We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and pretty main street lined with a few historic buildings, shops and restaurants”
Review of Hope Street

Hope Street
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Quaint and pretty main street lined with a few historic buildings, shops and restaurants”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I was impressed with this well maintained 'high street' and although there are probably more food establishments than anything else, I was pleased that even the usual garishness of a Dunkin' Donuts oulet was low key on Hope Street! Although it is the main road and, apart from pedestrian crossings there is no need to stop, I would recommend parking, for free!, and visiting some of the historic buildings, shops and restaurants that line this road.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GCR484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nothing to write home about!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

There are about four or five shops at most, the rest of real estate agents and coffee shops. Nothing I haven't seen anywhere else.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DanaTwerac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“shopping was nothing special”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I spent a Sunday mid day walking the streets of Bristol. The homes and buildings are with character, quaint and well kept. Many were not retail spaces but most are business; relaters, banking etc. I didn't see much of anything exciting to purchase and was a little disappointed since some reviews raved of the shops I was expecting more. Otherwise a very nice relaxing walk around town.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mismal64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
443 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Typical New England downtown”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Hope St is a nice view of a typical small New England town. Lots of small shops and it is the main route for the July 4th parade. Stroll down this street, don't drive.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Faloughi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hope Street is New England Small Town at its Best”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Hope Street is a comfortable and quaint as one could ever anticipate in a ideal New England Town. We enjoyed every shop, the people watching and particularly historic St. Michael's Church.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VNABOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hope Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing