We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attention to detail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lady Linden Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lady Linden Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 York B&B and Inns
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
210 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Jim and Jean are consummate hosts with attention to detail on service and accommodations. Jim relayed his story on the renovation of this beautiful Queen Ann Victorian home worthy of the gilded age. He and Jean worked tirelessly and saved a treasure for future generations to enjoy. Each room has unique floor patterns, period wall paper, and antique furniture. The linens were fit for royalty...so soft; you'll surely enjoy a restful sleep. Notwithstanding lots to do in York and it's surroundings, allow time to relax and enjoy the Lady Linden. Note: Only two roomsz available; make your reservation early. Resevation ($50.00) and final payment via personal check; credit card not accepted.

Room Tip: Only two rooms available. Make your reservation early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carriagehouse37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
44
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here when we had a wedding to attend. It was a delightful experience, particularly breakfast. We stayed for three hours talking to Jean, Jim and the other couple staying there. Because they only have two rooms, the service is very attentive. Breakfast was scrumptious and went above and beyond in catering to my food sensitivities.

Room Tip: Only two rooms, both restored to Victorian grandeur. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrMacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

My sister and I took my mom here for Mother's Day and went to the York County Street Fair. What a beautiful place this was. Jim and Jean were incredibley hospitable.It felt like we'd known them forever. They welcomed us into their gorgeous home with open arms. The food was incredible and the restorations they made to this home impecable! I will definately be returning. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derwood
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

This was our first trip to York. We enjoyed antiquing, biking and eating at the Market. Staying at Lady Linden B & B added to the great enjoyment of the long weekend for us as Jean and Jim made us feel welcomed to their most lovingly restored house with wonderful conversations and sumptuous (and most accommodating to Jin's food sensitivity) breakfasts. We've been to many B & B, but their love and commitment to the place are felt every corner of the house. We'll surely be back to Lady Linden soon.
tomandjin

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DostoevskyDerwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Having stayed in at least a dozen B and B's, this one is definitely a favorite. This was my second visit to Lady Linden, and it was as wonderful as the first. Jean and Jim are warm and friendly and make their guests feel like friends. They restored the home themselves and have endless stories to share and are full of helpful information about York and its surrounding areas. We have been places where the innkeepers know very little about the area, and nothing about the inn. THIS IS WHERE YOU WANT TO STAY. (But not when we want to, because we will definitely visit again.) Be sure to bring some extra cash because Jean has lovely paintings that she has done. Lady Linden is comfortable, spotless, and the food is great.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catsandcows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcoa, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We were able to work out a road trip from East Tenn. to finally visit Gettysburg. We were planning to travel to the area the last week of Sept 2011. So naturally we also wanted to see Hershey, then added Lancaster Co., then Hanover and then Columbia (the new Turkey Hill Ice Cream experience). Trying to decide where to stay - we saw York was right in the middle of everything. Lela suggested a B&B. Based on Trip Advisor’s 5-Stars top-to-bottom LLB&B entries percolating to the top of the list and the LLB&B website - we made reservations. Best travel decision we ever made. We stayed a week (wish it could have been longer). Jean and Jim were great hosts (more like visiting friends). We spent an extra hour (or two) most mornings lingering after the delicious breakfasts & coffee just talking with Jean and Jim about their/our lives and the history of their B&B. You need to clear your schedule one day and plan an afternoon tea in the Parlor with Jean. Jean & Jim gave us some great ideas for local York restaurants and sites (Central Market for one). If you are going to stay in the south-central PA area you need to stay at the Lady Linden B&B. We stayed in the Grecian Room (fantastic) but the Asian Room would have been just as nice.

Room Tip: Grecian Room or the Asian Room - both are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LTBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Jean and Jim could are the best, nicest hosts I've ever met, and I've stayed at B&Bs for 20+ years. I will not stay in a hotel. Not sure if these people are committed to your visit? Check out the before and after photo book of the house renovations in the parlor. Prepare to be shocked at the amount of work they did to restore this unique place. I stayed in the wonderful Grecian Room, with the deep clawfoot tub and side porch (wonderful for reading).
The breakfast was awesome, with homemade biscotti to boot. Not to mention the natural sugar for coffee or tea (how did you know?).... Very very pleasant experience. Very highly recommended. Wish I could have stayed longer. Don't stay anywhere else if you're within 10 miles of York, Pennsylvania. Trust me. A+++ all around. p.s. Ask about the talented daughter who is a soapmaker.. In honesty, $140 including taxes is on the high side for me but you really get your money's worth here. A delightful place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musicdinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham York
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden York
Wyndham Garden York
#6 of 25 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
3.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites York South
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites York
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Linden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Linden Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lady Linden Bed and Breakfast
Address: 505 Linden Ave, York, PA 17404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lady Linden Bed and Breakfast is conveniently located in York Pennsylvania, half way between Gettysburg and Lancaster and close to routes I-83 and 30. We are 4 blocks from York Fairgrounds and the Toyota Center, and historic York's downtown. This beautifully restored Queen Anne Victorian home offers excellence in accommodations at fair rates. Many dining options are available in the immediate area. Our suites have private baths and are furnished with sumptuous feather beds, robes and hairdryers. Our four course breakfasts feature juices and fresh fruit, breakfast sundaes, a cooked course and in-house baked goods. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing