We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham York
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield
2 reviews
“A nice place to stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Clean rooms. But watch for the prepaid deals. You end up with a room with the canopy lights shining in the window

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    258
    71
    19
    17
See reviews for
298
157
43
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
201 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel is nice as is the staff. However, the beds and pillows were so hard that it made sleeping difficult.
The a/c blew on my feet until I put a towel over one end to block the air.
The rooms were much quieter than others I've stayed at recently.

The breakfast was decent, the usual waffle maker (and if you don't know how to use one, please ask for help. The people who left it beeping half the morning drove me nuts!) cheese omelets, sausage patties, cereal, etc.

I am surprised that it had no onsite laundry, put there are a couple within a mile.

NOTE: You can't cross 181 to enter the hotel. If you're traveling South on 181 (N George St) turn right on Taft Avenue (or Wilson if you miss Taft) and go to the end and turn left on 30. Now you can go to the light and turn left onto 181N and immediately turn right into the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stopped here for one night on our way home from vacation. After a long day of driving it was a great surprise to find ourselves at the cleanest hotel of our trip. Our room was so clean and fresh, nothing was missed. Our children really enjoyed the pool. Breakfast was quite good, except for the eggs which tasted odd, perhaps powdered, however there were enough other breakfast options to satisfy our family. Thank you to the very friendly and efficient staff, we certainly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather_Mac_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Beautiful hotel with a nice touch of hospitality, staff is great, breakfast needs help, says its 100% smoke free..not true,you cant seem to walk in and out of the front entrance with out having to walk thru and breath smoke from people hanging out side the front entrance smoking....also the reception is a wonderful idea, but hard to take part of at dinner time 5 to 7 pm is not a good time if you eat dinner at a normal time or traveling, in my view 7 to 9 pm would be better suited for a traveler or a person who eats dinner at a normal time...
BUT PLEASE DON'T MISUNDERSTAND ME ITS A WONDERFUL HOTEL..and i would stay here again anytime i can...Pam at the front desk is wonderful and very accommodating...

Room Tip: third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John ... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wingate30546, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham York, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Im so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay - you are right, PAM is so wonderful. I do not know what we would do without her on our team.
We look forward to seeing you real soon.
Warmly
Cindi Wycheck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Travelers want, expect, and are entitled for a clean room, excellent bed, and comfortable surroundings. This one met all our needs except handicap
Access in bathroom. Only a grab bar in tub. We made do! Otherwise , it was great. Staff great! Cleanliness great. Edna was a dear!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
1 Thank Margie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wingate30546, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham York, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
I am so happy to read your review - we strive to offer you a clean comfortable hotel and we did it!!!!
Edna is a doll. We are so blessed to have her on our team and thank her every day!!
We do hope to see you real soon.
Warmly
Cindi Wycheck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton York
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden York
Wyndham Garden York
#6 of 25 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites York South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - York
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York
1.8 mi away
Best Western Westgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham York

Property: Wingate by Wyndham York
Address: 105 State St, Arsenal Rd. and N. George St, York, PA 17404-1707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#5 Business Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham Hotel is conveniently located to Rt 30, Rt 83, and numerous of restaurants and shopping areas.We offer ALL INCLUSIVE rates that include your Hot Buffet Breakfast, 24 Hour Coffee / Tea, USA Today Newspaper / Wall Street Journal, WiFi, Business Center, Fitness Center, Indoor Heated Swimming Pool / Whirlpool, In-Room Microwave / Refrigerator and Wolfgang Puck Coffee, Manager's Reception Monday - Wednesday nights, AND Wyndham Reward Points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham York Hotel York
Wyndham York
York Wyndham
Wingate York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing