We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I've stayed at better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
165 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“I've stayed at better”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently on our drive across PA from Ohio on our way to Boston, MA. I made the reservation prior to our trip and found this Holiday Inn Express to be close to the highway making it easy to access. The price was right. I was hopeful that it would be a pleasant one night stay when we were offered complimentary shuttle service within a 2 mile radius of the hotel. We had been on the road a while and were tired so the offer of a ride was appreciated. However the bed was the worst. Very hard and with a plastic type mattress pad that made me hot and sweaty during the night even without heat on in the room. I would have gotten up and taken it off but I am leery of removing mattress pads in hotel rooms. It was not a good night of sleep for me at all. The breakfast is so so but is complimentary. The staff at the hotel were very nice.

Room Tip: check your mattress pad if you don't like plastic on your bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Sally S,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words on the staff. On the other hand, my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced over the mattress. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    99
    51
    14
    5
See reviews for
83
76
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

By far the worst hotel we have stayed in in years. Non-stop slamming of doors and yelling out in the hallways from 11pm-3am. Not just a few but every 10 minutes someone was slamming a door shut. After calling the front desk at 1am then having go to downstairs again at 2:30am the noise did not stop.
We were in town from DC for a concert and decided to stay the night - we would have been better off making the 4 hour drive back after the show was over.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alainacarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear alainacarter,

WI certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Please accept my sincere apology for the noise challenges you experienced during your stay. It is certainly regrettable you were not happy with your overall experience with us.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Very clean, good comfortable bed, nice hot shower with good water pressure. Easy on and off the freeway, close to places to eat and restaurants. Staff friendly and helpful. This was our second time we will be back for a third time.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

What a great hotel stay. The room was clean, the lobby was inviting, and the check in was fast. Of course I was able to have a few chocolate chip cookies while I waited for the lady in front of me to check in. The bathroom was up to par as was the comfort of the bed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatLocalBuyLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Very impressed with this property. Rooms and bath are small but nicely appointed.. Furnishings were clean and neat. Breakfast was outstanding with two kinds of sausage, scrambled eggs( steaming hot) and all the other usual items. Only drawback to our king bed was it was very hard. Rooms are small but fine for two people. Shuttle to the casino was prompt and friendly as were the front desk clerks. I can recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laketrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfeild,Fl
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotel is a new and well appointed property. It was a little out of the way and hard to find, even with the directions from the reservation. The room was well clean and comfortable. the sounds of doors closing on the floor (Fourth)created a problem late in the evening. The loby area was welcoming although a little tight for space. The breakfast area provided enough seating for the amount of guests. Although the employee in the area kept the selections filled she did not respond to a guest that had spilled his coffee but rather gave him a cleaning cloth to wipe up the coffee area and then only after he asked for assistance.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a room at the end of a hall way this may lessen the door noise (opening and closing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesmentors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear jamesmentors,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We are glad you found our hotel to be well appointed. I regret the inconvenience you may have had in locating our property and if the noise levels were a bit bothersome.

Despite this, I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Is stayed at this Holiday Inn Express during a trip to Wilkes-Barre, PA for work. It was a typical Holiday Inn Express (which means it was very nice), but the staff here put this place over the top. I was traveling with a group of coworkers and two of them had some small, fairly simple issues. One thought the room configuration made it feel small and she did not like it. The other one had an AC unit that was a little loud. The staff immediately apologized and moved both people to new rooms to meet their needs. We were there for a week, but they took the time to learn who we were and it felt like we were coming back to our home every day. They went above and beyond to help make our week comfortable and relaxing. I will stay here any time I am traveling east and need to go through Pennsylvania. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
1.2 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#5 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Address: 1063 Highway 315 Blvd, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre East. We welcome you to historic Wilkes-Barre and our hotel, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express. Located in the Pocono foothills, this Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania hotel is ideal for business & leisure travelers with its easy access to I-81 and Hwy. 315. Business travelers seeking Wilkes-Barre accommodations will appreciate our hotel's courtesy shuttle to the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport (AVP), just eight miles away. We re convenient to businesses such as Fortune Fabrics, American Silk and the Social Security Center. Additionally, the Veterans Administration Hospital is one mile away. Leisure travelers enjoying a getaway to the Poconos will love our location. From a heritage tour to a sporting weekend, we want to be your home away from home. Our hotel in Wilkes-Barre is a great starting point for day trips to Rickett s Glen State Park, and we re only one mile from the Mohegan Sun Casino. Wachovia Arena is three miles away. This newly renovated Wilkes-Barre hotel offers you one of the best hotel deals in Wilkes-Barre. We offer a courtesy shuttle for trips within a mile of our hotel. From our indoor heated pool (opening Sept 2009) to the on-site fitness center, our hotel has upgraded amenities you can enjoy. In addition, our high-speed, wireless Internet access helps you stay connected. So on your next visit to the Diamond City, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Wilkes-Barre, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes-Barre Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre
Hampton Inn Wilkes-Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing