was no fee for pets, we made the reservation and asked about it and was told there was no charge. We show up and they had deducted a $50.00 fee from the credit card and said they would refund $40.00 once the room had been inspected after leaving.
Asked for a smoking room, conformation received and it clearly states, smoking room. We show up and they come up with the stupid excuse there are no smoking and dog friendly rooms.
So now I'm stuck having to go outside every I need to smoke.
Now for the good parts, check in was a breeze, room, hallways, beds, outside clean, low noise from the highway, Wifi worked great, there was a microwave, fridge, coffee maker in the room.

Room Tip: West side is away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joecaption
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor travelers.
Our guests insight while they visited with us is very important to us in order to maintain our award winning status.
We are what is known as a "Franchise" hotel. For that reason we are not permitted to add to our signage regarding the "arena". The "arena" in our name is meant to alert potential guests that we are the closest Econo Lodge to Mohegan Sun Arena, here in Wilkes Barre.
It's is unfortunate that you missed the "alert" on our web site regarding your pet preference.
This is plainly written on the 1st page of the website:

<<Pet accommodations: 10.00 per night/pet, limit 2 pets/room. Pet Deposit: 50.00 (refundable). Cash/Debit/Check Card paying guest: 100.00 deposit required. at check-in. Refundable at check-out after room inspection. >>

Also....when choosing your room, please check our room descriptions. Please note that none of our smoking rooms are considered "pet freindly"! They actaully state "No Pets Allowed". All of our pet friendly rooms are kept seperate from all other rooms so that all of our other rooms are kept PET FREE. This is basically done for those guests with allergies.
I'm sorry any of this was an inconvenience and I hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
#13 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Arena

Property: EconoLodge Arena
Address: 1075 Wilkes Barre Township Blvd, SR 309, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6172
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Casino Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated at the foot of the Poconos off Interstate 81, the hotel is minutes from the Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza. PNC Park, Steam Town National Historic Site and the FM Kirby Center for the Performing Arts. Mohegan Sun Casino at Pocono Downs is just five miles away, featuring casino gambling and live harness racing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your EconoLodge Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Arena Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Econo Lodge Wilkes Barre
Econolodge Wilkes Barre
Wilkes-Barre Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing