We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for the price - love the LA Fitness passes!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great value for the price - love the LA Fitness passes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2008

Stayed for 4 nights in July while doing work for a local hospital ($99/night on their corporate rate).

The good:
+ Great price - the front desk agent noticed I could get a better corporate rate than the AAA rate I had booked with and switched me over without my having to ask
+ No fitness facility on site, but free guest passes to LA Fitness (2 minutes drive away) which is a great facility
+ Good sized breakfast buffet with sufficient variety
+ Free wireless Internet access
+ Large room with sufficient space to move around in
+ Comfortable bed with hard & soft pillow selections
+ Reasonably priced ($1) bottles of water at the front desk
+ Good location close to a number of restaurants & malls
+ Lots of TV stations - close to 50...
+ Free business center with a couple of PCs and printers
+ Generally quite cheerful, helpful staff
+ Good hook on the wall for hanging clothes after ironing them - too many hotels do not provide this convenience
+ Relatively new, good pressure shower head and outwardly curved shower curtain bar

The bad/ugly:
+ This is more of a peeve I have with Hampton Inns in general - they give flimsy plastic cups for water, holding your toothbrush, etc. It would be a lot better if they provided sturdier plastic cups (such as a disposable beer cup) or better yet, glasses.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kironb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    154
    48
    17
    16
See reviews for
166
95
32
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2008

We stopped for one night at the Hampton Inn on our way through the area, and were very pleased with our stay. Our room was very nicely decorated and very clean, and very quiet. The bed was by far the best hotel bed we've ever slept in, very comfy and warm, with more than enough extra pillows, which I like. The bathroom was very clean and roomy and the shower was great.

The breakfast selections were fine for our purpose, although scrambled eggs and some type of hash browns would be wonderful additions to their hot foods choices. I only saw a couple of choices - french toast sticks and some type of kielbasa. Mini pancakes or a waffle station would be great, too. They did have a nice variety of breads and bagels, as well as juices and cold cereals.

The staff was very nice and always pleasant to deal with. I would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Liked — the beds and hotel location
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GCaymanbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2007

We were in Reading for an event with family from all over, and the Hampton Inn turned out to be great for us. We opted for one of the larger rooms, which was only a few bucks extra, but well worth it in our case. It was basically the standard room with a king bed, but it was sort of L-shaped. In the "L" was the desk and a sleeper sofa, which was perfect for our 4 y/o son. He had a little space to himself, and we were able to keep the lights on in the main part of the room after he went to sleep. The king bed was exceptionally comfortable and the room was very clean. The free breakfast was great, too.

  • Liked — Very clean, very comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wash, DC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2007

Stayed here for the second weekend of the Berks Jazz Fest. It is right across the street from the "official" hotel serving the event. The price was probably 2/3 of what the official hotel was asking.

The hotel is undergoing renovations, so, by the time I return next year for the festival, it should be great. I was informed that the hotel is probably about 20 years old, which surprised me, because it doesn't look it. Even though they are renovating, they are doing their best not to inconvenience their guests. A few slight adjustments by the staff and guests, but nothing worth mentioning.

Rooms were clean, and I loved the angled mirror in the bathroom. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Hampton Inns provide a complimentary extended breakfast, but, there are also plenty of nearby restaurants around for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Most of the major chains are within 5 minutes of the hotel. Also, plenty of strip malls if you want to pick up a few things.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The renovations going on.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessTraveler2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Revere, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2006

I stayed at this Hampton for 2 nights while attending an event at the new Expo Center in Reading, and I have to say, I was very impressed from check in to check out!

The room was nicely decorated, extremely clean and well equiped: microwave, refrigerator, iron/ironing board, tv and hair dryer. The breakfast buffet was excellent, offering both hot and cold food items. Coffee, tea, cocoa and juice, along with some light snacks, were available 24/7. Two computers were available for use in the lobby area.

I highly recommend this Hampton Inn!!!

  • Liked — Perfection!
  • Disliked — I have no complaints whatsoever!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rbbrstmper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cental New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2006

Easy to find, clean, comfortable and friendly is what this Hampton Inn has going for it. Great breakfast, close to VF Outlet and other shopping. We have stayed at serveral Hampton Inn locations and this one is A+.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2005

We had a "king study" and were disappointed with it, since we usually like Hampton Inns. The room was just average; a little on the small side, with no closet, just an armoire. The wallpaper was peeling near the window (from water damage I assume). The window was very small and awkwardly placed in the room. The room had connecting doors (ugh!) and the noise from the next room and surrounding rooms/plumbing was distracting. Although the bathroom looked clean, both the toilet and shower/tub were stained (from mildew/dirt?). And when you leave the motel, it's impossible to make a left turn onto Paper Mill Rd., which was inconvenient for our purposes. For $125+ per night (on a WEEKNIGHT), frankly, we expected something a little nicer. Sadly, we've stayed in other Reading motels, and this probably IS the best one of the bunch.

The breakfast was quite impressive and they had signs out re: a free shuttle to the outlets, if that's your thing.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank LiberryLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyomissing
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
#1 of 7 in Wyomissing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Reading Wyomissing
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing

Property: Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing
Address: 1800 Papermill Rd, Wyomissing, PA 19610-1100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Wyomissing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Hampton Inn® hotel in Reading / Wyomissing, you'll be centered near many of the best activities our area has to offer. Within just five miles of our hotel, you'll find three colleges and a number of must-see spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing Hotel Wyomissing
Hampton Inn Wyomissing
Wyomissing Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing