We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lady Linden Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Old world charm and gracious hosts! Recommend for any time you are in York, PA. Room was comfortable and beautiful. Breakfast was delicious. Conversation with Jim and Jean was delightful - we could have visited all day.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank imkaced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

I was looking for a peaceful and "homey" place to stay in York, PA, and I certainly found it with the Lady Linden. Between Jean and Jim's warmth and hospitality, the sheer beauty and serenity of the house, the delicious and so, so fresh breakfast, and the lovely neighborhood full of history and similarly beautiful architecture...I didn't want to leave! I will definitely be staying at the Lady Linden again during my next visit to York. Don't miss out on this beauty!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Grecian Room, which was lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We really enjoyed our 1 night stay at Lady Linden.

The house is in a quiet location which is close to the centre of town. Jim and Jean were lovely host, who made you feel very welcome.

The house has been beautiful restored and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The bedding was beautiful and made it such a great night sleep.

The breakfast was lovely and set us up for the day.

We wish we could have spent more time there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jec000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to get a room at the last minute in this charming Victorian house in a quiet neighborhood, lovingly restored by Jim and Jean, the owners. Although Jim was away when we visited, we were well looked after by Jean. She spotted us as we parked and came out to the porch to welcome us. Once we settled in our room, we had an enjoyable chat over tea, while she showed us menus from nearby restaurants, then called the reservation in for us once we had chosen a place to dine. The rooms are prettily decorated, and books abound both in the downstairs common rooms and the bedrooms upstairs. We were in the Grecian Room, comfortably cooled with air conditioning and a ceiling fan. The bathroom is big enough to move around in easily and the balcony is a nice place to relax. Gardening enthusiasts will appreciate their rain garden.

Breakfast was yummy — including (but not limited to) free range eggs, yogurt with granola and fresh berry topping and homemade biscotti. At that time, we were the only guests at the breakfast table, so Jean was able to sit with us over a cup of tea. She is a delight to talk to, and thoughtful enough to inquire in advance about any food allergies their guests might have.

We would certainly stay here again if we have occasion to be in the area.

Room Tip: Since we only have experience of one room, we would trust the judgment of the proprietors next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Don't miss staying at the Lady Lindon when you visit York. The knowledge you gain of the history and current revitalization of the town is awesome indeed. And the breakfasts are yummy too. Jim and Jeanne are the BEST supporters of a town in transition. We lived there for seven years and went back for a graduation party. So much has been done to build up the town and more wonderful things are coming too.

The fully restored Victorian is glorious. The room was comfortable and air conditioned. Thank goodness because the temps hit 97 degrees with 90% humidity. Unfortunately, Jim had an accident and was in the hospital the entire time. You wouldn't know it. The service was perfect and Jeanne was very attentive to our needs. Stay here! You will be very pleased.

Room Tip: Both rooms are great. I. Oneyouwalk across the hallway. But it is a private hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

From the moment we laid eyes on the Lady Linden we knew it was special. From the meticulously restored rooms to the attention to detail in service, our stay was fantastic. But what made it even better was the friendly atmosphere Jean and Jim create for their guests. From giving us great tips on local restaurants (York is a hidden gem with much to offer) or walking trails (the local park and lake are perfect) to conversing over delicious breakfasts, they are the consummate hosts. We'd book there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Choose the Grecian room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaF2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We were so glad we chose to stay last night at the beautifully restored 'Lady Linden B&B, in York, Pennsylvania. Travelling together as two couples, we all found the rooms delightful, and the owners, Jean and Jim, very friendly and helpful. It was so nice sitting out on the first floor balcony, having a glass of red and watching the fire flies on the lawn. Our breakfast was very tasty and it was so nice to have a great cup of really good English tea!
The Lady Linden is close to town and easy to get to.
We would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in a homely environment if travelling to York. Thanks Jean and Jim

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SalientInt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden York
Wyndham Garden York
#6 of 26 in York
445 reviews
3.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton York
1.4 mi away
Best Western Westgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham York
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton York
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Linden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Linden Bed and Breakfast

Address: 505 Linden Ave, York, PA 17404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £90 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lady Linden Bed and Breakfast is conveniently located in York Pennsylvania, half way between Gettysburg and Lancaster and close to routes I-83 and 30. We are 4 blocks from York Fairgrounds and the Toyota Center, and historic York's downtown. This beautifully restored Queen Anne Victorian home offers excellence in accommodations at fair rates. Many dining options are available in the immediate area. Our suites have private baths and are furnished with sumptuous feather beds, robes and hairdryers. Our four course breakfasts feature juices and fresh fruit, breakfast sundaes, a cooked course and in-house baked goods. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing