We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Scam Sham not worthy of any Brand Name !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wormleysburg
DuBois, PA
1 review
“What a Scam Sham not worthy of any Brand Name !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Where Do I Begin ??? Can't start with any thing good because there is nothing like that here!

Won't accept use of points, even though we called and got verbal approval. His english is more broken upon arrival when he says can't allow the 800-customer service operator to assit. Don't book with a card to guarantee room for arrival, he will not allow the change he had approved.

The $10 pet fee is simply a pocket-money scam, nothing in the room looked like it got a normal cleaning, not sure why they charge extra for pets. Maybe they need to pay the standard cleaning fee as the pet fee didn't involve any extra room cleaning.

Breakfast, well if coffee is only breakfast item then why mention. A prior lady complained that all she got was coffee and donuts, heck donuts weren't even part of it in July.

If the floor wasn't so filty it might have been more comfortable than the bed. I did ask for a wash cloth at front desk, it was visibly nicer than room clothes, I have nicer rags at home.

Room Tip: A tip for travelers to this hotel - STAY AWAY !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    9
    14
    27
See reviews for
13
14
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

Use the comfort inn instead. Mattresses are old, pillows are 20+ years old (dates on them). Bathrooms dirty. Linen not washed between guests. No bottom sheets on beds (just top sheets folded over). Heat/air is not on in room until you turn it on. Our room was 56 degrees on check in and took until 3AM to warm up. STEER CLEAR of the breakfast, sour (no doubt expired) orange juice (that's the only drink option) and 4 donuts were the continental breakfast. Run as fast as you can.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonBuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leander, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I were traveling cross-country.
She found this Econo Lodge on her smart phone.
It turned out to be way off the freeway.

It is connected to a "biker" bar.
(My wife and I go to a friendly biker bar about once a month in MN.)
I checked it out to get something to eat.
Not a friendly place.
Also, smoking is allowed in bars in PA.

There are no fast food restaurants in the area.
(we ate some of our on the road packaged snacks)
The room had a slight smell of cigarette smoke.
We almost check out, but were tired so we stayed.

Breakfast muffins, and beverages were in the lobby.
Good; because we were still hungry from the night before.

I understand that this place is close to the downtown area.
If that is where you are going, this place would be O.K.

But don't go out of your way to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

As far as hotels goes this was a great hotel to stay in. The front desk guy was awesome and had a great knowledge of the area. He recommend us few places to visit and they were great. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfy, and the bathroom was clean. The location of hotel was easy to find. Don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

ECONO LODGE, WORMSLEYSBURG (PA181) | Rating: **1/2
860, North Front Street, Wormsleysburg, PA. Ph: (717) 763-7686
Stay: Two nights (August 29 and 30, 2012). Rate: $59.95 (average/night incl. tax). Room: 400.

LOCATION: Across the Susquehanna River from downtown Harrisburg. Fine if you have a vehicle, otherwise be prepared to do lots of walking or booking of taxis. The 'F' bus runs right past the hotel, but it only operates early morning and late afternoon. A bar is attached to the hotel, and hosts live bands on weekends. My trip did not coincide with weekend activities there so I don't know how loud the music gets or how rowdy the drinkers might become. During my stay at the hotel the bar was whisper quiet. Next door to the hotel you will find the Yankee Doodle Diner, a real throwback to the diners of the past. I ate there several times and found the meals cheap and the staff friendly.

FACILITIES: the hotel is showing signs of age, and could do do with a makeover. I was in room 400, close to reception. The room was more than adequate for one or two people, and everything worked as intended. The air con was loud, cold, and didn't seem to respond to adjustments in temperature - apart from off and on - but it did work. The WiFi reception was ok but had a tendency to drop out. The free breakfast barely qualified as complimentary. It consisted of lukewarm coffee, small muffins, cheap bread and jelly. Maybe the owners have given up and assumed that visitors would use the diner next door, just as I did.

RECOMMENDED: For traveling salesmen and workers on the road between jobs.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim0048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

we're NOT fussy folks, we like clean, well attended,and well run places, we sometimes overlook the obvious clues to shabby places to stay,and are often surprised when we find ourselves quite content in a shabby place because the owners are great,or the staff is great, or the service is great, or the location is great...we ALWAYS try to find some good in places we stay,and without hesitation, we'd say that IF you see this place....keep driving!
The owners try hard I'm sure, and are kind and gentle, but, need to find something ELSE to do, than run a lodging place of this caliber.....it's NOT habitable in it's current state!
I'd STRONGLY suggest passing up a stay at this place....

Room Tip: Don't bother......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyflowerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wormleysburg
1.6 mi away
Hilton Harrisburg
Hilton Harrisburg
#7 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Riverfront
Comfort Inn Riverfront
#33 of 50 in Harrisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Harrisburg
Radisson Hotel Harrisburg
#1 of 3 in Camp Hill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
2.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#15 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 860 N. Front St., US 15, 11, Wormleysburg, PA 17043-1024
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Wormleysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wormleysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wormleysburg Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Wormleysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing