We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly, Pets Welcome”
Review of EconoLodge Arena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
EconoLodge Arena
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly, Pets Welcome”
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We stayed there one night with our two year old son and were overwhelmed by how clean this motel is. If you don't like smoke smells, etc. that often permeate motel rooms, you'll love it there. The most incredible thing was that the bathroom was as clean as it could be and the towels were SOFT!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waxenfelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    147
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
98
135
38
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maine
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We stayed in several Econo Lodge Motels on our trip from Maine to Florida and back during the month of January 2010. We traveled with our little dog, so had to stay in pet-friendly rooms, and some of them weren't the best.; however, the one in Wilkes-Barre is! We stayed there on our way down to Florida, and avoided all others, so as to stay there on the way back home as well. Not only was our room clean, comfortable and updated, the desk clerk and other service people there were very pleasant and helpful. We also enjoyed the breakfast in the clean and well-supplied cafe. We will certainly recommend this motel to others!
Thank you,
Lloyd & Sandra Babcock
Freedom, Maine

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maine39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading,pa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

Had larger room with large bedroom and bathroom. Got very god rate...would stay again under $90.00

Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank powder068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathey's Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Have stayed here several times before and the place still seems good. Front desk staff very kind and helpful and any traveler will appreciate the sink being away from the shower/toilet. This makes it very easy for 2 people to deal with in the morning. The room was small and I could hear walking on the floor above. The breakfast was OK, but a little spartan in what they offered--but for the rate (~$50), one can't complain. Location is convenient to most parts of town and close to all the newer business areas. I was on the freeway side, but couldn't hear any road noise at all. For the rate, it is a very good choice, but next time I'll probably seek a hotel with a little more to offer.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ynp-CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Stayed here two nights and enjoyed it. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This Econo Lodge (Arena) can match most 5 star hotels for quality of service and condition of facility and of course is a lot, lot, cheaper. Rooms are well kept-- and devices (TV, Microwave, etc...) are in working order. Towels are excellent --nice and thick. Beds are excellent. Breakfast area is very clean. The food is fresh as is the juice, milk, coffee, etc....The only problem with the breakfast area is that it's somewhat undersize for the amount of people that show up but it's larger in size than most EconoLodge breakfast areas. This EconoLodge is somewhat out of the main stream of activity but that may be good. It's only a hop, skip, and jump from a major shopping center and the major highway and a little futher to the local casino--makes for peaceful sleeping!! It's the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keystoneTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2009

We traveled from Toledo, Ohio with our band and a bus load of fans en route to an Octoberfest in the Catskill Mountains, and wanted to stay close to the Pocono Down-Mohegan Sun Casino for an overnight stay on the way for one evening. We booked our bus group via phone with Carol Plevick, and were anticipating a nice smooth stay, but did not expect the wonderful welcome and attention that we received during our short over-night stay. The hotel went out of their way to welcome us with signs, and a delicious cake and coffee when we arrived. The staff went out of their way to meet our every need, with smiles on their faces. They truly enjoy their jobs! The rooms were spacious and impeccably clean. The continental breakfast room was well-serviced, and the choice for breakfast was overly-satisfying. We thank Carol and her staff for their hospitality shown us, and look forward to our return. We will definitely stay here again, and recommend this hotel to any large group (or small)!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryll_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We stayed in 2 rooms (me, my mom and my aunt) for 4 nights, while I had a small surgery. The rooms were clean, the beds were nice and firm, the microwave and fridge were super helpful and a nice addition. The rooms were on the first floor because I also brought my dog.
The first room they gave me was closest to the outside door, it had a musty odor, so I asked for another room - got one 3 doors down and it was good. I saw a guy working on the sprinkler system while i was there, so I guess there was a problem.

the folks that worked there, espectially the afternoon evening crew were really sweet. And even though the place was booked, we didn't really even run into other folks. There is a Perkins Pancake house adjoining the parking lot, which my aunt and mom ate at almost every meal after they tried it out, it was just fine also.

Another sweet thing was when they found out why we were coming, they automatically give us their best rate, which was better than any I saw advertised. Bottom line? It ain't the Ritz, but in a way, I preferred it because of the warm helpful atmosphere and the kind folks who worked there. I'll be back if I'm ever in need of a place in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
#13 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
394 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
231 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
#14 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
547 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Arena

Property: EconoLodge Arena
Address: 1075 Wilkes Barre Township Blvd, Sr 309, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6172
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated at the foot of the Poconos off Interstate 81, the hotel is minutes from the Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza. PNC Park, Steam Town National Historic Site and the FM Kirby Center for the Performing Arts. Mohegan Sun Casino at Pocono Downs is just five miles away, featuring casino gambling and live harness racing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your EconoLodge Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Arena Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Econo Lodge Wilkes Barre
Econolodge Wilkes Barre
Wilkes-Barre Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing