We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't miss Cranston classic!!”
Review of Mike's Kitchen

Mike's Kitchen
Ranked #14 of 282 Restaurants in Cranston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$8
Cuisines: Italian
Good for: Groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“can't miss Cranston classic!!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I've dined here MANY times in the years I have lived in Cranston.. It's quirky little hole in the wall style does no justice to the fabulous food served here. No matter what time of day, lunch or dinner, date-night or family night.. you'll never get a bad meal here. Italian and seafood.. YUM!!
Large portions, always enough to take some home!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    18
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cranston, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mike's Kitchen - classic Cranston dining”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Mike's kitchen is a classic Cranston eatery with a reputation that goes well beyond Rhode Island. It was originally recommended to me by a chef at one of RIs high end eateries. He knew I lived in Cranston and told me I had to eat at this place. I went there with my family - we were seated by the maitre d' - an older gentleman wearing a NY Giants hoodie. We sat down to eat on a table with a plastic tablecloth under bright fluorescent lights. We purchased our drinks at the bar (run by the VFW, not by Mike's Kitchen) and drank out of wax Pepsi cups. Our waitress was business-like in her approach - not one who had a lot of time to waste. The place was packed full of elder Cranston types and what looked like a few tables that had come from far away to try the place. We ordered from the long special menu which was on a whiteboard - there were various sole dishes, swordfish, haddock, whiting salad, octopus salad, a number of calamari dishes - fried, marinated or stuffed as well as pork chicken and meat. We ended up having two calamari dishes, tried the octopus salad, and a sole francaise. The kids had spaghetti and meatballs. It was great. the funky atmosphere was wonderful and so was the food. I highly recommend this place - just know what to expect in ambiance. This place is about good food. If you have something to say about out it you will be able to reach Mike himself as he seems to always be in the dining room talking to customers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The veal parm. is absolutely awesome!!! Even the tomato sause was excellent. We were told that a chef that works on atwell's ave. in Providence goes here! Now I know why!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank j S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Double WOW”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Have been to Mike's several times and always enjoyed the food but always ate the same thing.....polenta with a meatball and sausage. Visited today with my wife and had the Friday calamari, veal and peas and Mike's chicken. All were fantastic with enough to bring home for dinner. To extend the experience, I brought home a quart of their home made gravy (tomato sauce). As full as I was I ate a few spoonfuls of gravy when I got home. Fantastic. I could make a meal out of the gravy and some nice, crunchy Italian bread. Don't be put off by the atmosphere if it's your first visit. Sit, relax and enjoy the best Italian restaurant in RI.....and that's saying something.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dylgramps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try Mike's Kitchen for "Chicken a la Mike", totally awesome!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Last evening we visited Mike's kitchen for dinner. I usually have rabies with cannolini beans and chicken, but wanted to try something new. "Chicken a la Mike" was my choice and it was delicious, every single bite!, Actually so plentiful, I brought half home. My husband had his favorite, veal and peas. Totally awesome experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank strokesfineart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mike's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mike's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing