We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian food at reasonable prices”
Review of Campanella's

Campanella's
Ranked #35 of 283 Restaurants in Cranston
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Campanella family takes great pride in preparing the freshest homemade pizzas, pastas, calzones, salads, and so much more! The family starts each morning making their white, whole wheat, and mutigrain dough which is what makes their gourmet pizzas, calzones, heavenly breads, and rolls. As soon as you enter their comfortable neighborhood restaurant, you will be tempted by the delicious aroma from the family's homemade tomato sauce simmering on the stove, the veal and eggplant frying, and the perfectly seasoned chicken breasts being baked.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
1,643 reviews
796 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 941 helpful votes
“Good Italian food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

On the night we visited Campanella's we had a very good experience. The server was friendly and efficient. The food, pasta and calzones were as good as I've had there in the past. Especially the sauce, which can make or break a pasta dish. Actually I had the cheese ravioli and I had more than i expected, but I did finish it. The calzones were full and not over cooked. Hate burnt bread. Both served with a starter salad. Prices are reasonable and for the portions received, fairly priced. Food served quickly and the interior is pleasant. The bar area is large, and you can eat in this area, or the large dining room. Full selection of both alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks. Would recommend it for good Italian food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bob2bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    12
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Trending Down”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We have been going to Campanella's for years as it has always been a good place to get a quick Italian dinner. However it seems that the quality of food is trending downwards. The veal parm was extremely overcooked and had more cheese on it then meat. On top of that, you only get a small piece of veal and place it on a pound of pasta. The pasta with sausage and meatballs was the same way. Tons of pasta but only two small meatballs and a sausage.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gansett21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not as good as it seems”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

I have been to Campanella's many times and like it less and less every time. Many things go wrong. It's not just one time though, it's constant. I feel that many people think its amazing and give others the wrong impression.
The Atmosphere: This restaurant gives me the impression of being very dirty. It is kind of boring. There are tables, booths and a shabby bar. Some walls have beautiful paintings on them, but that's really it. It's a very practical American-Italian pizza place. I would give the atmosphere a two out of five.
The Service: The servers are very nice, but they always take forever to deliver your food or bill. It seems like they don't care but are nice about it. I would give the servers a two out of five
The Food: Personally, nothing appeals to me on their menu. But when I do order, it's OK, but not at all perfect. The only really good thing is their salad. But the portion is ridiculously small for its price. I would give the food a two out of five.
In conclusion, I would not recommend Campanella's to anyone, but if you want American-Italian on Oaklawn Avenue, I recommend "Tommy's Too"

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Kidcritic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
473 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

Very nice place for a casual lunch or dinner. Greek style pizza is offered on a traditional crust, grilled thin crust or whole grain crust. The Greek salad is always nice and fresh. The "Stuffed Greek" is a spinach pie (on your choice of dough, try the whole grain) stuffed with a Greek salad, it sounds weird but it is something you will crave after you have it. It is large enough to split and only $9.

Helpful?
1 Thank kris91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
1 review
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Salads are fresh, plentiful, and well garnished with tomato, onion, even carrot. Pizza and calzones are very good- the multi-grain dough is PHENOMINAL! Service always pleasant and efficient. Perhaps the best attribute is that the owners ( yes, the owners-not some corporate manager) are always in house, know almost everyone by name, and always make you feel welcome.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Campanella's also viewed

 

Been to Campanella's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing