We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woodward was a Dream Camp for my BMX Biking Son”
Review of Camp Woodward

Camp Woodward
Lunenburg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Woodward was a Dream Camp for my BMX Biking Son”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Camp Woodward was everything my son dreamed it would be. He is 13 and rates the week he spent at Woodward this summer as the highlight of his young life. I have read some of the posts and will speak to some of the comments. Instruction was provided every day from 9am to noon for all campers who CHOSE to show up for it. Right after breakfast until lunch break. The instructors were all very qualified, excellent riders in their field. My son attended this everyday and was given one on one help with whatever trick he told the instructor he wanted to focus on. After lunch he was allowed to spend the rest of the day practicing what he had been shown, riding in whatever facility he wanted or trying some of the other non-bmx biking choices that Woodward offers (ex: pool, horseback riding, rope course, etc.). My son did not do anything except BMX biking because he loves it and he knew he only had 1 week to make use of the EXCELLENT facilities at Woodward and wanted to use every minute BMXing. He raved about the food quality, quantities (unlimited) and choices. He is a big eater and has been at some camps where he has been starving so this was a big plus in his books. He had nothing but great things to say about this camp and has done nothing but talk about and plan for next summer and his return to Woodward, this time with a friend joining him for the long journey from NS, Canada. As far as people stealing, this is no different than any camp, they say not to bring valuables or electronic devices, so don't! My son mentioned there were 2 campers in his cabin who never left the cabin except to eat and just stayed in their bunks playing video games. Obviously this camp is for kids who are into the listed sports. You will get out of this camp what you put into it. If you love BMX biking or skateboarding, this camp simply can not be beat. I will end this review quoting my son - "Woodward is SICK"!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank clogan2536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    7
    4
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My daugter loved this camp but beware of the management if you are the one paying the bill”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My daughter loved this camp in the past but they have proven they are beyond greedy. After 3 years of going to this camp my daughter unfortunately fractured her back 2 weeks before she was supposed to attend camp. We had paid in full. For obvious reasons she could not attend. We notified the camp (who has a waiting list of people to attend last minute, so they would not be losing the bed and money) The director Russ, informed us that they do not give refunds under any circumstances. He did not even have the courtesy to ask how she was doing. They are keeping our $1840.00 dollars and reselling the bed. He did say he would offer her credit next year knowing she will not be able to attend next year due to high school cheer leading. If the bed was going to be empty or she was not hurt then I could understand but considering the circumstances It is truly just greed. It's just really sad and says a lot about their moral character or lack there of.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
30 Thank travler12NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“j.gill”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

great experience for kids. my son worked up there one summer and loved it

Helpful?
6 Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“"It was awesome, amazing and fun" (the words of my 8 yr old)”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My eight year old returned from Camp Woodward GYMNASTICS camp only a few hours ago - and has not stopped raving about how fabulous it was. She went from Bermuda to Camp Woodward with some of her Bermuda team mates and a coach went with them to attend the coaches program - so we were fortunate that they had some "direction" so to speak. The tales that she has come home with are all positive, about how nice the fellow campers were, about how much fun she had in the cabin, how the cabin moms were great, that she was taught gymnastics by olympic medallists, that the food was great and you could get most the same food in the canteen for free as you could in the cafeteria that you paid for - you had a bank account number but they ask questions like "What is your mother's name" to make sure noone is stealing your number and buying stuff on your account - She tells me the cabin was fabulous - though noted that the cabins the older kids were in weren't as nice! She loved the velcro wall, the swimming pool, the ropes, the horseback and is already planning next year's trip. SO thanks Camp Woodward and if you are a parent wondering if it's a good idea - IT IS !!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank dczhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good if your into skating 24/7.”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Lets just start out that the facilities are great. I learned a lot in a week and was a fun time. But i feel its lacking in extra activities, and some of the faculty are jerks. If your really into getting better and skating/bmx etc all the time i would reccommend. If not youll get bored, dont waste your money.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank xzcasdfcasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camp Woodward also viewed

 

Been to Camp Woodward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing