We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Went back again, mainly because of the low price, the rom was ok last time, and they accepted animals. This time up the room we were placed in smelled horribly of smoke that was trying to be covered up with an orangey-scent type of spray... I could not handle it, as I am allergic to cigarette smoke. We were moved without a problem, but it was not a great stay. Pick as your last resort in the area.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayann K, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel again on your return trip. I'm sorry that we failed to meet your expectations during your second visit, even though you were quite satisfied during your first stay. Please rest assured that we take every guest comment seriously, even though it may not always be what we want to hear. Again, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed at the Red Roof Inn in Wilkes-Barre since we were traveling with our grand dog.

This hotel was perfect , my request for 1st floor was granted, nice clean room ,bed was very comfortable , the young girl at check in was so nice.

There was no extra charge for having a dog which was so nice. Plus we all had a great night sleep.

So if you need a pet friendly hotel stay here .

Room Tip: first floor is handy for taking out your 4 legged family member
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boggie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayann K, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at this location. It is our goal to provide a comfortable room for all our guests, including the 4 legged ones. Although it is not always possible, we try to accommodate guest's requests whenever the room location is available, and provide quality service to all our guests. Thank you for sharing your experience and for choosing Red Roof Inn..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We originally booked this room for 2 nights based on previous experiences with Red Roof Inns. I "assumed" all Red Roofs had converted to the Next Gen Rooms. Not the case. It was late when we arrived but after seeing the room, we decided to stay for only 1 night. Booked a non-smoking room with 2 beds. Beds are just doubles, not queens . . . when I pulled back the bedspreads, they had huge stains on them . . . ugh! . . . the window was so filthy you could barely see out of it (see photo below) . . .carpet looked old and dirty . . . room was full of flies, which we spent the first hour trying to kill. Bathroom so tiny you might care to dry off (with one of the two small bath towels) while standing in the tub. This way you can also avoid stepping out of the shower on to a dirty bathroom floor. Found a wet magic eraser on the bathroom floor (housekeeping or previous guest?). I was rather disappointed that they did not provide a hairdryer (had to run to WalMart to purchase one) or even a box of tissues (a small purse size packet was provided. Picture below, lol). One last gripe . . . they charge you $1.50 for the use of a "Safe with limited warranty" . . . seriously? Other guests seemed primarily made up of out of town labourers, or people travelling with dogs. My suggestion . . . spend the extra $20.00 and stay at the Holiday Inn Express right down the street.

Room Tip: Not worth the money . . . dirty, noisy, right next to the freeway . . . .spend the extra couple of d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamzib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayann K, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for pointing out areas of opportunity at this inn. I'm sorry we were unable to match your expectations based on your lodging experiences at other Red Roof Inn properties. We value each and every guest comment regarding their stay, and would like to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future. The next time you are in the area please give me a call directly, and I will personally handle your reservaton and guarantee your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

There are not a lot of choices that are reasonable in this area for some reason... We took a chance on this Red Roof Inn mainly because of reviews on here. We stayed a Thursday night in June for a great price - and it did not feel like a Red Roof Inn upon walking in. The lobby was immaculate, the employees very friendly, and the room was really, really clean. The shower and bath were great and really clean. When we travel, pretty much all we want is clean. It was quiet and the breakfast was great. We will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisy5400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayann K, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor. We were happy to read your positive comments about the look of our hotel, as well as the excellent service you received from our staff members. We take pride in the quality of our hotel and in delivering the highest level of service. We look forward to welcoming you again in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel back in July of 2012 on our family vacation to Maine. It accommodated our two children free of charge, was close to the Interstate but was not noisy, was a very decent price, and was a nice place to lay our heads before another 11 hours of driving the next day. The hotel was clean, and had free wifi and cable... It was a nice hotel at a fair price - nothing fancy, provided what we needed for the night in a nice room. We are taking another vacation this summer, and after looking for a few days at different routes and all the hotels in the area where we would be stopping for our night of rest, we ended up picking this hotel again. :) will review again after our coming stay.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayann K, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thank you so much for choosing the Wilkes-Barre Red Roof Inn, and for taking the time to review your experience on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and have chosen to come back this year while vacationing in our area. When you arrive , please ask for me personally, as I would love to speak with you and meet your family. We look forward to your visit in July. Travel safely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This one came so close to getting 5 stars. Unfortunately, both rooms we were in had problems. My mother's room had pubic hair and blood in the bed. It also had pubic hair on the toilet and the floor hadn't been vacuumed. MY room had what the GM called "rust stains" in the john, but it looked like mold to me.

The lady at the front desk WAS wonderful. She came to my mom's room TWICE to help make things right. She changed the bed the first time and did a better cleaning the second.

The GM of the inn DID knock off the price of my mom's room the next morning.

The PLUS side is that this particular property is LOVELY on the OUTSIDE, with lovely views and is clean on the outside. The night manager also went out of her way to clean my mom's room at 11:00 at night.

Overall, a nice property that is convenient to downtown Wilkes-Barre. Unfortunately, the cleaning staff leaves some to be desired.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCole61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayann K, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered while you were at my inn. Please know that this is not the normal experience at this property. We take all of our guests comments very seriously and use them to benefit future guests. As I recall from our conversation, you spend a lot of time traveling with your dogs, and stay at several Red Roof Inns. Thank you for your loyalty, and I hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I was driving cross country with my brother had a terrible experience the night before so I really went through the room. We got 2 rooms both were clean and well kept. Staff was pleasant
price was average and coupons were available in the books at the visitor centers on the highway

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayann K, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

We were happy to read your comments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms as well as the service of our staff members. We take pride in the quality of our hotel and in delivering the highest level of service. I was also glad that you were able to take advantage of the coupon books from the travel center. We hope to see you again during your next cross country trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
#12 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
610 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
1.3 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#5 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena

Address: 1035 Highway 315 Blvd, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#8 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: £31 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre
Wilkes-Barre Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing