We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The staff was amazing!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The staff was amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Is stayed at this Holiday Inn Express during a trip to Wilkes-Barre, PA for work. It was a typical Holiday Inn Express (which means it was very nice), but the staff here put this place over the top. I was traveling with a group of coworkers and two of them had some small, fairly simple issues. One thought the room configuration made it feel small and she did not like it. The other one had an AC unit that was a little loud. The staff immediately apologized and moved both people to new rooms to meet their needs. We were there for a week, but they took the time to learn who we were and it felt like we were coming back to our home every day. They went above and beyond to help make our week comfortable and relaxing. I will stay here any time I am traveling east and need to go through Pennsylvania. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    93
    48
    13
    5
See reviews for
77
73
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farmington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this particular HIExp several times. Although it is not particularly conveniently located off I-81 it is worth going there as the location is quiet for a congested area. Staff is very helpful. Manager needs to hire someone to clean up the grounds. There is a lot of trash lying around.
The a/c- heating unit in the room very noisy.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank euphplr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
175 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here for one night during a recent business trip. The hotel is up on a hill - you'll see their sign when you drive on highway 315, but you would need to turn and drive up a hill to find their location. We arrived there at night time - staff was friendly and offered cookies and a "welcome"-bag (which included a small water bottle, 2 mints and a small bag of pretzel). the welcome-bag was much appreciated - after a long drive and work day. My room was located on the 3rd floor, room# 313. It was normal-sized, equipped with TV, fridge, desk, etc. - the usual accommodation. The only issue for me was the thin walls. I could hear the room next to me, whenever they flush their toilets, took a shower, etc... I didn't get much sleep that night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear tramimaus ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for any shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Had a double queen room. The closet chest, tv/microwave/fridge, and desk all along the wall make walking space tight. But for the little time spent here it worked. The tv worked, good channel selection. Fridge worked well. Good water pressure. Breakfast was good. Been here for stays before and will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ECtraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

I have no problem with the brand and almost always stay at HIE but should have opted for the Marriot brand this time.
Hard to find, rooms and bath too small for more than one person. They put us in a handicap room where TV was on the left of the bed in front of the art work instead of on wall at foot of the bed. Bed was like sleeping on a rock and both my husband and I woke up with backaches! When you turned on the bathroom sink the water came out like a fire hose! The noise level above us startled and woke my hudband who slerps like a rock at 5:10 am and even after calling the front desk the noise continued. I heard running water and the ac all night. The check in staff was unfriendly but professional. They did offer free on demand shuttles within a two mile radius and the breakfast staff and checkout staff was sympathetic to our problems but only an "I'm sorry." Those few things and the fact that it was clean and the brackish pool was a pleasant surprise kept me from rating it "poor!"

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reddskyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear reddskyy,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. Our goal is to ensure you feel valued and appreciated and I apologize we did not make you feel this way. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you had expected and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the noise challenges and room accommodations. The appropriate management has been notified and these concerns will be addressed and corrected. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

this stay made me a gold member so i was excited, i even wrote it in the special remarks when booking my stay. upon arrival the girl was using the computer you could hear her typing away- even though she did acknowledge my presence and say hello she didnt stop. so i just slid my id and credit card near her and waited. afterwords she was pretty nice though.

We were upgraded which is always nice. i was well aware from all the reviews that the room would be tight. sure it was smaller then any other place ive been but PEOPLE please, i am NOT a thin girl but i was able to walk perfectly fine from the window to the bathroom past all the furniture with no problems stop over exaggerating.

the hotel has a free shuttle to the casino, which we took with no issues and picked us up quickly. we tried the pool/hot tub which was surprisingly a mix of chlorine and salt water. and breakfast was pretty good had more options then other places ive stayed at.

i would go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ittybittyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear ittybittyxx,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
261 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed for one night on our way to New York. Our room was spacious enough but just a bit tired. The carpet looked like it needed to be replaced. The bathroom was very small and could do with an upgrade. Staff were helpful and friendly enough. The breakfast was ok. Our GPS couldn't find this hotel. We could see it on a hill but was not easy to get to. Have stayed in many Holiday Inn Express, this one was just average, not as new as some others we have stayed in.
We were on the 4th floor and every time the adjoining room turned on a tap we would hear it, which made sleep a little difficult. Bed was comfortable enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LengraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear LengraMelbourne,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I'm glad to hear you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. However, I would like to apologize for any disturbance you have experienced during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#6 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Address: 1063 Highway 315 Blvd, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre East. We welcome you to historic Wilkes-Barre and our hotel, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express. Located in the Pocono foothills, this Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania hotel is ideal for business & leisure travelers with its easy access to I-81 and Hwy. 315. Business travelers seeking Wilkes-Barre accommodations will appreciate our hotel's courtesy shuttle to the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport (AVP), just eight miles away. We re convenient to businesses such as Fortune Fabrics, American Silk and the Social Security Center. Additionally, the Veterans Administration Hospital is one mile away. Leisure travelers enjoying a getaway to the Poconos will love our location. From a heritage tour to a sporting weekend, we want to be your home away from home. Our hotel in Wilkes-Barre is a great starting point for day trips to Rickett s Glen State Park, and we re only one mile from the Mohegan Sun Casino. Wachovia Arena is three miles away. This newly renovated Wilkes-Barre hotel offers you one of the best hotel deals in Wilkes-Barre. We offer a courtesy shuttle for trips within a mile of our hotel. From our indoor heated pool (opening Sept 2009) to the on-site fitness center, our hotel has upgraded amenities you can enjoy. In addition, our high-speed, wireless Internet access helps you stay connected. So on your next visit to the Diamond City, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Wilkes-Barre, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes-Barre Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre
Hampton Inn Wilkes-Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing