We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice night away with the hubby!!!”
Review of Edgewood Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgewood Manor
Ranked #1 of 3 Cranston B&B and Inns
Bellingham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice night away with the hubby!!!”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Let me start off my saying... I just needed a night out with my hubby and no kids.... nothing to far from home but a place that could make me feel like I was on vacation and being pampered. The moment I spoke to Andrew on the phone about booking the room he told me to book the Samuel Priest room... and he was right the room was beautiful and the hot tub made it even better. We arrived around 5 pm on a Friday night.. greeted by the Innkeeper, taken to our room and told about a couple great places to check out for dinner and romance!!! We took his advice, had a wonderful meal, checked out some botanical gardens and then returned to our room to enjoy the hot tub!!! The next morning we were greeted again by Kenny the Innkeeper and Pam who served us our breakfast!! It was superb!! I felt so special and me and my husband thoroughly enjoyed our retreat away!! We will definitely be back when we need to do it again.... which Im sure will be soon!!!! :)

Room Tip: Samuel Priest is absolutely amazing!!! also the others did not look to shabby eaither!!! ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    29
    12
    13
    24
See reviews for
35
92
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

On a college tour of Massachusetts with my daughter our final stop was in Providence. We decided to splurge on what looked like an impressive and historic b&b. What a dissappointment. We could not find anyone to let us in upon arrival and wandered and rang and called for quite a while before receiving attention. When we were finally greeted,the gentleman fumbled and bumbled for 15 min. trying to find the key. We were the only people staying in the inn that night and of course had a quiet evening. We were told breakfast would be served from 8-9 a.m. When we came down the steps at 8:15, there was no one around. We waited 15 min. When someone fInally showed up, he looked shocked to see us and presented us with orange juice that tasted expired and apple juice. He made some calls and a lady showed up with a plate of what she called "day old muffins". They disintegrated when you touched them. Obviously much older than a day! She then prepared us an adequate breakfast of eggs and sausage with English muffin. I would never stay here again or suggest it to anyone else. Just because we were the only patrons, we were made to feel that we were a burden. Never again. Of the four b&b's that we stayed at during the week, the Edgewood Manor was by far the most expensive and the least impressive.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
15 Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood Manor I, Manager at Edgewood Manor, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
I must apologize for the inconvience that the innkeeper fumbled and mumbled to get the keys but we were looking for a set of keys and had to make up another set because the previous guest had taken them but we gave this guest a free upgrade to the Edgewood Manor into the palladian room, they were booked in to the norwood room for 139 but this is our slow season and upgraded them to the palladian room . The rate normally for that room is 159 to 199 also their was some confusion on our part as to what time the guest wanted breakfast therefore that is our fault and i do apologize but they also fail to tell you that we allowed them to switch their reservation to a different night other than the night they came in. I feel our inn is underpriced and a value as to what you receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My husband and I went on a nice little getaway in Rhode Island and Edgewood Manor absolutely made the trip worth while. We were greeted by the gentlemen of gentlemens and walked in to what I can only describe as beautiful. The interior, the ambiance, the decor were absolutely gorgeous and for a night we felt like royalty. We went out to dinner and couldn't wait to get back to our room and just enjoy it. It was quite difficult to not stare and look around at the beautiful pictures and statues all around. Our server at breakfast provided us with nice conversion, laughs and superb french toast and fruit. This is a place we will absolutely come back to, but next time will bring more friends with us. A true gem that will always be out getaway.
Rachele

Room Tip: The Scarlet Room was AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachele_P41952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The Edgewood Manor is the Great Escape you are looking for. It is beautifully renovated and has magestic bones. Every ceiling downstairs is different. 3 fireplaces and beautiful furnishings offer great ambiance.. Breakfast was great and is either served on an enclosed porch full of light or an intimate yet presigeous dining froom. Best of all the people there couldn't be nicer. Had a little time to kill and they brought me homade ccokies and milk while I was writing this. Want to get away. You found it here.
Chris makes a mean breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barrierboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I had such a enjoyable experience. Visited Rhode Island on business and found this amazing gem outside of Providence, yet close enough to get my work done and enjoy a lot of the inn had to offer. I was greeted by a great staff that was friendly and attentive. The furnishings and interior were amazing and the room spectacular. Breakfast, prepared by the owners mother, was one of the best home cooked meals I've experienced, french toast was delicious! I highly suggest you pay a visit to this wonderful B&B for your next trip to Rhode Island!

Room Tip: The Palladian suite is exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kennebunkport me
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

3 miles on rt1A from downtown this historical manor house offers huge rooms ,comfortable king size bed and the most amazing decor of museum quality carved wood casements ,old glass windows, 200 year old tile floors. As a Brit growing up in a country with manor houses this replicates the manor houses occupied by aristocracy 200 years ago(and still occupied by them today in britain).If you want Biltmore d'ont stay here,If you want a (comfortable) step back in time,and a great breakfast and evening complimentary cheese and crackers ,stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barryKennebunkportMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I travel all over the United States and always stay at B & B's. This is one of my all time favorites. The rooms (yes I stayed in more than one!) are fabulous, clean and extremely comfortable. The ambiance of the room restoration and antiques, is only topped by the kindness of the innkeepers and the owner. While staying there don't overlook the quaintness of Cranston's little harbor and shops and of course Roger Williams Park. If I ever travel back to this neck of New England, I will be staying at the Edgewood!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranston
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
2,474 reviews
Hotel Providence
#3 of 12 in Providence
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewood Manor

Property: Edgewood Manor
Address: 232 Norwood Ave., Cranston, RI 02905
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Cranston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cranston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewood Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greek Revival Mansion c1905. Edgewood Manor bed and breakfast is located three miles from Brown University, RISD and walking distance to Johnson and Wales University and Roger Williams Park. All rooms with private bathrooms, fireplaces and Jacuzzi tubs. Complimentary full breakfast, wireless internet and parking included in rate. Beautifully appointed, incredible architecture, and lovely grounds all await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Edgewood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewood Manor b&b
Edgewood Manor Hotel Cranston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing