We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spring House

Spring House
Ranked #8 of 62 Restaurants in Block Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: The Main Dining Room consists of our grand indoor dining room, as well as our ocean view patio, and provides patrons with exquisite fine dining. When available, the Spring House Hotel kitchen strives to use vegetables from our very own gardens, Many of our dish’s are created solely to utilize what we grow in our own backyard. We believe that self sustainability with organically grown herbs and vegetables is the healthiest way to cook. We strive to source all produce organically and or hormone and pesticide free if available, collaborating with Farm Fresh Rhode Island, we are able to source local farmers and purveyors throughout New England.
Bridgehampton, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't miss this view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We went for sunset drinks and were not disappointed ! The view is spectacular and the drinks delicious . We were checking it out for a wedding we are attending next year and were very happy
Unfortunately did not get there for dinner. But will next time

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbellz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    51
    15
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had dinner at the Spring House on the first night of their fall menu. First we started with the pizza and it was one of the best pizza's we ever tasted. I picked up they were using a imported flour from Italy to make their dough which our waitress confirmed. It was a very thin and crispy pizza and the flavors of the Sicilian one we had were amazing. I would strongly suggest having the pizza. For dinner I had the seafood risotto which had a nice flavor and the rice was done perfectly. The atmosphere of the restaurant was very comfortable and casual. we were a bit surprised on that because the Spring House itself looks very upper class.

We enjoyed our evening all around. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful, the service was good and the atmosphere was great. Can't wait to try again on our next trip to Block Island.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dcentra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My son recommended we try Spring House for dinner after he and his girlfriend had appetizers and drinks.

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and I would recommend to everyone.

I had the Short Ribs on their fall menu and they were excellent.
My wife had the salmon and she loved it as well.

We'll be back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wmmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quality food, beautiful historical setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is one of the fancier restaurants at Block Island, and it's definitely someplace to go if you have a few days here. The menu has good variety, from pizza to sirloins and catch of the day. I had the short ribs which were delicious, but just a note that the portion is not large so those who have bigger appetites should also get an appetizer. The other meals had decent size portions. It is a great setting and it looked well kept up.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tzeug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting . Overpriced mediocre food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Can't beat the setting. Historic Victorian hotel over looking the sea. But the food was pricey and disappointing. I ordered the pizza and my husband ordered the seafood risotto. Next time I would just come for a drink at sunset and eat somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pearlstm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spring House also viewed

New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 
New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 
New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 

Been to Spring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing