We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare - Avoid at all costs”
Review of Edgewood Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edgewood Manor
Ranked #1 of 3 Cranston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 November 2004

On top of finding tampon applicators in the room, broken lighting outside of the room, unsafe lighting outside the B&B, bugs in the shower curtain, and lack of food for breakfast, we ran into the rudest owners on the face of the earth. My wife who is 7 months pregnant was treated horribly by the female owner when she requested a glass of ice, prompting a shouting match.
This was the only B&B (the 4 others we stayed at on the trip were lovely) that did not provide an e-mail confirmation, saying that none was needed. When we had arrived, they had no record of us and no apologies. We would have been much better off in a cheap motel. By the way, the B&B is not in Providence.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank harrisrichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 December 2004

I would like to respond to this individual who wrote this slanderous review. First there is no unsafe lighting in or around the Edgewood Manor or Newhall House. Next we are 2.5 miles from downtown Providence and half of Norwood Ave is in Providence the other is Cranston. Third the woman who was pregnantwho stayed was the rudest person on the planet and came down to breakfast at ten minutes past the cutoff time of ten o clock which we did not mind but she was extremely demanding and down right rude on top of it. She was extremely beligerant and belittling not only to me but to Suzanne our innkeeper. She came downstairs and threw the garbage that she found in the garbage can at the innkeeper. We had no idea that there was any garbage in the can. WE had previously let another guest into the room to inspect it and unbeknown to us they left a present in the garbage can. Suzanne apologized and gave them a free upgrade but I guess this was not enough. The male guest was very rude to other guests that weekend as well. l have To say we were happy to see them go was an understatement. By far the most nastiest people we ever had stay here at the Edgewood Manor! Definitely would have been better off in a cheap hotel or motel that is probably what they are used to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2004

A must for antique lovers!!!!!!! The heirlooms were just incredible!
When we arrived we had afternoon tea in living room, were there was a wonderful warm fire glowing!
Breakfast was delicious, especially mom's homemade bread!!!!
This B & B was such a nice treat.
If staying in providence area, do check it out!!!!

6  Thank Maryann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Brooklyn, NY
15
Reviewed 22 October 2004

I travel alot and my husband likes to travel. I was looking for a weekend away from the NY hustle but nothing prepared me for the Edgewood Manor, The house itself was beatiful furnished and the staff was very accomidating. My "picky husband, the chef" loved the gourmet breakfast and the suite was worth the trip. We will be bring more business thier way!!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2004

Stayed there for one night in August. The house is beautiful, the rooms are wonderful. But for that price you expect that somebody is there to meet you. You dont expect to wait for 30 minutes at the front door. And the B&B is not in Providence, but in Carnston, a good drive and difficult from Provindence.

4  Thank jens h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2004

5  Thank TravelDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bear, Delaware
14
Reviewed 15 January 2004

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2003

5  Thank StrawberryPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranston
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,756 reviews
Hotel Providence
#1 of 13 in Providence
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Fox Point
Hilton Garden Inn Providence
Hilton Garden Inn Providence
#9 of 13 in Providence
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewood Manor

Address: 232 Norwood Ave., Cranston, RI 02905
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Cranston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cranston
Price Range: £152 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewood Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greek Revival Mansion c1905. Edgewood Manor bed and breakfast is located three miles from Brown University, RISD and walking distance to Johnson and Wales University and Roger Williams Park. All rooms with private bathrooms, fireplaces and Jacuzzi tubs. Complimentary full breakfast, wireless internet and parking included in rate. Beautifully appointed, incredible architecture, and lovely grounds all await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Edgewood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewood Manor Hotel Cranston
Edgewood Manor b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing