We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in York
Reviewed 24 May 2014

What a delightful surprise to stumble upon this hotel! Even though it is just outside the city, it is mere minutes from any place you want to be in York. Located just off I-83S, it is an easy off, easy on location. And it is located just far enough away from I-83 that traffic noise is not an issue. Check-in was easy (thank-you, Chelsi). We enjoyed our stay here so much we extended our stay not just once, but twice, and each time, we were served well by being able to remain in the same room we started with - much appreciated! Complimentary breakfast is one of the better ones with eggs, bacon, cereal choices, juice choices, yogurt, pancakes, muffins, bagels, fresh fruit, coffee, milk ... need I say more! Thanks to our morning hostess, Deborah, we were well taken care of and never felt rushed even when we arrived with just 15 minutes left for breakfast! Thank you so much for a great, extended stay - we would stay here again and can recommend this to other travelers!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor facing the front entrance - no traffic noise, A/C unit was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Once again we stayed at this location rather than someplace else this is a tried and proven location.

Found out under new management since our last visit 2 years ago. Same Clean rooms and friendly staff.

Only had one issue with our two rooms for some reason the cleaning staff likes to leave the shower head facing out of the tub, if you don't notice you could end up being sprayed!
Lucky I noticed both times, my other friend not so lucky he got sprayed shorter stature :>)

As always a great breakfast, lots to choose from
Parking can be a bit tricky at times as it all depends on timing
Everyone in our group enjoyed the stay and when we return to York PA certain we will stay their again.

Room Tip: stay on levels 2-5 avoid the through traffic and go up a floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SemperFi1775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Normally when I travel to PA I stay in Harrisburg. This time when I booked my hotel I wanted to stay closer to my sons college because I was traveling alone. I am completely surprised that this hotel only has a 2 1/2 star rating because it was great. Check-in was flawless, employees were very friendly. Room was spotless. Love!!! the toiletries from Bath & Body Works.Breakfast was fantastic, could not ask for anything more,coffee was hot and fresh. Employee was there to make sure everything was the way it should be. Congratulations to a company who knows how to take care of their customers! Would love to return here...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpre... M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're delighted to hear that your stay was a truly memorable one. My team and I believe that consistency and an innate desire to please our guests is what sets us apart from our competition. From our amenities to our prompt, smart service, each step of the way you'll see our organization's personal touch.

We look forward to being your preferred hotel in the York, PA area.

Yours in Hospitality,

Sagar V. Shah, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Tonya at the Front Desk started my visit with Smile and a nice greeting ... When I encountered a an issue in the Meeting Room, Mark from Maintenace, was johnny- on- the - spot and resolved the issue immediately and Mark had great follow-up to make sure everything was working smoothly. The Lady that manintained my room was OUTSTANDING !!! MY ROOM WAS ALWAYS EXCEPTIONALLY CLEAN ..........

I moved to this oocation from one of Holiday Inn's competitors because of the 'Individuals' that work at this Holiday Inn location. They are Professional, Quick to Resolve any Issue, and they are honest in everything they do. They add a 'Personal' touch to taking care of your stay.

Great Place to stay if you value Honesty, Cleanliness, and people who care about your stay.

Frank Sinclair

Room Tip: Ask the Front Desk Person for their Advice. They will be honest and very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpre... M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Mr. Sinclair,

Thank you so much for your rave review of our property! As you experienced, we take pride in operational and guest service excellence. Tonya, my Front Office Manager, is a valued member of our team and a true asset to my organization. Mark, our Chief Engineer, goes above and beyond his job description and helps drive our mission of superior customer care. Honesty and professionalism are the pillars we truly live by.

We have a wonderful team here and experiences such as yours give us the strength and motivation to continue moving forward.

Thanks again for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Yours in Hospitality,

Sagar V. Shah, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We travelled with our dog, and unlike last year, when we were assigned a room on an upper floor, we were assigned the room next to the gym. The first morning, we were woken up just before 7 a.m. by the sounds of the beeping and pounding of the treadmill, and a blaring TV. That same night, there was another person running on the treadmill just past midnight! The room appeared to be clean, but something in that room triggered my allergies, perhaps dander from a previous visiting dog. Considering you pay $25//night for one's dog, they could at least vacuum the room properly. The desk staff were indifferent. It took me almost of 3 minutes of standing in front of the person, who continued to do what she was doing, before I could ask a question. At least the kitchen staff were warm and hospitable. Kudos to them!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get assigned the room next to the gym, which is open 24 hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmini M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpre... M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept our most sincere apologies for your negative experience at our property. We strive to provide the highest standards of cleanliness and guest service. Next time you plan on being in the York area, please contact me directly at (717) 741-1000 ext. 607, and I'll ensure you receive a room that better suits your needs.

I will share your comments regarding staff indifference at my next Front Desk Meeting. Our front desk is trained and reminded of ensuring the full satisfaction of each guest in front of them. It is inexcusable to be ignored at any point during your stay.

I hope you will consider staying with us again in the future despite your poor experience. My team and I will work hard to deliver a better experience for you.

Yours in Hospitality,

Sagar V. Shah, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Nothing fancy. But it will give you a good sleep and a free breakfast fro under a $100. It is in a calm area close to the I81. You get well receive and your room is clean and with a giant bed you can relax with cable tv and a warm bath. You can have a complete breakfast and it's free. You can even bring some stuff for the road.
No more to say.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank do b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpre... M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing us as your accommodation of choice in York, PA! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed our guest amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast. As you experienced, we have one of the newest products in this market. We strive to make each and every guest as satisfied as you were.

My team and I look forward to your next visit.

Yours in Hospitality,

Sagar V. Shah, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I thought coming to York with a ton of snow on the ground would be the worst business trip ever. Not so. The hotel staff were very friendly and inviting. Always cheerful and helpful with local directions and places to eat after a miserable day at work. Property is immaculately clean, rooms were very quiet and the beds inviting after a long day. I think there is a pool under all the snow too!!!! I plan on staying here next time I am back to work here, it's in Per Diem and I love it!!!!! Wish I didn't have to leave :(

Room Tip: Room 204 was overlooking to pool. very quiet with no road noise. Breakfast is standard continental...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpre... M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience here at our property. We take pride in accommodating each and every guest with the utmost quality of care. The past few weeks have been hectic to say the least, with record breaking snow & ice. My passionate & dedicated team has made all the difference and always placed our guests interests, first.

And yes, there is a pool located beneath all that snow! Our brand new heated pool will be open for use this summer.

My team and I look forward to your next visit.

Hospitably Yours,

Sagar V. Shah, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York
5.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham York
2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York Southeast
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - York
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites York South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York

Address: 140 Leaders Heights Rd, York, PA 17403-5121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in York
Price Range: £78 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business and pleasure travelers will find a 100% non-smoking home away from home dedicated to surrounding you with the quality you expect, the convenience you desire and the service you deserve. Designed for the business traveler, but warm and inviting to all, this Holiday Inn Express knows what is important.We offer a well designed spacious room featuring our Simply Smart! Bedding and signature Kohler shower heads. For the ultimate convenience all rooms include a microwave and mini-fridge, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Our free Express Start breakfast bar, now with hot items like bacon and eggs, will ensure the start of a successful stay. Situated conveniently on Interstate 83, the Holiday Inn Express is minutes from where you want to be. Easy access to this major thoroughfare ensure you a quick and easy commute to downtown York, all major corporations in the area in addition to York College, Penn State York and BWI and Harrisburg airports. We welcome you to enjoy the areas many historical, cultural and entertainment offerings. Take in a show at the Strand Capital Performing Arts Center. Wine aficionados will enjoy a visit to 1 or all 11 of the quality wineries in the area. Family Fun has never been closer with Lancaster, Gettysburg, Hershey, and Baltimore being just a short drive away. Unpack once and see all there is to see. Let the Holiday Inn Express York be your choice to exceed your travel expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - York
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York Hotel York
Holiday Inn York
York Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing