We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only decent Pizza in the area”
Review of House of Pizza

House of Pizza
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only decent Pizza in the area”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We went to House of Pizza because of its proximity to the hotel. It was the 3rd time we have pizza since leaving NJ for our vacation and this was the only decent pizza we had. We would return and we do recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrwndrful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
129 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“House of Pizza is good alternative to Doubletree restaurant”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We tried the House of Pizza because it is across the street from Doubletree Resort (formerly Willow Valley), after reading the boring "Café 24" menu and its high prices. This is your typical home town, fast food joint with a good variety and cheap prices. I wouldn't rate the pizza very high because it is more like "American Pizza" than Italian. But customers who did order it seemed to like it. We had buffalo wings, which were tasty, salad topped with fried chicken breast, and their fresh cut fries were crispy and everything you would expect. We also tried their fried mushrooms and these were good too.

Business was brisk so the wait was a bit long, but understandable. We liked being able to sit on their outside picnic tables. There is a nominal charge for drink refills, so get a large size up front. Most of their fried food offerings are "frozen", but this is to be expected in a small place like this which has such a large variety on the menu. Lots of people were ordering their black raspberry ice cream. All in all, a good place for a fast meal and low prices. You order your food and they call your number when it is ready.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmanColumbia_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville PA
Level Contributor
247 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Average Pizza Place”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This place was across the street from the hotel we were staying at and decided to give it a try. There is a small area inside for dining in, but it's all of about 4-5 tables. This place has more than just pizzas. You'll find subs, burgers, salads, etc. Oddly enough, you'll also find an ice cream store inside here as well. You basically go to the window, order your food, and they will call your number when your order is ready. The pizza was good, with a sweet sauce. The crust was more on the soft side and the pizza was sort of in-between a thin and pan pizza. Prices were reasonable and we would certainly go back if we were in the area again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GigemAggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“lousy stuff”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

tasted like cardboard. something like a pizza would be if you bought it frozen from a supermarket. Being from Jersey, we have great pizza.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank leegeeNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always stop on a summer sunday night.”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My family always looks forward to stopping by on our way home after a weekend in central penn area. Great ice cream creations. Love the soft serve blk raspberry! Unfortunately we get to go there less frequently because of the changes across the street at willow valley. We dontstay there anymore.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DBSBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House of Pizza also viewed

Willow Street, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Willow Street, Lancaster County
Willow Street, Lancaster County
 
Willow Street, Lancaster County
Willow Street, Lancaster County
 

Been to House of Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing