We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Accomodations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgewood Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edgewood Manor
Ranked #1 of 3 Cranston B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun Accomodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed at Edgewood Manor for our anniversary. It was very cozy, very Agatha Christie-esque. The food was great and the hostess was fantastic. We really loved the sun room with the bamboo chairs - would be a great place for a baby/bridal shower! The rooms were nice, and have private bathrooms (not all B&B's do!) The gardens were being renovated when we were there, so we didn't get to enjoy them much, but there is a lot to do when you are so close to Providence.
It is not the sea-side or out-in-the-country type B&B, but it was still very enjoyable and very close to plenty to do! All at a very good price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Briana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    29
    12
    13
    23
See reviews for
34
91
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Dennis, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

I found Edgewood Manor to be warm, welcoming and beautifully decorated. The public rooms are spacious and comfortable. Each bedroom is unique and all have a modern private bath. Roaring fires on a chilly day, a very comfortable bed and a gourmet breakfast all made my stay there a real pleasure.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank floodsheila3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

I spent a lovely evening and night at Edgewood Manor with members of my book club. After enjoyng appetizers and wine in the cozy fireplaced parlor, we dined in the most elegant diningroom. Following a lively book discussion, we retired to our most charming and comfortable bedrooms. Don't miss the beautiful chandeliers in every room. Ken, the innkeeper, was charming and helpful. Our breakfast was delicious eggs florentine, bacon, english muffins along with fresh muffins, banana bread and fresh fruit. I highly recommend this as a destination if you are traveling in the Providence area.

Room Tip: Our light ans sunny room was on the back of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen Ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouthport, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Our stay here was fantastic. Ken,the innkeeper has a great knowledge of art, as well as what to see and do I the area. The inn itself is modernized with tv's in each room, all private baths, and spacious common areas. The owner has not missed a beat in decorating and modernizing within the period of history. Truly a great experience I would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center, but the rooms, free parking and excellent location more than mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPE COD, MA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Our Cape Cod Book Club just returned from Providence. We toured Brown University since
we read The Marriage Plot which was set on the campus. The remainder of our trip was at
this amazing spot in Edgewood. Our rooms were lovely, the amenities perfect and the fire
places crackled during our discussion in the evening. The staff was delightful and welcomed
us like family! Our breakfast was simply delicious and served in the most elegant dining room
we could have found anywhere. We can't wait to return again...everyone is talking about a
possible couples-getaway so that we can share the experience with our husbands.
We thoroughly enjoyed the experience...the classic references in the book were so heightened
by the beauty of this gorgeous mansion just a few minutes from downtown Providence!

Room Tip: Our group had all of the rooms on the second floor and one on the third... it was so much fun to vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAPECODTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

This was and is a beautiful home, set in an historical and riveting environment. When we first walked in the door, it was like stepping back in time! They had down a remarkable job of restoring this home. It was warm and inviting and I felt as if I was walking into my own mansion. The staff was as warm and as welcoming as the decor and fireplace. We stayed in what is called the Blue Room, this room made us feel like royalty! The antique bed and furnishings, along with modern amenities was breathtaking. We cannot wait to stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose the Blue Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJMont5879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood Manor I, Owner at Edgewood Manor, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
We thank you for staying with us we look forward to your return the victorian room(blue room) is fantastic one of our favorites as well as other guests. We hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tifton, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Put this B&B on the top of your list if you are looking for an elegant and classy, comfortable place to stay in the Providence area. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience, including the amazing antiques and furnishings, the wonderful warm atmosphere, the sitting room with heavy leather couches, genuine artwork, and a Keurig complemented by fresh made cookies and cake. Breakfast puts most restaurants to shame, and is served hot in an impossibly impressive dining room. The room was equally awesome, with marble floors and jacuzzi in the bathroom, and a heavenly large four poster bed. Every detail was covered, all with an eye to comfort. All in all a great place and a great staff. Congrats & "I will return" !!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mseigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranston
Omni Providence Hotel
#3 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Dolce Villa
#11 of 12 in Providence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Fox Point
Hilton Garden Inn Providence
Hilton Garden Inn Providence
#9 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewood Manor

Property: Edgewood Manor
Address: 232 Norwood Ave., Cranston, RI 02905
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Cranston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cranston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewood Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greek Revival Mansion c1905. Edgewood Manor bed and breakfast is located three miles from Brown University, RISD and walking distance to Johnson and Wales University and Roger Williams Park. All rooms with private bathrooms, fireplaces and Jacuzzi tubs. Complimentary full breakfast, wireless internet and parking included in rate. Beautifully appointed, incredible architecture, and lovely grounds all await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Edgewood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewood Manor b&b
Edgewood Manor Hotel Cranston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing