We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Clean and Dog Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in York
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here twice in July on our way to and from vacation that necessitated 2-day drive. We were traveling with our 2 dogs to a cabin on a lake in Upstate New York and York was about the mid-point of our drive. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, the rooms to be clean and large enough to be quite comfortable for us. Even thought the hotel was very busy it was nice and quiet and we got a good night's sleep for the next days' drive. The hotel and grounds were well maintained and kept clean even though they accommodate many travelers with dogs. There was no "kennel smell" anywhere. The only disappointment was the breakfast food. The eggs were extremely salty and the "sausage" was overcooked and dry. The coffee wasn't bad, but we elected to have breakfast at the McDonald's across the street on our return trip. We would use this hotel again if our routing took us this way.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NaturePhotog_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I would have given Excellent but below are the reason I gave average. Mostly staff tries to be polite, rooms are clean and prices are cheap.

We had a double Queen, the minute we walked in the room we observed small flies and mosquitos. First time we used the toilet due to long trip it got overflowed. The overflowed water was soo much that it went to the carpet. We called the front desk, the well dressed young lady in the evenings was very professional. Seeing our kids crying She went quickly upgraded us to a better room.

Then in the morning at breakfast time the food wss displayed very nicely and looked excellent. however the food,eggs and other meat was not properly labeled. There were six food item only one was labeled. Upon bringing up a question to the server we were told eggs had hams. Note to the management some people are vegetarian, some eat kosher and just are allergic. For staff to say I guess Holiday inn does not label is not appropriate.

Overall stay was not bad, may return here in the future.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jawwad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a nice property, but there is no door between the "rooms". In fact there is one large room with a Demi wall so you can't see the person on the couches face. One tv in the room. Not up to the standard of other holiday inn expresses I have stayed in. The staff itself is very nice. They did call me to tell me that my dog was barking, when in fact it was someone else's dog. My son was with the dogs at the time, so am sure it wasn't our dog. But would want the same if someone else's dog was loud so that's fine.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PLazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear PLazar,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. Our staff always goes out of their way to be helpful and attentive to the guests and we are glad that you enjoyed their hospitality. It is regrettable to hear that your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the issues with the room you had. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward them to the appropriate departments for future considerations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Stay here several times a month. Quite and near the interstate. The people are great and rooms and hotel like new. Added a pool and you can walk to the trails behind the nursing home nearby! Great express deal on Priceline! Away from the main part of town but only 5 minutes to anywhere!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank BIZWITHCACHING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have to express my most sincere gratitude to this young man who went above and beyond to assist me. On a business trip in mid June, my rental car suddenly broke down and the rental agency left me stranded in a deserted parking lot, in a strange city where I knew no one, late into the night. I had not yet checked in to the hotel, so I called them to tell them about my situation and let them know I would be getting there much later than I originally planned. Marcos could have just thanked me for letting them know and hung up the phone. But, instead, he got engaged. He found out where I was and made suggestions as to what I could do. He arranged for a taxi to pick me up and, because it was so late, he even moved me to another Holiday Inn that was closer to my location. With that, his specific hotel lost a 4-day reservation but he felt my safety and comfort was more important. This whole ordeal went on for several hours and I found myself getting more and more emotional and upset. Marcos was the calm voice in the dark that eased me through this horrific experience. He got no personal gain out of this. He simply felt it was the right thing to do. About a month later, I returned to the area again for work and I stayed at this hotel. To my delight, Marcos was working the front desk when I checked in. Without realizing who I was, once again, he was a consumate professional and was completely attentive to my needs. I was thrilled to have the opportunity to personally thank him for his kindness and then, I went straight to the hotel manager to let him know about this stellar employee. He gives the guest his/her first impression of this hotel and they simply could not ask for better. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: This hotel allows dogs so if you don't like them, request a room away from that section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kerri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have lost count of the number of times I have stayed at this location and once again my experience was awesome! They welcomed me and my 2 small dogs. Great location, great room and great staff. Thank You!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank REBECCA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Was in town for a few nights on business. All staff members I ran into were very friendly. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good, never out of anything. Only thing I did not like was the outdoor pool.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank hyperdog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York
5.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham York
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites York South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton York
5.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden York
Wyndham Garden York
#6 of 26 in York
445 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn York
Hampton Inn York
#3 of 26 in York
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York

Address: 140 Leaders Heights Rd, York, PA 17403-5121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in York
Price Range: £87 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business and pleasure travelers will find a 100% non-smoking home away from home dedicated to surrounding you with the quality you expect, the convenience you desire and the service you deserve. Designed for the business traveler, but warm and inviting to all, this Holiday Inn Express knows what is important.We offer a well designed spacious room featuring our Simply Smart! Bedding and signature Kohler shower heads. For the ultimate convenience all rooms include a microwave and mini-fridge, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Our free Express Start breakfast bar, now with hot items like bacon and eggs, will ensure the start of a successful stay. Situated conveniently on Interstate 83, the Holiday Inn Express is minutes from where you want to be. Easy access to this major thoroughfare ensure you a quick and easy commute to downtown York, all major corporations in the area in addition to York College, Penn State York and BWI and Harrisburg airports. We welcome you to enjoy the areas many historical, cultural and entertainment offerings. Take in a show at the Strand Capital Performing Arts Center. Wine aficionados will enjoy a visit to 1 or all 11 of the quality wineries in the area. Family Fun has never been closer with Lancaster, Gettysburg, Hershey, and Baltimore being just a short drive away. Unpack once and see all there is to see. Let the Holiday Inn Express York be your choice to exceed your travel expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - York
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York Hotel York
Holiday Inn York
York Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing