We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was surprised at how nice the Hampton Inn turned out to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“I was surprised at how nice the Hampton Inn turned out to be”
Reviewed 18 May 2007

We were in Reading for an event with family from all over, and the Hampton Inn turned out to be great for us. We opted for one of the larger rooms, which was only a few bucks extra, but well worth it in our case. It was basically the standard room with a king bed, but it was sort of L-shaped. In the "L" was the desk and a sleeper sofa, which was perfect for our 4 y/o son. He had a little space to himself, and we were able to keep the lights on in the main part of the room after he went to sleep. The king bed was exceptionally comfortable and the room was very clean. The free breakfast was great, too.

  • Liked — Very clean, very comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    162
    54
    18
    20
See reviews for
181
115
35
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wash, DC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2007

Stayed here for the second weekend of the Berks Jazz Fest. It is right across the street from the "official" hotel serving the event. The price was probably 2/3 of what the official hotel was asking.

The hotel is undergoing renovations, so, by the time I return next year for the festival, it should be great. I was informed that the hotel is probably about 20 years old, which surprised me, because it doesn't look it. Even though they are renovating, they are doing their best not to inconvenience their guests. A few slight adjustments by the staff and guests, but nothing worth mentioning.

Rooms were clean, and I loved the angled mirror in the bathroom. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Hampton Inns provide a complimentary extended breakfast, but, there are also plenty of nearby restaurants around for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Most of the major chains are within 5 minutes of the hotel. Also, plenty of strip malls if you want to pick up a few things.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The renovations going on.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessTraveler2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Revere, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2006

I stayed at this Hampton for 2 nights while attending an event at the new Expo Center in Reading, and I have to say, I was very impressed from check in to check out!

The room was nicely decorated, extremely clean and well equiped: microwave, refrigerator, iron/ironing board, tv and hair dryer. The breakfast buffet was excellent, offering both hot and cold food items. Coffee, tea, cocoa and juice, along with some light snacks, were available 24/7. Two computers were available for use in the lobby area.

I highly recommend this Hampton Inn!!!

  • Liked — Perfection!
  • Disliked — I have no complaints whatsoever!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rbbrstmper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cental New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2006

Easy to find, clean, comfortable and friendly is what this Hampton Inn has going for it. Great breakfast, close to VF Outlet and other shopping. We have stayed at serveral Hampton Inn locations and this one is A+.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central PA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2005

We had a "king study" and were disappointed with it, since we usually like Hampton Inns. The room was just average; a little on the small side, with no closet, just an armoire. The wallpaper was peeling near the window (from water damage I assume). The window was very small and awkwardly placed in the room. The room had connecting doors (ugh!) and the noise from the next room and surrounding rooms/plumbing was distracting. Although the bathroom looked clean, both the toilet and shower/tub were stained (from mildew/dirt?). And when you leave the motel, it's impossible to make a left turn onto Paper Mill Rd., which was inconvenient for our purposes. For $125+ per night (on a WEEKNIGHT), frankly, we expected something a little nicer. Sadly, we've stayed in other Reading motels, and this probably IS the best one of the bunch.

The breakfast was quite impressive and they had signs out re: a free shuttle to the outlets, if that's your thing.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank LiberryLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2005

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and our two small children, ages two and four. There were no problems encountered during our most recent stay. The front desk people were very helpful and the room was fresh and clean. In the morning, my four-year-old and I went downstairs to the continental breakfast where he had a bowl of cereal and a muffin and I had a piece of coffee cake, fruit salad and juice. Everything was kept neat and tidy and was constantly being restocked.

We have stayed at this hotel several times in the past, and on two occasions we did experience difficulties. One of the times, we found that the sheets on the sofa bed had drops of tomato sauce on them and another time there was such excessive noise in the hallways for several hours during the night, ending after 2:30 AM. For the dirty sheets, we were given a bigger room and our first nights’ stay was comp’d. For the noise in the night, I called the front desk and was told that security had been up already and would go up again if the problem persisted. That was right after it started, and as I mentioned before, the noise continued to be a problem for several more hours. I wasn’t satisfied with the way the hotel staff handled that situation, but having had many pleasant stays there and only a couple of problem stays, I don’t hold it against them. I believe it may have been a wedding party or something to that effect, and having been a member of a loud wedding party in a hotel before, I understand they can be difficult to control.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunmaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2005

We stayed here for 2 nights while we were in Reading for a friends wedding. It is a great hotel and very clean & well kept. We got a shop & drop rate of $104 a night that even came with a gift bad with coupons & snacks. The free breakfast was the best we have had at any Hampton Inn yet! The room was very clean and had a tv, vcr, good size fridge & microwave, desk, 2 chairs and a small dresser. We would definitly stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hardingk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyomissing
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
#1 of 7 in Wyomissing
715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Reading Wyomissing
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wyomissing
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing

Property: Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing
Address: 1800 Papermill Rd, Wyomissing, PA 19610-1100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Wyomissing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Hampton Inn® hotel in Reading / Wyomissing, you'll be centered near many of the best activities our area has to offer. Within just five miles of our hotel, you'll find three colleges and a number of must-see spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing Hotel Wyomissing
Hampton Inn Wyomissing
Wyomissing Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing