We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing, we didn't stay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peter Herdic Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peter Herdic Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Williamsport B&B and Inns
troy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very disappointing, we didn't stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were taking a road trip from Michigan to NYC and decided to make Williamsport our overnight stopping point. I researched places along the way.....Williamsport, Delaware Water Gap, etc. We were looking for nice accommodations and also wanted to have a nice dinner somewhere. The Peter Herdic Inn and adjoining restaurant seemed like a perfect fit. I read all the historical information about the area and we were really looking forward to this. Plus, all the accolades offered by prior guest were very promising. We were so thrilled to have found this place......until we arrived. The neighborhood may have at one time been Millionaire's Row, but now was pretty shabby. Really run down. The house itself is quaint and pretty nicely kept up. We were shown the Balcony Room, which is what we had reserved. Balcony??? Really? It is a locked door that is adjacent to the room, and when you open it you have a view of the parking lot.
The room was dingy. The shower was moldy. The layout was weird in that there was a very long hallway that separated the (private) bathroom from the bedroom. I didn't like it. Then we were shown another room, which was more expensive, but not worth our money. (The manager did call us after we left and said she could give us the second room for the same price as the first, but we were already 20 miles out of town and not willing to return). At this point, we did not want to stay in this town. Glad we left and moved on. We wound up in Bloomsburg, PA and had a delicious dinner at the Inn at Turkey Hill. That was excellent!

Room Tip: keep driving.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merci_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    5
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
29
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We love staying at Peter Herdic Inn. The house is a fabulous mansion filled with art and antiques.
The rooms are lovely and spacious. The Inn is located on Historic Millionaires' Row within walking distance of the downtown restaurants and cafes. The Herdic Restaurant, next store, has delicious locally sourced food. The nearby Alabaster Coffee House roasts their own beans. The nearby Bullfrog Brewery brews their own beer and often has live music. We always buy some books at Otto's bookstore on 4th street.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerambKunze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Gloria upgraded us to the red room. Luxury personified. The carefully chosen furniture, coupled with the attention to detail right down to the quality of the toiletries were greatly appreciated. Location is good and within walking distance of restaurants. They also have a beautifully appointed restaurant next door which is elegantly decorated.Jim was relaxed, friendly and helpful and he and Lena prepared a gourmet homemade breakfast that was outstanding. The ambiance and decor of the Inn was very appealing and we look forward to visiting again soon.

Room Tip: the red room is downstairs. The others are upstairs but each has a unique finishing touch. One has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here on an over night a trip. I adore B&B's and have experienced the best and worst because of my choice to stay at places that are privately owned. The Peter Herdic house was DELIGHTFUL and historic in all the best ways (modern plumbing and electricity). The owner of the house has been awarded a preservation award which offered us beautiful stained glass windows, wooden mouldings, ornate furniture, and high ceilings. Our suite was HUGE and took up nearly half the first floor. Locally made soap was a nice touch in the bathroom and the Jacuzzi tub was an unexpected surprise! The inn keepers couldn't have been more friendly or helpful! To top it all off, there was complimentary sherry to enjoy while the fireflies lit up the summer evening on the swinging porch bench! Best money spent on a B&B ever!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyDeVille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed here in late June on a weekend motorcycle ride down from Toronto with a couple buddies. Great accomodation! Everyone was super friendly, the rooms very comfortable, and breakfast was amazing! They have a restaurant which looked great, however we didn't eat there and took the 5 min walk into downtown to have dinner, we really regretted that decision. They have a great porch for relaxing and drinking sherry - we really enjoy that. I would definately stay here again, it felt like home. The next day we were refreshed and reenergized and ready for more riding through the beautiful Pennsylvania hills.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

This Inn is lovely, unique, and quiet in a large historic home. The location on Millionaire's Row is near downtown. The structure itself is in need of refreshing and maintenance, the rooms are large, the plumbing and electrical could be upgraded and the layout of the rooms and baths is unusual. It is difficult to locate the entrance to the parking area. these matters are quickly forgotten as breakfast was outstanding, multi-course of local fresh ingredients, the pop overs are not to be forgotten. The restaurant next door is outstanding in every way, food, ambiance and service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SLKj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Peter Herdic Inn is located on "Millionare's Row" in Williamsport. The house is very pretty and full of antiques, keeping with the style of the period. There is no elevator but it did not prove to be a problem even though our room was on the second floor. The room was fine size-wise and the bathroom had a claw-footed tub! Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They provide some nice touches like hand made soaps. Their high end restaurant is right next door...turned out to be very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneSJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsport hotels
0.2 mi away
Genetti Hotel - Williamsport
Genetti Hotel - Williamsport
#3 of 14 in Williamsport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsport Faxon
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Williamsport
Holiday Inn Williamsport
#10 of 14 in Williamsport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsport
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Williamsport
Hampton Inn Williamsport
#2 of 14 in Williamsport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Williamsport
Residence Inn Williamsport
#4 of 14 in Williamsport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peter Herdic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter Herdic Inn

Property: Peter Herdic Inn
Address: 411 West 4th Street, Williamsport, PA 17701
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Williamsport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsport
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peter Herdic Inn is a beautifully restored Victorian mansion situated on Williamsport, Pennsylvania's Millionaires Row. It is owned and operated by sisters Gloria Miele, her husband, Jim Wood, and brother-in-law Bob Elion. Your local hosts offer you warmth and hospitality in their gracious accommodations, as well as fine dining in their gourmet restaurant and bar next door to the Inn. Inn interior Peter Herdic was Williamsport's most influential citizen and a foremost lumber baron in the late 1800s. When he arrived, Williamsport had a population of about 2,000. By his death in 1888, he had transformed Williamsport into a thriving lumber capital, some 20,000 citizens strong. Guests may choose from several spacious rooms which offer the charm of a Victorian home. Comfort and relaxation may be enjoyed on the shaded porches or guests may take pleasure in the hustle and bustle of downtown Williamsport which is within walking distance of the Inn. Local attractions include biking, antiquing, museums and a walking tour of the magnificently restored Millionaire's Mansions. This lovely Williamsport lodging, tastefully decorated in the Victorian decor, is an ideal site for relaxing business retreats, family reunions, destination weddings as well as weekend getaways. Inn Amenities and Policies Guests are welcome to use our common areas (parlor, dining room and kitchen table) and the lovely, shaded front porch and we encourage our guests to stroll through downtown Williamsport and along Millionaires Row, both just steps from the front porch of the Inn. Local attractions include biking, antiquing, museums and a walking tours of the Historic District and the Rowley House museum. Policies * Check-in after 3 p.M; Flexible check-out times * Reservations are recommended and can be held with Visa, MasterCard, and Discover * For most reservations, cancellations may be made up to 72 hours before scheduled arrival with no charge * Reservations for large groups or during special events may require a deposit or extended cancellation time * Reservations made for Little League week or for the entire house require a deposit and two-week cancellation time. Amenities * Spacious rooms with private baths * Original silver and brass chandeliers * Exceptional red oak woodwork * Breakfast on the weekends * In-room robes * Complimentary port or sherry * Shaded porches * Free off street parking * Located on Millionaire's Row * Walking distance to museums and art galleries * Walking distance to downtown Williamsport * Walking distance to Lycoming College and Penn College * Complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet Access ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing