We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coventry/Providence
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Nice staff. Affordable. Nice breakfast. affordable, affordable, affordable. I'm going to write a bunch of blather since I guess it needs to be longer. I hope this is long enough, because I'm sick of this survey.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank danielgZ4609FS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

My experiences with LaQuinta hotels have been mixed. At this particular location, the staff was exceptionally friendly and this always wins points with me. The hotel appeared relatively new. Unlike many hotels the eating/lobby area had more of a homey look and feel with warm inviting colors. There was a bar, a book case with actual books, and other decorative items similar to what you might have in your own home. I was scheduled to fly out the following morning and needed to print my boarding passes. Thus, I went in search of the business area or computer room worried about whether I'd be able to complete my task. I did so without a hitch. I didn't have an issue with computer speed or having to pay for printouts - both winners for me. The rooms were clean; the most important requirement for me. The only negative was that the rooms were smaller than expected. The description of the room, such as the reference to the word "suite" and that the rooms would be equipped with two different size beds led us to believe that the rooms would have some type of partition. However, it was all one area and smaller than expected. The desk was too close to the end of one of the beds, making walking between the desk chair (when occupied) and the bed, nearly impossible. However, we made it work and I would not have a problem staying at this location again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Lobby and breakfast area decor a copy of other chains. Trying to be upscale for a LaQuinta. Room was relatively spacious for a king bed/suite. Lighting in bathroom excellent. Room, although clean, had a very musty/moist feel and the A/C did not match its settings. Although breakfast area was "pretty," there lacked some of the detail of other chains - fresh fruit, milk variety and hard-boiled eggs. Fitness room small - treadmill was decent, there was a stepper and a very basic weight/pulley machine. Service/personnel very friendly. Location was excellent smack in the middle of a mall and 3/10 mi. to I95.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NERoadWarrior53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just arrived home from a pleasant day-trip to Providence, albeit abbreviated and saturated with inclement weather. The “La Quinta Inn & Suites” in Coventry, Rhode Island was very clean and comfortable.

While the free breakfast wasn’t a 4-Star experience, it was very good and generous with all the “fixins” nonetheless. The facility itself was worth the money and its location was an easy on and an easy off.

There are plenty of eateries in the immediate vicinity and surrounding townships…Heck, downtown Providence is less than 15-minutes away by car), just in case you don’t fancy the hotel’s cuisine (which I didn’t get a chance to savor, but based on everything else, I’m sure it is nothing less than stellar).

The desk attendant was just a tad too short in her responses, although she was very pleasant. She didn’t know much about Providence and when I asked for a room that didn't face the afternoon sun, she didn’t have a clue as to which way was East and which way was West.

We were told that the all the rooms were non-smoking. When we walked in, the stench of stale cigarettes permeated the entire room, but we were given another room, which smelled just fine...a great save.

If you use one of these discounted services (and there are a few), please be aware that you are given rooms that are low on the list of great rooms, and that includes the view. I don’t think that is fair, but it is the way things are done. I just want you to be aware of this little piece of info that they don’t tell you up front.

When we woke up, we found a puddle of water on the window sill that had seeped through the window track during the night, which really didn’t take away from our stay.

The jet engine-like noise that the air conditioner made blocked out the noise of the two 18-wheelers parked in front of the hotel. In all fairness, the air conditioner noise was easy to get used to so it wasn’t a real issue either.

The pool was cold, but the kids seemed to deal with it OK. The bed was great. Overall, our stay at the La Quinta Inn & Suites in Coventry was very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

I would suggest that the front desk agents be equipped with a bit more “touristy” information. It would encourage Providence visitors to travel the 15-minutes distance to sleep and rest.

By the way, the woman who maintained the breakfast nook stocked with all the goodies was an absolute dear. What a great asset and a testament to excellent service. Kudos to her and the rest of the staff.

Great Job!!!

Room Tip: Our room was right in front of the elevators and we didn't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brougham1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The customer service at this hotel was superb!! Kim, the manager, Ryan and Ellen were all very accommodating and pleasant. Rooms were clean and breakfast was better than most other Laquintas. The only reason this hotel did not receive a 5 was the a/c, it was outdated and noisy, the only con I could find. The housekeeping staff were wonderful. Indoor pool was relaxing and the kids loved it. Beds were comfortable! Would defintely stay here again when visiting RI.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tandy623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I stayed there off and on for almost 3 weeks.. The hotel itself is very nice the rooms are nicely decorated and they have a decent hot breakfast. But on the downside my husband and/or myself witnessed 2 separate incidents of the asst.GM yelling and/or reprimanding an employee in front of guests and one incident of the asst GM bad mouthing another employee to another employee. It made us uncomfortable and probably anyone else that witnessed and/or overheard any of it.. think maybe this asst GM should consider a career change...

Room Tip: 3rd floor a little quieter no one above you..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bellagrace5671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at La Quinta mainly because the place we normally stay was sold out. After a bad experience at a La Quinta in Radford, VA my expectations were low. I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, the linens were fresh, the bathroom was well stocked (with the exception of bath towels) and the beds were comfortable.
We only had to ask for extra towels once, after the first day they consistently put extra in the bathroom each day. Housekeeping was normally done with the room by 4 pm. The one drawback is that the toilet flushes VERY LOUD. Think airplane FAWOOOOOOSH. Not easy to sleep through if a room mate has to go.
The available breakfast was about what one would expect. The eggs were hot though, and the waffle machine was going nonstop. They have yogurt, a little bit of fresh fruit, sausage, cereals and milk. There are the requisite muffins and bread and danishes. The coffee is ok. The attendant had a difficult time keeping up with making sure the little creamer cups were filled and the plastic utensils.
All in all, a good place for a reasonable price. Just don't mention that you like George Bush when watching TV in the lobby during breakfast- you will get some pretty evil eyes!!! LOL

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mabnicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Coventry-Warwick Area
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 3 in West Warwick
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Providence Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
NYLO Providence/Warwick
6.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick/Providence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Coventry/Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Coventry/Providence

Address: 4 Universal Blvd, Coventry, RI 02816-2830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Coventry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range: £63 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Coventry/Providence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn and Suites Coventry/Providence is centrally located between bustling downtown Providence, Newport's own mansions and cliff walk, and the beautiful beaches of Rhode Island. Other nearby attractions include Roger Williams Park & Zoo, Federal Hill, Block Island, and all of New England's major casinos. Wake up on the Brightside with our complimentary Brightside Breakfast served every morning; relax in our heated indoor pool; or energize yourself in our fitness center. Business travelers and students may take advantage of our 24-HR business center and 24-HR coffee and tea are provided in our lobby for all guests to enjoy. When its time to wind down, catch a good night's rest on you comfy pillow-top mattress. Each guest room comes equipped with a 32" flat-screen TV including cable and free HBO, a mini-fridge, and a microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Coventry/Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Coventry Hotel Coventry
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Coventry
Fairfield Inn Coventry
Coventry Fairfield Inn
Coventry Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing