We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“j.gill” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camp Woodward

Camp Woodward
Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“j.gill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

great experience for kids. my son worked up there one summer and loved it

Helpful?
6 Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    6
    4
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“"It was awesome, amazing and fun" (the words of my 8 yr old)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

My eight year old returned from Camp Woodward GYMNASTICS camp only a few hours ago - and has not stopped raving about how fabulous it was. She went from Bermuda to Camp Woodward with some of her Bermuda team mates and a coach went with them to attend the coaches program - so we were fortunate that they had some "direction" so to speak. The tales that she has come home with are all positive, about how nice the fellow campers were, about how much fun she had in the cabin, how the cabin moms were great, that she was taught gymnastics by olympic medallists, that the food was great and you could get most the same food in the canteen for free as you could in the cafeteria that you paid for - you had a bank account number but they ask questions like "What is your mother's name" to make sure noone is stealing your number and buying stuff on your account - She tells me the cabin was fabulous - though noted that the cabins the older kids were in weren't as nice! She loved the velcro wall, the swimming pool, the ropes, the horseback and is already planning next year's trip. SO thanks Camp Woodward and if you are a parent wondering if it's a good idea - IT IS !!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank dczhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good if your into skating 24/7.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Lets just start out that the facilities are great. I learned a lot in a week and was a fun time. But i feel its lacking in extra activities, and some of the faculty are jerks. If your really into getting better and skating/bmx etc all the time i would reccommend. If not youll get bored, dont waste your money.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank xzcasdfcasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“woodward the land of the unknown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is my sons third year at Woodward. I agree with the people who say its lacking in supervision. My son is now 13 and loves this place. He tells all his friends you can do whatever you want there. He loves the freedom as he CANT do whatever he wants at home. He does not need or want the traditional camp routine, its not for everyone! The skate/bmx program is great but up to the camper to take advantage of. I have called in the past ans asked them to give him a little push, not sure if they ever did. The camp has amazing property and lots to offer. He will return each summer as long as he wants to go!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank amy2470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“3rd year at Woodward with 2 kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

My two children attended Lake Owen (Woodward Wisconsin) for 3 year priors to moving on to Camp Woodward 3 years ago. My daughter is now 15 and my son is almost 13. This is the highlight of their summer. Yes, it is more lax in choices than other camps (I have 4 kids who all go to different camps) but for the mature kid it is heaven. Especially the ones who do not participate in 'mainstream' sports. My son is a very talented snowboarder and skateboarder and my daughter is a talented skier who spends her winters teaching toddlers the sport. This camp is everything they need to grow and develop their skills. They are able to try flips and tricks into the foam pit that unfortunately they are not allowed do do on our local hill. Pushing themselves in these areas gives them a passion for the sports that they would never had if they were unable to attend this camp. The camp is quite strict in keeping the guys and girls apart...so much so that my two kids cannot hug while they are there for fear of being kicked out for inappropriate touching of the opposite sex. They have made lasting, wonderful friendships with kids across the globe. They both have to save money to pay for half of their tuition (not a paltry sum!) and they do it willingly every year for a chance to attend this great camp. No camp is perfect but you just have to find the perfect camp for your kid.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
11 Thank linkfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camp Woodward also viewed

Been to Camp Woodward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing