We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late luncheon”
Review of Vesuvio Restaurant

Vesuvio Restaurant
Ranked #163 of 283 Restaurants in Cranston
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Westport, Ma
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Late luncheon”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Our first time here and enjoyed it. Appetizers of zucchini flowers and crab cakes were delicious . I got the stuffed fish and spaghetti in oil. Very tasty. My husband got the chicken Parmesan with spaghetti. That was excellent. The chicken thinly pounded and breaded in a delicious red sauce . We will definitely be back. Staff is super friendly.

Helpful?
Thank keetlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    4
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in RI”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Vesuvio is truly one of the best Italian Restaurants in RI! Whether you dine in or order out you will not be disappointed. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. Anything you need is immediately provided. We love dining there as well as ordering out! The portions are generous but more importantly the food is outstanding. Our favorite is the chicken parm, order this meal, we guarantee you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joanCranston_Ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

One of my favorite places to go when I visit my hometown. Went a few weeks ago and it was as good as ever. The portions are large and very tasty. Service is quick and polite. I recognize the same people year after year - that's a good sign. The scrod and side of pasta is awesome.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east greenwich, rhode island
Level 6 Contributor
817 reviews
525 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“sit at the bar and enjoy attentive service”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Had dinner with a friend here last night. Our reservation was made for the bar and the seats were reserved and set, waiting for us. There were a few diners in the restaurant and only one other person at the bar. The bartender was very attentive and was quite friendly and amicable. The veal parm was really quite good as was the pasta. The salad was just salad. Excellent drinks. The New York Cheesecake was actually just like cheesecake in NY. Overall, this was a nice place for dinner, but the price was a bit excessive for what we had.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dermgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“the worst food and service in the history of restaurants”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The dinner was maybe 3 oz of chicken- tasted boiled and sauce very bitter and too spicy even with ordering no hot peppers. The food quantity and quality was very low. The waitress staff kept rushing us- then asked me if I wanted to bring home my sweet potato when I was not done eating it and there was nobody in the place. Then, does not inform us there is not free refills on soda- who does not give free refills? So we spent 6.00 $ on 3 small glasses of soda- we could have went to market and got 6- 2 liter bottles of soda!! What a waste of time and money- no bargain here. Then, they fill you up on bread! The worst experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vesuvio Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vesuvio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing