We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely the best business hotel in York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in York
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely the best business hotel in York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

The Country Inn & Suites York truly is a home away from home. The staff is friendly and treats you like a person, not like another faceless traveler. From a business perspective, the hotel sits right on Interstate 83, providing easy access to Baltimore and Harrisburg, as well as east access to Philadelphia. The recently renovated Stone Grill and Tap House immediately across the street have great food as well as a large selection of local craft beers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for you recent review about your stay at the Country Inn and Suites York, Pa. We take pride in treating our guests like family and making sure they are just as confortable with their stay here as they would be at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    80
    41
    27
    31
See reviews for
146
50
25
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I had a wonderful stay. The breakfast was good and also the service. The room was well cleaned . I like that there was a restaurant next door that I could walk to. I didn't have to wait long to check-in my room. I had arrived early and he gave me a room without telling me I couldn't check in till 3:00 which was wonderful. I had time to eat breakfast and take a nap. I will be coming back real soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience with us. If we have a room ready for our guest before 3 pm check-in time we will surely get you put in there so you may get situated and start enjoying your experience with us. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and I am glad you enjoyed it. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel is conveniently located to the freeways. It has lots of parking and a Ruby Tuesday's adjacent.

Pros
Excellent front office staff.
The breakfast was ample and well-stocked

Cons
The room had lots of problems:
Walls were tattered
The bathroom was running and had to be turned off as it could not be fixed until the next morning--it needed a new flapper.
Wifi was very slow and hard to get logged into.

Despite the shortcomings, the value was good and the staff made up for the shortcomings.

I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun2Bwithpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the staff here. We are getting ready to do some renovations to improve the guest rooms as well as the hotel. We are hoping your next stay will be perfect as we stride to make our guests feel as happy and comfortable as possible. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This chain is becoming a reliable place for a nice room at a moderate price. I enjoy the extra space and flexibility in these rooms while having competitive pricing with typical motel/hotel rooms. It's a nice atmosphere. Would have been nice if the maid had left as many towels for 2nd day as she picked up from our 1st day's use, and the type of water-efficient toilet in our room did not work very well. And this site is right up against I-83 and our side of the hotel (the back side) was definitely noisy from the highway traffic. But this was a good choice for our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoboxcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie R, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncansville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife + I stayed at this hotel over our weekend anniversary and ABSOLUTELY LOVED this hotel! It was built in 2000 they said but it looked like it was built yesterday; it was so perfectly taken care of. The staff was VERY pleasant, breakfast was great with a large variety of options, and even though we didn't use it, they had a gas grill out back by the pool area for guest use; which was a nice additive that most hotels don't have. Another very nice feature was that the pool area was open till midnight! Most boot you out by 10....(almost literally!) Pool was small but the hot tub was on the larger size than we usually see anywhere else. The whole area was well maintained and clean. We slept VERY well in the comfortable bed in the room. The front of the hotel had a cute "porch" area to sit in the evening with a nice decoration of flowers around. It is located in a quiet area and very little traffic to actually enjoy the front porch. Ruby Tuesday is right next door to walk to as well. Food was great! We don't feel we could have made a better choice to stay in York than here; and we never stayed anywhere else! In our opinion, you WILL enjoy your stay here!

Room Tip: ANY level would be worthwhile..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie R, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on previous occasions, always try to return here. Very clean and comfortable hotel. Great in-room facilities and nice little indoor pool. Breakfast not extensive but sufficient. Recommended

Room Tip: Away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

This is a good clean quality hotel. I am particular about traveling with the kids. We have a flip flop rule, if you cant take them off and walk around the room, we cant stay! Well this hotel passed. It exceeded our expectations.The location was right off the Rte 83 highway, next door to my favorite restaurant, Ruby Tuesday, and right down the street 3min from a 24 hour Giant Supermarket. The hotel is nice and clean and suits the overall needs of a family traveling after a long day from Hershey Park(40min away) to Baltimore and DC which is an hour and 10 min away. The free breakfast was average, eggs, sausage, waffles, juice, no bacon, fruit, cereal, etc. The rooms were modern and beds were comfy, none of those grimy floral comforters, these were solid burgundy, very nice. We had a double guest room that was spacious. The bathrooms were also modern..and the carpet was clean..No negatives.. oh our room didnt have a fridge which I think should be standard for our drinks, but we are just passing through. Overall Great Stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breathless01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here. We take pride in our cleanliness and I am happy to hear we passed your test. Breakfast usually consists of one meat or the other. If sausage is being served bacon is not, maybe on your next visit it will be the bacon. We are also in the process of doing some renovations which will include micro/fridge combos in all rooms. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites York South
4.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - York
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York
Address: 245 St. Charles Way, York, PA 17402-4643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York Hotel York
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, York
Country Inn York
York Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing