We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mom must be in the kitchen!”

Marchetti's Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 280 Restaurants in Cranston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
103 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“mom must be in the kitchen!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My husband and i went to Marchetti's for lunch yesterday (Friday). Didn't think we'd find a spot in the large parking lot. When we entered, there was a 15-20 minute wait. About 5 minutes later, the hostess announced there was a high top available in the bar which we gladly took. The restaurant was packed, but the service couldn't have been better. The food was as good as it gets. We were served a delicious salad with fresh italian bread with warm garlic infused oil. Then we had clams casino which were very good. Next came our bowl of pasta with chicken parm. We both have enough for probably 2 more meals. The sauce was nice and light and the chicken was tender and delicious. It was no wonder the place was waiting room only! Large portions, delicious food, and reasonable prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcgfredet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    94
    42
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gjwoodsjr
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Have been there twice before this time. Always had good food but this time no so. Had the prime rib that is usually outstanding, but this time no taste. The pasta also was lacking it's usual taste. The sauce was watery and really nothing special. Also we had a group of 11 and the packed us into a booth that would hole maybe 6 people but would be a tight fit and added a table for 4 so we were all squeezed in. If someone had to go to the bathroom, then three or four people would have to get up. What puzzled me is that we had reservations and this is where they stuck us. We asked to be re-seated but the manager never came over. Yeah you get alot of food, but for this night the taste was lacking....

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing lunch, great value”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I got lucky and found this place on our anniversary road trip around New England. Our server, Jenna(I think!) was great. The food was wonderful and, as everyone had repeatedly stated, the portions are HUGE at super low prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rev_burck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of Rhode Island's Best”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The place to go if you want Italian food especially. The portions are huge. Be prepared. We usually get one order of Chicken Parmesan and split it between the two of us. The salad dressing is really good as well. The Lobster roll is huge. And the best part is that the prices are really reasonable. They are usually very busy and during peak dinner hours there's usually a line of people waiting. To avoid this we always go early in the afternoon when there's no waiting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan_and_Heide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bring your Appetite”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Wonderful family friendly Italian Restuarant. The food is wonderfully prepared and the portion sizes will fed you the next day. I would highly recommend both the Traditional Lobster Roll (about 2 pounds of Lobster) and the Chicken Parm, had enough Chicken Parm to last a few days. The Wait staff are friendly and the orders come out quickly. There is often a wait/line to get in, moves fast and the wait is worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HaMldge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marchetti's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Marchetti's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing