We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, terrible location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites - York
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in York
Apex, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, terrible location”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My negative review of this hotel is based solely on the fact that one side of the hotel site approximate 50 feet from Interstate 83. Due to the close nature of the interstate, guest get the privilege of listing to traffic speeding down the road at all hours of the night. Otherwise, the hotel was clean, staff was helpful and polite, and food was more than adequate.

Room Tip: Request a room on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SRamos66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    42
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
42
36
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The proximity of the hotel to the highway makes you feel like you are sleeping on the median. Other than the exterior noise and the lumpy pillows, the stay was fine. Elevator was always available, breakfast was refreshed throughout morning, fitness center was hot but machines worked and staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyra, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Great hotel. Clean rooms and good breakfast. Plenty of nearby resturants. I enjoyed this stay. Easy to find. Good for events in York,Pa. And only 30 minutes to Lancaster,Pa and 1 hour to Reading,Pa. The staff was very helpful with directions and suggestion of places to go.

Room Tip: Other travelers suggested getting rooms in the front of the hotel due to the highway noise in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites - York, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Etbear,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Comfort Inn and Suites. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting York, Lancaster, and the Reading area. Our central location makes us the perfect "hub" hotel in York.

We look forward to providing you the same award winning experience and accommodations we are known for the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,
Angela Fuhrman
General Manager
717-699-1919
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floral Park, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We chose this hotel as the closest pet-friendly establishment to our destination. We have stayed several times at the Homewood Suites across the street and been pleased. This hotel, by comparison, was disappointing.

The suite includes a small dormitory-type refrigerator and microwave, but not a kitchenette. The bathroom is attached to the outer room, rather than the bedroom. Thus we ran the risk of waking the sleeping baby if we tried to go to the bathroom during the night. The mattress is very firm, which I found uncomfortable. Even with the thermostat turned off, the HVAC system still blows, generating a lot of white noise and making the place very dry. The Homewood Suites has a full kitchen, a comfy bed, bathroom attached to bedroom.

As for pets, there is a 50-pound limit and a $50 fee per booking (not per night). Pets are asked to use the side doors, rather than the main lobby, and we were thankfully given a room at the end of the hall for that purpose. There was no mention of rules about leaving the dog unattended in the room. Overall, I would agree that the hotel is "pet-friendly."

Had the bed been comfortable I could have overlooked everything else. This place is a good value if you like a firm mattress.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DigitalErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites - York, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear DigitalErin,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Comfort Inn & Suites in York. I would like to thank you so much for taking your valuable time to offer us your feedback. Without hearing back from our guest we would be unable to make corrections or celebrate our success.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future along with the "furry" member of your family!

Sincerely,

Angela Fuhrman
General Manager
717-699-1919
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Let's start with the good aspects. I think it is probably a good value for the price. I compared with Hampton and Holiday and it was the lowest of all three. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms seem clean and it is in a safe part of town. Other than that it doesn't stand out much. Rooms are a little small compared to other Comfort Inns and Suites, they do have a decent desk to work from and have a small love seat to sit on if you so choose. It doesn't appear that the interior hasn't been updated in awhile but it is not bad. Their is a small business center and a fitness center. The breakfast for the business traveler who travels often will not inspire and you will want to eat out if you want a decent hot breakfast. Internet was consistent with a good signal the couple of times I have stayed here. There has been very little noise even though it is right by a somewhat busy road. Location is not great. It is far not near any restaurants and has very limited delivery options unless you use a high priced private delivery service but at least that is an option. Mattress could use a little help although it is not the worst I have slept on. TV selection is pretty good and like most have upgraded to a passable HDTV. If I had a Hampton or Holiday option for the same price I would take it, but it is the price that brings me back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites - York, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Craig,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip advisor about your stay at Comfort Inn and Suites. We truly appreciate your feedback. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to exceed your expectations during your stay. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to York.

Sincerely,
Angela Fuhrman
General Manager
717-699-1919
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Delaware, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend. It was me, my mother, and my grandmother. We were looking for a place to put our heads at night and to save money with a breakfast provided each morning. We got so much more than we hoped. The hotel was quiet. It was right off the interstate and we didn't hear any traffic noise. The staff was polite, attentive, and helpful. The breakfast was great and we never wanted for anything. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the York area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathySDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites - York, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Cathy,

I would like to thank you so much for taking your valuable time to offer us your feedback on your recent stay at Comfort Inn and Suites. I am glad to hear you were well taken care by the staff during your stay. From our extensive hot breakfast buffet to our convenient location we are the best choice for all of our travelers.

Thank you again for the fabulous review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Angela Fuhrman
General Manager
717-699-1919
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel is conveniently located right off the highway. Plenty of restaurants nearby for dinner choices. The staff was friendly and knowledable about the area. The room was big and clean and everything was new in good shape. The hotel was full, but the breakfast was kept full of food and selection. The gym facilities had everything you need to maintain your workout routine with both weights and cardio. Overall the price was excellent for the service provided.

Room Tip: Rooms on the other side of the building away from the highway are quieter. The King Beds for single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites - York, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Comfort Inn and Suites. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our hot breakfast and fitness center. We take great pride in the accommodations and services we provide.

We look forward to providing you the same award winning experience and accommodations we are known for the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Angela Fuhrman
General Manager
717-699-1919
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham York
5.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton York
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites York
2.1 mi away
Best Western Westgate Inn
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn York
Hampton Inn York
#4 of 25 in York
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites - York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites - York

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites - York
Address: 2250 N George St, York, PA 17406-3279
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in York
#6 Family Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites - York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn and Suites has been fully renovated and offer spacious rooms and suites featuring a large work desk with two telephones and high-speed wireless and wired internet access – which are well designed for the business or leisure traveler. All guest rooms have a microwave and refrigerator and new 32” flat screen TV’s. An outstanding continental breakfast buffet is served each morning at both hotels and includes such items as fluffy scrambled eggs, delicious sausage gravy with biscuits, crisp bacon, a variety of fresh seasonal fruit, cinnamon rolls, assorted yogurt, bagels and cereal, just to name a few. Our property also offers the Choice Privileges Reward Program which is a wonderful benefit for all travelers! The Comfort Inn & Suites offers quality service and numerous amenities that are certain to provide all travelers with the comforts and conveniences needed to be productive and feel refreshed and ready to take on the day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites - York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites - York
Comfort Inn & Suites - York Hotel York
Comfort Inn York
York Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing