We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
William's Grant Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Bristol B&B and Inns
Glen, NH
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Convenient”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I loved our one night stay at the Williams Grant Inn. Our room was very comfortable as was the public sitting room on the second floor. Diane was a very gracious hostess, and so was Indy Rose, the sweet, resident, inn dog. The Inn is just a short walk to town where he had a great dinner at Roberto's. It is just a short drive to the East Bay Bike Path and Colt State Park. We will certainly return.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DanteGlen_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsgrantinn, Owner at William's Grant Inn, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Please come back another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
65
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coram, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We don't usually stay in a B&B, but this was a special on Living Social so we took the chance. Now know why people do this. This is run like a dream. The owners should give lessons on how to run an Inn. Their knowledge of the surrounding area was so helpful. The breakfasts were outstanding. Warren & Diane you are the best! We are telling our friends about the Williams Grant Inn. Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marge324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsgrantinn, Owner at William's Grant Inn, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for the review. We hope to see you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire seacoast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We thought we had stepped into a Norman Rockwell painting, when we arrived in Bristol, starting with this wonderful inn. We were warmly greeted by Diane, given a tour of the inn and were shown to our room…fresh made chocolate cookies were a great touch! The rooms are not large, but are beautifully appointed and very comfortable. Breakfast is served in the kitchen, which added to the warmth and home-like feel of our stay. We were there for two meals, each different and equally good, (Warren makes the BEST muffins)…sure wish we could have sampled one more breakfast. The location is just perfect, about two blocks from the downtown area…and what a special town it is. There are interesting shops, a variety of restaurants, beautiful walks by the water and well-preserved historic homes…something to see at every corner. We left trying to figure out when we could return to Bristol and the William’s Grant Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ansnewhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsgrantinn, Owner at William's Grant Inn, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again some time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have not used a B&B for many years and our experience with the owners of this B&B made it a wonderful experience. The room was lovely and very clean. But all of the special effort that our hosts made to greet us, orient us to Bristol, provide snacks, a gourmet breakfast, and make us feel so very much their guests made this a wonderful reintroduction to the bed and breakfast world. The home is in a beautiful section of town on a wide, tree-lined street only a block from Hope Street (main street) and another short (1/2 block) walk to the waterfront. Although a 200 year old home, the property was in good repair and quite comfortable. Bristol is such a special place and our stay with Warren and Dianne made it even more special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VNABOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsgrantinn, Owner at William's Grant Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
105 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Was looking for a quite night away someplace new. The inn is very welcoming, loved that they had a lab rescue. The room was very comfortable loved all the pillows and soft sheets! Even had a fire place in the room. Walking distance to the water front, shops and food.

Breakfast was so good, fruit, French toast from fresh bread and maple syrup, fresh muffins all so good. Btw can I get muffin recipe? Conversation was informative and friendly from guest and hosts.

The back yard was great w porch and koi pond.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank happycamper64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Dover VT
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Anyone who wants to own a B&B or small inn should spend a few days here with Warren & Dianne because they "get it". They bring some of their interesting life stories along with a knowledge and true enjoyment of the area to the breakfast table complimenting the delicious and beautifully presented fare. We stayed in the nautically themed room off the kitchen- comfortably cozy with attention to detail- gas fireplace, good bed with quality linens, china for that late night tea I enjoyed before bed, lots of publications on nautical matters as well as local sights, and, a plus in this digital age- plenty of outlets for the gadgets we travel with. The bath and small hallway entry mute any noise from the kitchen. Breakfast was a convivial time learning a bit about each guest as we thoroughly enjoyed Dianne's pumpkin apple muffins and Warren's cheddar breakfast souffle and hashbrowns. Coffee mugs were refilled and special dietary requests were not a problem. The neighborhood is beautifully quiet and I spied a pleasant backyard. This was a quick trip for us, but we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Each room has a different theme; speak with the owners to choose the best room for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had a great Stay here, and couldn't have asked for a friendlier or more comfortable place. from the welcome chocolate chip cookies, to the handmade soap in the bathroom by a local company, it felt like staying at a cozy Grandma's house. It was clean, comfortable and had very cute de orations with Attention to every detail. I would highly recommend staying at William Grant inn Bristol.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
0.4 mi away
Bristol Harbor Inn
Bristol Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
12.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Seekonk
Hampton Inn Seekonk
#1 of 8 in Seekonk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to William's Grant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William's Grant Inn

Property: William's Grant Inn
Address: 154 High Street, Bristol, RI 02809-2123
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Bristol
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — William's Grant Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
William’s Grant Inn is an old sea captain’s home built by William Bradford in 1808 on a quiet street a short distance from Bristol town center. It is a 5-bay Federal Colonial style, furnished throughout with antiques. Visit the large collection of teddy bears from many parts of the world, nestled within the collections of American and foreign furniture and curios and art.Many of the hanging artworks are family heirlooms done over the past century together with wonderful copies of the great masters. There are fifteen large koi in the fish pond placed in the back gardens, an oasis of fern and other greenery. The rhododendrons are magnificent in the spring.Each room is decorated in its own style with antiques. Each has a queen bed and a private bath. A full gourmet breakfast is included for all guests. Gas coal basket fires in three rooms—Blithewold, Sturbridge and Nautical Rooms. The guest parlor has television/DVD/VCR for your pleasure and a piano for those so inclined. Complimentary cold drinks, port, sherry and liqueurs are in the parlor for your enjoyment.The inn is a short walking distance to many fine restaurants and numerous shops featuring antiques, arts and crafts. Bicycles and kayaks are available for rent near the harbor. The East Bay bike path is famous for its gentle grades located upon an old railroad bed—it travels along the water for 15 miles from Bristol to Providence. Many museums and historic buildings are located in Bristol, such as Blithewold Mansion, Herreshoff Marine Museum, Americas Cup Hall of Fame, Linden Place, Coggeshall Farm, and more. Colt Sate Park is a beautiful park off the bike path adjacent to Narragansett Bay, an ideal location for open air picnics, fishing or swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your William's Grant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
William`s Grant Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing