We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“GREAT Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My stay was GREAT at Crowne Plaza!

From check in to check out all was nice and smooth.
Friendly staff, Great location, Large rooms, Comfortable beds, Delicious food, Had a nice time at night at the lounge!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belinda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaReading, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words BelindaF. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    105
    59
    36
    17
See reviews for
118
81
25
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore,MD
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Not the typical you'd expect from a 4 star hotel. We were traveling with our team to the area for a sports tournament. Check-in was easy and painless only to find our entire group had been seperated throughtout the hotel. The first room had moisture running down the walls. We were quickly moved to a room they "didn't have available". This room was slightly better but nothing exotic for 4 stars. No ammenities to speak of.
The conference areas and on site restaraunt and nightclub did look more enticing than our lodgings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damnp78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaReading, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry your stay wasn't up to the standards you expected. We try and accommodate the guests to the best of our ability. We do hope to see you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I've been a guest at this Crowne Plaza for the Berks Jazz Festival for many years. The experience is like no other. The staff is attentive, friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is upbeat, exciting and nostalgic. The General Manager, Craig Poole is very personable, friendly, professional and kind. Once you step through the front door you feel like your in a "home away from home". If there's an issue, it is quickly resolved and you always feel like a valued guest. The beds are very comfortable and you will get a good nights rest. This visit I brought a group of people who really enjoyed their stay. You want to make sure you get the package that includes breakfast. It's buffet stye with eggs cooked to order and other tasty treats. There's always entertainment such as music, comedy, etc. onsite. There's a exercise area and pool that you will definitely enjoy. This hotel has quite a lot to offer. You can always contact them prior to booking your stay. I'm planning on visiting again next year and years to come for the jazz festival and bringing more friends. I suggest you book early and make sure check this hotel out at least once.

Room Tip: My favorite area for room accommodations is the Towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaReading, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for this Awesome review. Its always great to see how everyone enjoys their stay here with us at the Crowne Plaza. We strive to make every aspect of your stay as comfortable as possible. From Check in, to breakfast, to your room. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiltonsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The staff were EXTREMELY friendly, especially Franklin at the Prime Restaraunt bar in the hotel. The food from there was delicious and beautifully done, too. The rooms were clean and very comfortable with great amenities. The pool was fantastic and the surrounding area had great shopping venues and sights. I'd easily stay there again with no second thought about searching for a competing hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaReading, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely response. We love it when guests come stay and enjoy their stays. We do what we can to make every aspect of your stay as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Angels for Gold hosted a talent show on May the 4th. Craig Poole, GM and Daniel Hoch, Event Planner, were wonderful to work with. This would be the 2nd event that these ever so kind people helped us with, by donating the entire ballroom and also donating the grand prize, which was a pool party for each age group. Both events were extremely successful and the setup and help from the staff at The Crowne was stellar. I would highly recommend this hotel for dinner or for any event. They are on the ball and awesome to work with.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaReading, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here with the event. We look forward to hearing how the events went, and this one was awesome. We hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here last year and did not have any issues but this year was different. We were here for two nights in April and found that this hotel did not deliver the quality and service for the price. Our first night was average and did not feel like complaining of minor stuff like hair on the bed sheet and dirty bath tub. Second night was pretty bad. We had dinner in the restaurant and had to get dirty dish replaced and then the food was not tasty at all. Then, we could not sleep due to hallway noise all night. I called the front desk at night to complain and was told that the manager will call me. No manager has called me yet. We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Greg S,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We are sincerely sorry for the issues you had with cleanliness of the room and your restaurant experience. Rest assured that the issues you have raised have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Crowne Plaza did an absolutely fantastic job with our wedding this past weekend!!! They captured our vision perfectly (Kentucky Derby) and beyond! We were so pleased with their impeccable staff in the manner that they worked (seamlessly) and they took care of my husband and I as well as our guest from beginning to end with no errors/interruptions!!! I would certainly recommend CP for any event especially a wedding as they have such an incredible team!!! CP even took care of us with the after party (VIP) in the Good Nites Lounges. Our overnight stay was great and we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast! Words can not express how thankful we are for making the BEST Day of our lives one to remember!! Thank you CP :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bride050314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaReading, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Congratulations!!!! Thank you for your kind words,We were very happy to host your wedding and after party at the Crowne Plaza, we are happy you were pleased with your event here. We had fun getting everything set for your special day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyomissing
2.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Reading Wyomissing
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wyomissing
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Address: 1741 Papermill Rd, Wyomissing, PA 19610-1207
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Wyomissing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to join us in the heart of Berks County Pennsylvania. Whether you are here on business, or shopping at the Vanity Fair Outlets, we are committed to making your stay with us memorable. Our professional staff lives the spirit of hospitality with warm welcoming smiles, and the strong desire to exceed your expectations. Every hotel can offer you a bed, free WiFi, and Continental breakfast but they can't do it with the passion and dedication our staff has to you, our guest! Thursday evenings stop by Goodnites Lounge and enjoy "Caliente" our very own Latin night. Featuring authentic Latin food, great music and friendly people. Any day of the week is a great time to visit "Prime Steak & Wine", offering delicious foods that will satisfy even the most discerning palate. Thinking about getting away with the girls for the weekend? Park your car when you arrive and you won't need to get back in it until you're ready to leave. We've got it all here with our SPA-taneous and SHOP-taneous Getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Reading
Crowne Plaza Wyomissing
Sheraton Reading
Reading Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing