We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Steak Dinner”
Review of J & R's Smokehouse Incorporated - CLOSED

J & R's Smokehouse Incorporated
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
PA
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Good Steak Dinner”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We found this place by accident after pulling off the nearby exit in search of food. The wait staff was friendly and accommodating - we were able to have the kitchen prepare a non-menu item for my finicky 9-year-old. My older daughter & I had steaks which were very well prepared. We also had some of the best tasting mozzarella 'sticks' ever! The restaurant also has a nice atmosphere...I would eat here again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ErnTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great, friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I have been to J&R's many times, and I am never disappointed. They have great burgers and their pulled pork sandwiches are delicious. Their BBQ ribs are outstanding, and their steaks are very good. I have never had a bad meal or bad service. I love the atmosphere!
Sometimes, we grab a little table in the bar area and eat there. The drinks are great. The bartender makes the best Margarita I have ever had. What is not to like about this place? It's awesome! :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PattyDaugherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Tough Steak!!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The staff was really nice and friendly. I had the blackened salmon, and it was good. My husband had a New York strip and he said it was the worst he had ever had. This is from a man that eats greenish, old meat and says it is good. I have never heard a reaction like this from him! Save your money or go elswwhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackney, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very relaxing. Great food.”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I stopped here last night on our way home from my Aunt's viewing in N.J. and I have to say it ended the day on a nice note. Our dinners were excellent. I had the prime rib which was cooked perfectly and my husband had the flat iron blackened steak with a spicey red pepper cream sauce. That was very good as well. We would definitely go back there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
405 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Meal”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We decided to stop in on a Sunday afternoon on the way back from Bethlehem, PA. I’m glad we did. We were greeted upon arrival & were seated immediately. My wife & I both enjoyed our meal. The service was good also. Overall, we enjoyed our visit and would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RRanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J & R's Smokehouse Incorporated also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing