We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Place... and Getting Better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whispering Pines Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whispering Pines Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Place... and Getting Better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Over the years, the place has genuinely remained FAMILY-oriented. Though we don't camp quite enough to be seasonal members, we try to make it to Whispering Pines at least 4X a year (mostly for 3-day weekends).
Was initially wary as to what "new ownership" would mean to this campground which has been a fixture in my family's vacation plans for decades, but I'm proud to have met the new owners (Cameron and Justin) and can tell from speaking with them that they are strongly committed to preserving the family atmosphere, while making DRAMATIC improvements to some of the little things that can get under the nerves of your everyday camper. My family camped there for the Halloween festivities held at the end of the season and we could already see the changes happening. Past owner really cared and tried hard, but these two are OUTSTANDING. Very proactive and treat you like family.
What a wonderful camping experience!!!
Can't wait for next year's season and possibly becoming a seasonal in 2014!

Room Tip: Cabins are an excellent, cost-efficient way to experience the outdoors without really "roughing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are continuing to make improvements to the park including new horseshoe pits, renovated shower facilities, new bocce court not to mention the new bands and DJs scheduled for this season. We hope to see you often this summer and as a seasonal next year.

Thanks again for the great review! -- Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    45
    14
    8
    8
See reviews for
104
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We were welcomed by the young pretty owner Cameron. She was very hospitable and most friendly. Our children fell in love with Whispering Pines Campground within 5 minutes, needless to say none of them wanted to EVER leave. Lots of things to do with the children, ages 5, 6 and 8 years old. The pond, the rec hall, cooking out, roasting marshmallows, the bike rides and they enjoyed the general store tremendously with lots of fun things to shop for. Quiet nights, friendly neighbors, we absolutely loved it. What a perfect weekend for our family. We highly recommend Whispering Pines and have already booked 2 more weekends for this summer. Exactly what "family camping" is all about.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our campground. We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family for years to come!

Thank you again -- Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We are seasonal campers at Whispering Pines and are very excited about the changes that have already taken place. Whether a weekend camper or a seasonal the staff is very friendly and professional. They are actively working on additional improvements and are always ready to address any issues that are brought to them. We are looking forward to the season and to the campground growing and changing with Cameron and Justin at the helm!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you both very much for your review. We are looking forward to being your hosts for many years to come!

Thank you, Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Planned a weekend visit; met lovely owner upon arrival, Friday p.m. after 5 p.m. Escorted to site by golf cart and told "Any problems, let us know right away." Friendly campers but many, many seasonal; we only book transient sites. Best sites taken by seasonal campers. Rules on camp followed by most; only one rule not consistently followed by all: ALL DOGS MUST BE ON A LEASH. Most are on a leash; some are not. We plan to visit again. Many improvements seen on site; new owners had a great deal of pride in making improvements to an already beautiful campground.

Room Tip: Cabins are available, but were not open pre-season when we visited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lewis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us! We are looking forward to welcoming you again this summer! We are also sorry that you found some campers not following the leash law on the property. Most visitors obey the pet rules very well but there is always the exception. We hope that if there is anything that causes your stay to be short of perfect for you to please call the front office day or night.

Thank you again for your stay and your review! -- Cameron and Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Whispering Pines this past weekend with the entire family. It is one of the best parks we have ever stayed at. We will be back. We were there last year and were pleasantly surprised by the updates that have been made since last year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you very much for the review. We are so happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcoming you again this summer! Thanks again!

Cameron and Justin May
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Same as Scott T, we camped the same weekend and had a great time. The free boats at the pond were a hit with me and my kids. Found staff and seasonals to all be very friendly.It was very obvious to me that many improvements had been done prior to our arrival and I am sure there will be more in the future. I would recommend the campground to anyone looking for a good weekend away!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
We are so pleased to read that your stay with us at Whispering Pines was good. Hope to see you again this summer.

Thank you for the review! --Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltic, Connecticut, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

camped there May3-5 2013 and had a great time. The place was very clean and beautiful. The rest rooms were top notch as was the playground area . The Rec hall was clean and had a lot to do in it. The pond was very nice and had an abundance of fish in it the free boat rentals was a suprise bonus as well.The staff was very freindly as was any seasonals i encountered. Plan on going back during summer when it is fully open to enjoy it. Only thing it needed i saw would be a possible bath house closer to the tent sites past the rec/pool area talked to someone who was down there and it was a long way to the nearest bath house. All in all a very nice stay and will be going back soon

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us. We hope to see you and your family again this season!

Have a great summer!

--Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Valley
17.0 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
14.4 mi away
Seaport RV Resort and Campground
2.2 mi away
Stagecoach House Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Campground

Property: Whispering Pines Campground
Address: 41 Sawmill Rd, Hope Valley, Hopkinton, RI 02832-1247
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Hopkinton > Hope Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hope Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
--Welcome to the Whispering Pines Camping Experience – Nestled in the heart of New England among 50 acres of towering pines… This is what camping was meant to be.— Amenities:-Large wooded sites for Tents, Trailers, RV’s - Full hookups, pull-thru & Season sites available - Clean restrooms - Complimentary hot showers - Camp store stocked with groceries and RV supplies - Laundry facility - WiFi - Dump station - Propane filling station - Firewood - Ice - Swimming Pool - Miniature Golf -Barrel Train - Paddleboats - Spring-fed fishing pond stocked yearly for catch and release - Playground - Athletic Field - Reek Hall w/ arcade - Snack Bar - Recreational Activities - Bocce - Horseshoes - Basketball-Volleyball - Dog Park ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing