We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ribs were overcooked...”
Review of Smokey Bones

Smokey Bones
Ranked #11 of 451 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Grill
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Millersville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ribs were overcooked...”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

It has been awhile since I was in Smokey bones but the food had always been great. My fiance had the half chicken which tasted great and was properly cooked. The sides were also very good. My St Louis Ribs though were overcooked. The meat wasn't very juicy and at points was like chewing on jerky. I should have sent it back.

Helpful?
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    45
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Smokey Bones - A nice steak and ribs restaurant”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I went to Smokey Bones on a Saturday evening. We did not have to wait long to get seated. My wife ordered her smokehouse chicken meal, I ordered a 10 ounce sirloin steak, well done. Both meals were excellent. The restaurant was fairly busy but we had a great server and we did not have an empty glass ever! The restaurant often has good coupons in the paper or online. We enjoy going to Smokey Bones and I can't wait till the next time we go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Baby back vs St Louis style ribs”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The best thing going is the atmosphere. It's pretty nice, and so's the decor. IF you have a cupon, GO ! Also get the Blue Moon beer on tap with the slice of orange. It is really good, even if you're not a beer drinker. I'm not, but this just fits so perfectly. The sides are decent. They should get the recipe for baked beans from Mission Barbecue. No kidding.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LW M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Barbecue!!!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I look forward to coming to this restaurant everytime I come to York. The food and service is always excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GooseCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Roch-des-Aulnaies, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This is a WOW for a great price”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Our very first visit to this restaurant. We were returning from a trip down South. We were tired from the long driving and were looking for a great meal.
The name did not say much to us, but it was worth the the visit.
The service was excellent friendly and respectful, the meal were tasty healthy and well presented.
We will look for the Smokey Bones whenever we can.
A truly great culinary experience.
By the way I have many food allergies and they have a menu for the finicky eaters.
I ate all my food with much delight.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lupi-Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smokey Bones also viewed

 

Been to Smokey Bones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing