We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should have stayed elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in York
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
183 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Should have stayed elsewhere”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Had to stay last night due to snow storm and not wanting to make a long drive in a storm. Checking in went fine until I got to the room, door would not open.Went down to desk and Dharm at the desk said justlet door "click" and it should open, went back and no luck, just as I was going back downstairs up he comes saying they had a problem with that door let him try..no luck. So back down for new room,got in this time room looked good little chilly but no big deal, tried to get on wifi couldn't, so just decided to read and watch TV. Pulled sheets off bed to check for bedbugs (do that where ever I stay) and no bedbugs but a huge hole in the side of the mattress you could put a fist through. All in all not the place I want to visit again

Room Tip: Don't take Rm# 207 you won't be able to get in the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perry1Baltimore, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your past stay with us back in January 2014. We greatly value your feedback. We truly apologize for your not so pleasant visit and can ensure you that all your concerns were address. Modifications were made to the needed areas. We value our guest and would like you to consider giving us another opptunity to ensure you a quality experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    32
    39
    16
    60
See reviews for
49
32
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millersville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We enjoyed the non-smoking hot tub room. The room was a double motel room so it was rather spacious. The room smelled and looked clean and there were plenty of clean towels in the hot tub as well as the shower/bath areas. The bed was also comfortable and clean. The room had some age too it but it met all of our needs including plenty of time in the hot tub. The woman handling the front desk was great to deal with. We plan on returning and renting the hot tub room again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perry1Baltimore, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your past stay with us back in December of 2013. Here at Quality Inn we value our guest and appreciate all your positive feedback... we strive to ensure that your visit is a pleasant one. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I read the recent negative reviews before booking the room for two nights. The reviews were accurate, but the room was not horrible. Yes, the bathroom needs to be remodeled, but I've been in much worse. Besides, I always wear flip flops in showers anyway...no matter how nice or expensive the hotel is.

There was some kind of scent in the room. It wasn't a foul odor, but more like an air freshener...perhaps to cover up an odor. We were in a non-smoking room, and there was no indication the scent was covering up smoke. Considering I have bad sinus issues, I did not have any problems with the scent.

The heater is awful. We stayed the weekend in December that was really warm. When we checked in, the room was colder than the outside, and it took a good 6 hours to get warm...and I prefer a cooler room. Once the room got to a comfortable temperature, then it was fine. It just takes awhile to get there.

Someone posted about the poor WiFi signal if you are in the back of the hotel. This was true for us. Our room was in the back (next to a floral shop) and the signal was weak and spotty. The same reviewer suggested getting a room towards the front. So if internet access is important to you, then don't stay in the back.

I consider myself a germaphobe, but I am also realistic and reasonable. I don't expect an immaculate, completely remodeled, perfect room when staying in a place like Quality Inn. But for the type of hotel, the price and location, the room met my expectations. If you expect high standards across the board no matter where you are, then this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirlandDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perry1Baltimore, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
.Thank you for your past stay with us back in December 2013 at Quality Inn & Suites. We appreciate all the feedback. We value our customers and assure you that all your concerns are being address to improve in any areas that improvement is needed. We look forward to having you again in the near future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottersville, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We have have actually stayed at this motel many times over many years. Always a solid "Budget" choice. Lately it has fallen dramatically in quality. Dirty rooms, footmarks and magic marker on the walls, rooms that wreak of cigarette smoke to the point of nausia. And worse, a new management that truly doesn't care what you think. The morning we left, the lobby was filled with angry patrons insisting on refunds, including us. Lousy breakfast too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RailroadsOnParade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perry1Baltimore, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your past stay with us back in December 2013. We greatly value your feedback. We truly apologize for your not so pleasant visit and can ensure you that all your concerns were address. Modifications were made to the needed areas. We value our guest and would like you to consider giving us another opptunity to ensure you a quality experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

West Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We go to York two times a year and have stayed at many places that were less than desirable. We were very pleased with Quality Inn. It was in a nice area of town, not in the congested part of town. The room smelled fresh and clean. The room looked nice and clean. They had Egyptian cotton sheets on the bed which were a treat. There was a decent breakfast in the morning in a nice clean inviting place. We will stay here from here on out.

Room Tip: Second floor is a walk up. The king room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perry1Baltimore, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thanking you for your past stay with us in October 2013. We greatly appreciate your feedback. Here at Quality Inn we strive our best to accommodate our guest needs. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed three nights at this hotel, so that tells you something. The front desk employees were super nice and helpful and we were checked in promptly. The room was okay, appeared to be clean and the bed was really comfortable. We were traveling with our dog, and there was no problem there. While I certainly would not give this hotel more than three stars, I have stayed at much more expensive hotels that were disgusting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perry1Baltimore, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for past stay with us here at Quality Inn & Suites. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback. Here at Quality we strive to ensure to make your visit as pleasant as possible, again thank you and we do look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We weren't paying hundreds of dollars, but we were expecting to have a clean room.

The check in was a little crazy and the girl at the front desk was overwhelmed. Her boss called and she told him she was leaving even if there was no one to replace her.

This hotel was disgusting, and poorly maintained. Upon entering the room, the musty smell hit us. In the bathroom, the mold was all over the walls. The dirt behind the door had not been cleaned in years. The shower did not turn off all night. The door to the outside does not close tightly.

After returning the next day, there were no towels left in the room. Others with us, did not even have their rooms picked up, dirty towels and beds unmade.

Stay somewhere else.... a little work and this place would be a good value, but it is so poorly run.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
2.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#20 of 25 in York
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - York
2.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York Southeast
4.8 mi away
Best Western Westgate Inn
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 2600 E Market St, York, PA 17402-2490
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel York
York Quality Inn
Quality Inn York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing