We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a diner.”
Review of Gentleman Farmer - CLOSED

Gentleman Farmer
Restaurant details
Harrisville, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A gem of a diner.”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I stopped in here recently, and must say I enjoyed everything about this hidden gem of a diner. It has the standard diner fare, including breakfast served all day.

I ordered a omelet filled with spinach, cheese and tomato, and it came with a side of home-fries and wheat toast and everything filled the very large plate!

The prices are incredibly affordable, the waitress was friendly, coffee was fresh, and the locals smiled and gave a little wave. It's a very friendly and comfortable place for a belly-filling meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhotoJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service dirty food.”
Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

After a bad experience a couple months ago I decided to give this little diner another shot.
I shouldn't have.
Same rude waitres being rude.
Long wait for food.
Found foreign object in food. (On my previous visit my husband had hair in his food.)
They need to clean up their kitchen and wait staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dv1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerly, Rhode Island, United States
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I have had breakfast, and dinner in this friendly little restaurant many times... Over all I give this place 5 stars for being friendly, good food at good prices, and it's smaller then average size that actually lends charm to the place.

If what you want is good home cooking with good service and charm at reasonable prices, look no further!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great prices, great food!”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This is a little casual place with awesome seafood and breakfast at affordable prices. Would definitely go back again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank vacati0ner6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
narr.ri.02882
1 review
“Best Whole bellys clams in Rhode Island”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The farmer was a delight, the service was excellent, funny and interesting. We ate outside on the patio with the beautiful roses and newly landscaped backyard. I had the Whole bellies and my husband had the Ham platter homemade mashed potatoes and summer squash mix. We will be back it was out third summer visit, bye till next year.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seab56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gentleman Farmer also viewed

Charlestown, South County
Charlestown, South County
 
Charlestown, South County
Charlestown, South County
 
Charlestown, South County
Charlestown, South County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing