We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much improved, great stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whispering Pines Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Much improved, great stay!”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We returned to Whispering Pines for a quick weekend getaway with friends in August of 2012 and were pleasantly surprised by the changes I saw. There were some areas that previously needed attention and it seems that there has been ALOT of painting, planting and general improvements. The kids were kept busy with a much improved activity's program and the horseshoe pits were renovated as well. The pool was clear and clean this trip as well! When we checked in we got to meet one of the new owners and she informed us of the many improvements to come, we also spoke with a few seasonals outside the store, they were friendly and recommended a few local attractions. While we were fishing with the kids at the pond we met the other owner, he was organizing the canoes and paddleboats, he was friendly and helpful. He also explained the ongoing efforts to improve the campground. All in all we were glad our friends picked Whispering Pines, we may not have given them another chance otherwise. We will return several times in the upcoming season to enjoy the "New" campground.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHSLTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are very proud of the improvements that have been made to the park and are very happy to read that you were pleased during your stay. We look forward to being your hosts for many summers to come.
Thank you again for staying with us! --Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    45
    14
    8
    8
See reviews for
105
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Spent a week there with my family of 5. The staff was amazing and extremely friendly-felt like we were part of family. The location was beautiful and very kid-friendly.There were several activities for our children to take part in and at the end of each day they slept well! We consider ourselves to be pretty seasoned campers and were very impressed with not only the quality of the sites but also the level of maintanence and convienent location of the campground. This was truely an experience reminisent of my childhood camping with my grandparents. We cannot wait to go back next year and make more memories!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that you and your family had an enjoyable stay. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you as our guest again in 2013.

Best regards,

Cameron and Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Their website is deceiving this place is run by seasonals/employees who are very cold and unaccomodating. They will make you feel so unwelcome you will feel bad you brought your family here, never saying hello back and turning their backs to you instead of helping when you talk to them, distgusting. Sites are on top of one another and can barely fit a camper nevermind have room for a picnic table which is why ours was on top of someone's sewer line, nasty. Our dog had no room so we had to bring him to the dog park everytime he needed to go outside/get exercise. Kids arcade games are all broken, free boats are mostly broken and that swamp is nasty and filled with mosquitos worse than ive ever seen in a campground. Was told when we arrived there are plenty of people to help us back in and no one volunteered we struggled for 40 mins with 3 kids waiting and crying. I WILL NEVER forget this sad excuse for a campground.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NikkiA112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you very much for your review in 2012. Whispering Pines has undergone a change in ownership and we have and are working on many improvements for the 2013 season. About half of our campers do stay all season but we enjoy the life and change that our weekend and weekly campers bring to the park and always want to make sure your stay is as relaxing and enjoyable as we think it should be no matter if you are here for a night or a whole season. I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to show you the changes that we have made here and give us the opportunity to impress you with our service in the future.

Best Regards,

Cameron and Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This place is horrible.

*The roads are rocky and sand
*to get your RV in is difficult
*staff are the most unpleasant people
*the campsites are tiny our site was big enough for the picnic table wich was near *the rv's next to us sewer hook up.
*Game room most games were broken
*There boats the look so nice online but none worked
*the WIFI they have dosent work i went to the store to buy something and asked was brushed off like we will look into it.
*we had full hook up but while walking around I used the bathroom BIG mistake it was nasty

In order to fit in this place you need a members only jacket because they cater more to the seasonal campers (at least i am assuming). The guy at the gate was angry like he wanted everything but to be there. When i went to go check in i had to wait 25 minutes so the can do a shift change. To back in the camper was very difficult since i only had small amount of space. This was the first and last place we ever come here. This is the most expensive campsite in RI but has the feeling of a cheap Motel.

Room Tip: not really good for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Whispering Pines has undergone a change in ownership and we have and are working on many improvements for the 2013 season. One of the main improvements in the off-season is roadwork and I think you will find them much easier to navigate. However, we do not have any plans to pave them, as we want to keep speed to a minimum. We pride ourselves on being a family friendly park and that means there are lots of little ones on and near those roads. About half of our campers do stay all season but we enjoy the life and change that our weekend and weekly campers bring to the park and always want to make sure your stay is as relaxing and enjoyable as we think it should be no matter if you are here for a night or a whole season. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you the improvements on the property and provide you with the level of service that we now demand. The enjoyment of your stay and your 100% satisfaction is our priority.

Truly,

Cameron and Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Springfield, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We recently and over the last three years have stayed in the cabins at Whispering Pines. They are fabulous. We use to tent camp but as we get a few more aches and pains the beds and comfort of these cabins are great. ( Have Air Too) Yes, this is a seasonal park and many other sites are small and near each other but if you are looking for a place to stay where you are close to the beach, (20 min or so) the cabins are great. You get the camping ambiance with a fire at night and the beach during the day. If you are looking for roughing it more nature camping this is not it but it doesn't mean it isn't what some people are looking for. We love it. Cabin 20 is our favorite. Fire Pit and sitting area is very private.
Bathrooms do need a little help. Maybe time to renovate.

Room Tip: Cabin 20 is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you very much for your review and comments. As the new owners of the campground we cannot wait to welcome you back in 2013. We love the cabins too and plan to expand their number in years to come. With regard to the bathrooms they are on our short list of improvements. Expect to see updates this season along with regular cleanings and spot checks.

Thanks again for the review,

Cameron – Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile


We are currently staying here as I write this. First the pros... Pool is great for kids goes from 2ft for toddlers to 6ft, however needs some repair. Lots of broken tiles and very cloudy. Barrel rides are a big hit, lots of kids activities and had a decent band one night. Staff was very nice as were most seasonal campers. Rec hall old but fun for kids. Lots of trees, which was great. Located close 20-30 minutes to major attractions. Cons... Only 2 bathrooms. Both very far away from campsites. 2 showers each. Mens urinal broken, no hot water in one shower, other hot and cold reversd. Bathrooms are horrible! Old, outdated which is fine, but dirty floors, horrible showers, spiders and bugs everywhere. Needs a good pressure washing. Have to go past dumster to get to bathrooms. Dumpster was overflowing, trash everywhere smelled horrendous for 3 days! We have a pop up and it was nearly impossible to get into our site X1. Roads are dirt had to go up hill to back in to a very narrow site. Once we got in we were on such an incline we could hardly level our camper without using a car jack and there was no other room on the site to move to. Mostly seasonals who stay up drinking, driving golf carts and playing horseshoes. Weekends are rowdy lots of teens running around unsupervised. No staff available at night if problems, no contacts given. Lastly, NO septic hookups. Have a truck that comes around several times a day pumping each camper. We did not use, but we did smell every time they pumped. Not worth it for the price. We have stayed in many campgrounds with our 2 young children and this was the worst. Quiet hrs 10pm but at 11:00pm I still hear people carrying on.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Msiegel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to review us. Even if the review is not perfect we want to hear about your stay. Whispering Pines has undergone a change in ownership and we have and are working on many improvements for the 2013 season. One of the main improvements in the off-season is roadwork and I think you will find them much easier to navigate. However, we do not have any plans to pave them, as we want to keep speed to a minimum. We pride ourselves on being a family friendly park and that means there are lots of little ones on and near those roads. We have also updated our map, there are actually three bathrooms on the property with four showers each and 60 sites with full hook up (including septic). The pump truck runs twice a week unless there is an emergency and we will monitor that schedule very closely. We will also be monitoring quite hours very closely and have contact numbers available upon checkin so we can be alerted of any problems. In the future we hope you will give us the opportunity to show you the improvements on the property and the level of service that we demand and know our campers deserve.

Thank you again for all of your comments and review.

Truly,

Cameron and Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southeast mass
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We are starting camping with our young son and we use a tent. This "campground" looked fun with all the attractions and activities for kids, but it is not a "nature" experience. 95% of the campers are season renters in trailers, completely outfitted with decks and plantings. Most of the adults, albiet pleasant, were driving around in golf carts with drinks in hand. Our site was very exposed and we could see directly into the neighbouring trailers. One site had a commercial ice machine (!!) that kept us up all night, as with the loud, adults partying late into the night. The mini-golf course, recreation/games room and crafts for kids was great, but the fishing/boating pond was choked with weeds/algae. We spent very little time at the campground, as it was not what we were looking for and enjoyed Scarborough State beach. Very few bathrooms (as majority of campers there have trailers) and it was quite a walk to the toilet, especially with a toddler. Wished we had a golf cart, ha, ha. The staff were very pleasant and the store was well stocked. Only would recommend this place is you have a trailer and are into drinking more than nature.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cheryll k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you for the review. Whispering Pines has undergone a change in ownership and we have and are working on many improvements for the 2013 season. I'm happy to read that there were many things that you liked about the campground. One of the improvements we are implementing for the 2013 season is a customer service and reservation system that will do a better job with matching the camping unit and overall camping experience you are looking for with the site that best matches your needs. We will also be monitoring quite hours very closely and have contact numbers available upon check-in so we can be alerted of any problems. Thank you again for the review, every comment helps us.

Best regards,

Cameron and Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Valley
17.0 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
10.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
14.4 mi away
Seaport RV Resort and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Stagecoach House Inn B&B
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Campground

Property: Whispering Pines Campground
Address: 41 Sawmill Rd, Hope Valley, Hopkinton, RI 02832-1247
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Hopkinton > Hope Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hope Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
--Welcome to the Whispering Pines Camping Experience – Nestled in the heart of New England among 50 acres of towering pines… This is what camping was meant to be.— Amenities:-Large wooded sites for Tents, Trailers, RV’s - Full hookups, pull-thru & Season sites available - Clean restrooms - Complimentary hot showers - Camp store stocked with groceries and RV supplies - Laundry facility - WiFi - Dump station - Propane filling station - Firewood - Ice - Swimming Pool - Miniature Golf -Barrel Train - Paddleboats - Spring-fed fishing pond stocked yearly for catch and release - Playground - Athletic Field - Reek Hall w/ arcade - Snack Bar - Recreational Activities - Bocce - Horseshoes - Basketball-Volleyball - Dog Park ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing