We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a Next Gen Room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“NOT a Next Gen Room!”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We originally booked this room for 2 nights based on previous experiences with Red Roof Inns. I "assumed" all Red Roofs had converted to the Next Gen Rooms. Not the case. It was late when we arrived but after seeing the room, we decided to stay for only 1 night. Booked a non-smoking room with 2 beds. Beds are just doubles, not queens . . . when I pulled back the bedspreads, they had huge stains on them . . . ugh! . . . the window was so filthy you could barely see out of it (see photo below) . . .carpet looked old and dirty . . . room was full of flies, which we spent the first hour trying to kill. Bathroom so tiny you might care to dry off (with one of the two small bath towels) while standing in the tub. This way you can also avoid stepping out of the shower on to a dirty bathroom floor. Found a wet magic eraser on the bathroom floor (housekeeping or previous guest?). I was rather disappointed that they did not provide a hairdryer (had to run to WalMart to purchase one) or even a box of tissues (a small purse size packet was provided. Picture below, lol). One last gripe . . . they charge you $1.50 for the use of a "Safe with limited warranty" . . . seriously? Other guests seemed primarily made up of out of town labourers, or people travelling with dogs. My suggestion . . . spend the extra $20.00 and stay at the Holiday Inn Express right down the street.

Room Tip: Not worth the money . . . dirty, noisy, right next to the freeway . . . .spend the extra couple of d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamzib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayann K, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for pointing out areas of opportunity at this inn. I'm sorry we were unable to match your expectations based on your lodging experiences at other Red Roof Inn properties. We value each and every guest comment regarding their stay, and would like to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future. The next time you are in the area please give me a call directly, and I will personally handle your reservaton and guarantee your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    111
    65
    36
    27
See reviews for
93
116
55
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

There are not a lot of choices that are reasonable in this area for some reason... We took a chance on this Red Roof Inn mainly because of reviews on here. We stayed a Thursday night in June for a great price - and it did not feel like a Red Roof Inn upon walking in. The lobby was immaculate, the employees very friendly, and the room was really, really clean. The shower and bath were great and really clean. When we travel, pretty much all we want is clean. It was quiet and the breakfast was great. We will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisy5400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayann K, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor. We were happy to read your positive comments about the look of our hotel, as well as the excellent service you received from our staff members. We take pride in the quality of our hotel and in delivering the highest level of service. We look forward to welcoming you again in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel back in July of 2012 on our family vacation to Maine. It accommodated our two children free of charge, was close to the Interstate but was not noisy, was a very decent price, and was a nice place to lay our heads before another 11 hours of driving the next day. The hotel was clean, and had free wifi and cable... It was a nice hotel at a fair price - nothing fancy, provided what we needed for the night in a nice room. We are taking another vacation this summer, and after looking for a few days at different routes and all the hotels in the area where we would be stopping for our night of rest, we ended up picking this hotel again. :) will review again after our coming stay.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayann K, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Wilkes-Barre Red Roof Inn, and for taking the time to review your experience on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and have chosen to come back this year while vacationing in our area. When you arrive , please ask for me personally, as I would love to speak with you and meet your family. We look forward to your visit in July. Travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This one came so close to getting 5 stars. Unfortunately, both rooms we were in had problems. My mother's room had pubic hair and blood in the bed. It also had pubic hair on the toilet and the floor hadn't been vacuumed. MY room had what the GM called "rust stains" in the john, but it looked like mold to me.

The lady at the front desk WAS wonderful. She came to my mom's room TWICE to help make things right. She changed the bed the first time and did a better cleaning the second.

The GM of the inn DID knock off the price of my mom's room the next morning.

The PLUS side is that this particular property is LOVELY on the OUTSIDE, with lovely views and is clean on the outside. The night manager also went out of her way to clean my mom's room at 11:00 at night.

Overall, a nice property that is convenient to downtown Wilkes-Barre. Unfortunately, the cleaning staff leaves some to be desired.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCole61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayann K, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered while you were at my inn. Please know that this is not the normal experience at this property. We take all of our guests comments very seriously and use them to benefit future guests. As I recall from our conversation, you spend a lot of time traveling with your dogs, and stay at several Red Roof Inns. Thank you for your loyalty, and I hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I was driving cross country with my brother had a terrible experience the night before so I really went through the room. We got 2 rooms both were clean and well kept. Staff was pleasant
price was average and coupons were available in the books at the visitor centers on the highway

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayann K, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
We were happy to read your comments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms as well as the service of our staff members. We take pride in the quality of our hotel and in delivering the highest level of service. I was also glad that you were able to take advantage of the coupon books from the travel center. We hope to see you again during your next cross country trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We were in Wilkes Barre for the state bowling tournament. A group of us stayed there. It was clean and in a convenient location. Bed was comfortable enough. Our room had a microwave, small fridge, coffee pot and safe. We didn't need them but if you do they are in some rooms. The casino is just a mile down the road too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayann K, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Wilkes-Barre Red Roof Inn. I always enjoy hearing from our guests concerning their experience, and will be certain to share it with the staff. Feedback from our guests always serves as encouragement to the entire staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service. We hope to be able to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

1 night stay...thank goodness entire place from front desk to non-smoking room reeked of smoke. Big cigarette burn hole in the bedspread....plenty of other choices in the immediate area, pick something else. Not worth it

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GM3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayann K, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay at our location. I am sorry that it was not as pleasant as you expected. I can assure you that corrective measures will be taken to prevent a similar situation in the future. At Red Roof Inn, it is our intentention to insure all guests have a comfortable experience from beginning to end. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you again for sharing your concerns, and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you the next time your travel plans require lodging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
#14 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena

Property: Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
Address: 1035 Highway 315 Blvd, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre
Wilkes-Barre Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing