We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay, clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in York
southington,ct
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“pleasant stay, clean hotel”
Reviewed 1 April 2010

This hotel was very conveniently located, was clean, the rooms were well kept and bigger than other hotels. The free breakfast was a plus, very enjoyable, and ready right at 6 am like they advertise, and the person refilling the food stayed right on top of things so nothing was ever empty. Coffee and tea is free and available 24 hrs a day--that was awesome. The housekeepers, especially Tina, were so pleasant and nice. The man who takes care of the indoor pool and hot tub area was so nice, and always working hard to make sure everything was just right. The pool room was so clean, the pool filter was running, the pool and hot tub were immaculate. He checked the water quality every morning. We're usually worried about the cleanliness of a hotel, but we felt like the staff at this hotel went above and beyond to make sure everything was super clean, so we just relaxed and enjoyed it. We were so comfortable here, and there were so many extra's too. One night there was a basket of chocolate chip cookies in the lobby for anyone to take (to have with our coffee or tea) That was a special treat for us. We felt like we were "wanted guests". It was such a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank randyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnYork, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York, responded to this review, 18 May 2010
Thank you for the wonderful review of our property. We strive to help our guests feel like they are welcomed and wanted. I will be certain to pass on your kind words to Tina, as well as Brian (our Maintenance Engineer who checks the pool). We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to York, PA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    84
    45
    28
    34
See reviews for
156
55
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
morton, illinois
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Stayed at this hotel on business. It is a 3 1/2 star hotel.

Netruals -- conveniently located, but not near much of anything.

Positives -- Friendly staff, clean rooms, large rooms, quiet, price, Ruby Tuesday next door.

Negatives -- no movie rental, breakfast is very limited, rather no frill approach.

Overall, it is a decent hotel at an excellent price. I typically stay at Hampton Inn. This is a notch below most Hamptons.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silver spring,md
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We have stayed here many times. The staff is excellent and the breakfast bar well=stocked. WE enjoy the waffle iron and making our own. They also have eggs and many other items. I request no feather pillows and they are in the room waiting for me when we checked it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seymour E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoadTripluv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

I was there for a family vacation about a week, there customer serivces was excellent , their room was perfect nice & neat ,espeically there cookie, it was the best cookie i tasted , the front desk staff was charming & friendly and they make us feel like we was home .they were extraordinary with there customer services also the housekeeping did a brilliant job with the rooms, amenities. this hotel was magnificent and had great restaurant near, fun things to do with the family ..i had a wonderful time been there . im coming back soon again i enjoy it alot..i will definitely recommend this lovely hotel to any family & friends..keep up the good job..

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadTripluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

This hotel had just about everything perfect. From the friendliness of the reception staff, through the whole ambiance of the place, the room and the facilities of a hotel in this price range. I will certainly return and recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2009

The Country Inn and Suites in York is a fine hotel. I am surprised that it is listed as the best in York on TripAdvisor, particularly given that there are newer hotels with similar features. Nonetheless, I would not mind staying here again.

As other reviewers have noted, the staff is excellent. The front desk staff showed great communication skills and a real desire to provide outstanding customer service. We had requested an early check-in and a portable crib. When we arrived at 2 p.m. (an hour before regular check-in), our room and the crib were ready. This impressed me especially because the hotel had been completely full the night before. The cleaning staff keeps the rooms and common areas spotless. Although the hotel is beginning to show its 8+ years, it is not because of the cleaning crew. Rather, the wear is in areas that the cleaning staff cannot really control. For example, some mirrors are beginning to lose their "silver." Also, some upholstery is beginning to show wear as are the wood floors in the common areas.

We stayed in a one-bed room suite and found the layout perfectly suited to our needs. My older daughter slept in sleep sofa and my younger daughter slept in the portable crib. The crib was spotless. Even with the crib and the sofa bed opened, it was easy to get around the room. We had found that a similar room setup at a Homewood Suites was much more cramped. The bathroom also was spacious and spotless; however, water pressure was very much lacking in the shower. The room was on the I-83 side of the hotel, and road noise definitely was present. Because we are all sound sleepers, we didn't ask to switch rooms. If you are not a sound sleeper, avoid that side of the hotel.

We used the pool and hot tub. Both were very clean; however, the water temperature in both was much cooler than the norm.

Breakfast was the only truly mediocre aspect of the hotel. The selection of cereal and pastries was limited. More importantly, the pastries were not as fresh as they should have been, nor was the fruit. The scrambled eggs were hard to stomach. On the other hand, the coffee was excellent and very hot throughout the day. Also, the room was clean and the staff kept the breakfast area well stocked.

As a whole, I would not at all hesitate to stay at this hotel again. It is a fine property and the staff is excellent. On the other hand, if the price were right, I would be tempted to try the other newer suite hotels in York.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of facility, staff
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ho-tellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

My husband and I just returned from a very pleasant stay in York, Pennsylvania. We stayed seven nights at the Country Inn & Suites, a stay that was very stress-free. The management and staff appear to take great pride in their hotel and it definitely shows. In all of the hotels where we have stayed, we have never seen such conscientious cleaning and care of guest rooms.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

The breakfast could have been a little better, perhaps. The fruit mixture was rather tasteless and sometimes the muffins were dried out and the boiled eggs rubbery. But the dining area was a very comfortable way to start out the day and it saved us from finding a restaurant every morning.

While the hotel is a little distance away from downtown, there are several nice restaurants close by: Ruby Tuesdays next door, an all-you-can-eat Chinese buffet for $9.50 per person at a restaurant by the Giant supermarket down the street, and various quick-stop places for a dessert or snack.

For the women, there is an upscale shop with clothing and Brighton jewelry in a strip mall kitty-corner across the street from the hotel. They have a wide assortment of clothes, jewelry, and purses.

Apart from all of the local stuff, this hotel is centrally located in relation to Gettysburg, Lancaster, and Harrisburg. It takes a little over two hours to drive to Philadelphia for those interested in going into the city.

Nice place, nice staff, nice location!

  • Liked — Cleanliness of rooms
  • Disliked — Away from some of the city activity
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rio4181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham York
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton York
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites York South
5.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden York
Wyndham Garden York
#6 of 26 in York
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York
Address: 245 St. Charles Way, York, PA 17402-4643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York Hotel York
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, York
Country Inn York
York Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing