We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and Charming, but Lacking the Elegance of Similar Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Yorktowne Hotel
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Quaint and Charming, but Lacking the Elegance of Similar Hotels”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I am one who certainly enjoys history and historical places. The Yorktown Hotel does have some historical charm, but not much more. Built in the 1920's, the hotel does a good job of keeping the flavor of that era, but just couldn't get me to think elegant. They have a wide selection of rooms and suites which are well appointed. We attended a wedding & reception there which was well done, and very nice in their ballrooms. The city of York, Pa also has a lot of charm, with many vintage buildings and architectural styles in the downtown area, but there is a fine line between downtown and areas you might not want to be in after dark. Quite a variety of restaurants and pubs nearby. Again, a nice hotel, but walking down one long hallway, I couldn't help but flashback to the hotel in "The Shining."

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    99
    52
    31
    21
See reviews for
49
77
24
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stay at this hotel for business reasons when I have to be in York, PA. It's simply convenient. The place needs a lot of updating, but has great potential. Probably too much money to really get the place in shape. This last time their main dining room was closed and their lost their liquor license. Rooms are very basic, but large. No wifi, could not work. Kinda of like the place, but wish they could upgrade. You can tell their wall-papered over the walls in the rooms probably to cover bad plaster.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently updated room, if they have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emartone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This once 'the' grand hotel built in the roaring twenties still shows its charm, beauty and world class facility. It's a real beauty. From the 20 foot ceilings to the woodwork to the feel at home rooms. It is not rundown like some of the old world charmers that have been let go. This place has modern facilities, dining, food, valet parking, clean and very appealing rooms. It's right downtown walking distance to many things. We stopped here on our way to the beach and access to the Interstate 83 is good. About a mile off but well worth it because you can walk to many different kinds of places to eat. Would definitely stay here again. If you are going to stay here, don't hesitate to request a room to suit your liking. They will accommodate you. And staff is top notch too!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to request what and where you want your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeensunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherfordton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

It is a lovely, old fashioned downtown inn. The appointments are antique or very nice reproductions, fine brass lamps, handsome furniture, etc. But it is also up-to-date with WiFi and ethernet connections, coffee maker, blow dryer, etc. Climate control in each room is perfectly adequate, though there is no central air in the upper floor hallways. The historic building predates such luxury. But how much time does anyone need to spend in the hall? Unlike big chain hotels, there is no free continental breakfast, but there are two restaurants onsite -- one of them more an upscale cafe or grille, and one a step back in time with white linen tablecloths and decor of a leisurely earlier day. Across the street is the wonderful old marketplace of unique foods and crafts [not open daily] -- ask the hotel's concierge for this and other hints, many within easy walking distance. Valet parking means you have to allow just a few more minutes, coming and going by car, but it is quite efficient. Overall, there's a classy, if just slightly tired, feeling of yesteryear that makes for a very pleasant visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

the hotel has an old time flavor which i loved. yes the decor is old, but it was very clean with a very really large room. it was centrally located. the only issue we had was that we didn't know that there was valet parking and that cost us $8 a day plus tip. very low garage so dont bring tall van. would come back again,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meandthegang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have very mixed feelings about my stay at TheYorktowne.

First, the good. We were in town for a wedding. The facility was wonderful. The ceremony itself was on site. The room was beautiful, classic and well maintained. Beautiful ceremony. The reception room/banquet hall was also very nice. A great time- great staff.

The hotel room was spacious and the water pressure was wonderful- an underrated component to any hotel stay.

Now the hard part. The hotel has a moldy smell. My room smelled absolutely terrible. When I got home I felt that I needed an extra long shower to wash the hotel residue off.

Kevin in the parking garage was excellent. Above and beyond. Aside from him (and the event staff), I was disappointed by the ambivalence of the desk staff and the outright unpleasant attitude of the woman who seemed to be responsible for the cleaning staff.

Having read the other reviews, as well as the comments from the GM, I understand that this hotel is on its way back up with the new ownership group. I believe that with a significant investment this hotel could be amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarrod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lido Beach NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I really wanted to like this place for the location, heritage status, cheap rate...but you have to be okay with hostel level accommodations. Secure parking but comes with daily rate they forget to advise you about when you arrive. Close to revolutionary sites so good location for that reason if you don't have a car, but you do, so stay elsewhere. Nasty area after dark. Front desk should lay off Ambien. People host weddings there, which blows my mind. Room was dirty, literally soap scum in shower and hair on floor. Hair dryer circa 1985. Mattress reminded me of my great grandmother's, sinking right in the center down to floor. I wish it could be overhauled and preserved but fat chance so stop by just to admire historical value, then keep on going.

Room Tip: Location is average because I wanted to be near revolutionary sites. Neighborhood is not safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laphincow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
3.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton York
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden York
Wyndham Garden York
#6 of 25 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites York South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham York
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - York
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorktowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorktowne Hotel

Property: The Yorktowne Hotel
Address: 48 E. Market St., York, PA 17401
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Yorktowne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1925, The Yorktowne Hotel proudly opened its doors as York's Community Hotel. The Yorktowne Hotel features the elegance of a grand hotel paired with modern conveniences like wireless high-speed internet access. With 121 luxury guest rooms, an on-site restaurant and full service spa, conference and meeting facilities, and luxurious amenities, hospitality and convenience reign supreme at this historical property. The hotel is located in the heart of York's historic district, within easy walking distance of Continental Square, the Strand-Capitol Performing Arts Center, the historic Central Market, Santander Stadium and dozens of restaurants. While you're here, you are less than 100 miles from state and national government centers, premier recreational and golfing facilities, and historic sites that forged our nation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Yorktowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorktowne Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing