We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whispering Pines Campground
Certificate of Excellence
West Warwick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun trip”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Over all the camping trip was good. Only few minor things I would like to address. First is the playground down by the pool could be updated, the rungs used to go up the ladder two were broke off, there was a big metal pole that was just laying on the ground that was kind of dangerous. Other older kids went up there showing off for their girls and started to throw it around. Also I thick the bathroom could be a little bigger and maybe another one added to the park up at the top of the park near the wooded sites. And I think the bathrooms should be cleaned maybe around 5 in the morning not at 7 when everyone is waking up with little kids and not able to use the restrooms. Kids in the basketball court kept kicking the ball over into the pool and hitting or near hitting people sitting around the pool. Maybe more supervision of whats going on. But overall had a good trip, would go back again. Check in and out was super fast, very nice to have someone show us were our site was. The food is great and a nice price too. Pond boats need cleaning, couldn't use couple due to dirtiness. Great fishing had fun but, pond edge is overwhelmed by muck. Nice camping.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tam1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing Whispering Pines. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your trip and plan on camping again with us. Thank you for addressing a few maintenance items. The playground has been fixed and we will review your concern regarding the bathroom cleaning schedule with the janitorial staff. I hope we see you again soon and if there is anything that we can do to help plan your next trip please do not hesitate to ask!

Thanks again,

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    47
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
109
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rumford, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was asked to babysit my 3 very active Grandkids for 5 days while their dad went to New York on business. I live in the city in a small apartment, no place for kids to be for 5 days. Someone suggested I take them away. Sounded like a good time to make some "Grammie Memories" with them. I wanted to do something special so I began searching on the web. Camping came up several times, so I looked into several campgrounds. Found Whispering Pines, I was thinking quite in the woods, one with nature kind of experience. We were greeted by a very pleasant lady, escorted us to our tent site and the fun just never ended, 2 hours to pitch 2 tents,city girls don't always do so well with outdoor equipment. The kids couldn't wait to go explore the campgrounds, so I released the 2 older boys into the wild 12 & 10 years old, my 6 year old granddaughter had 2 wait for Grammie. There was nothing that disappointed us, there were activities for all ages, swimming pool, small pond, snack shack with many flavors of soft serve ice cream, small arcade, and people waving and saying "hi" all day long. When we were packing up Sunday morning for home the kids made me promise we would go back next year and invite the other cousins to join us. They had a BLAST...no TV, no INTERNET, nothing but FUN with nature and making "Grammie Memories". Grammie lost 4lbs with all the walking!
Don't wait ...start making your own family memories at good ole Whispering Pines.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank janice g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Your review is just great to read! We are so happy that you and the Grandkids had such a good time. If we can help in anyway planning your next trip please do not hesitate to give us a call. Thank you so very much for taking the time to review us and we cannot wait to welcome even more of the family next trip!

Thanks again!!

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We camped in a tent, my girlfriend and I. We are from the Detroit area. We are grad students getting ready for major phases of training. Our purpose of the trip was to be near the coast and study. We needed wifi and this campground had it available throughout the facility. The wifi was not perfect, as it did get slow sometimes, so we did have to revert to 3G on our phones sometimes. But, we did always have access to the wifi and it did have moments of decent speed. All the staff were great to us and the owners who are also from Michigan gave us a bunch of free firewood. The campground in quite and safe. Will most sites are filled with RVers, it is a nice place for tenters too. Nothing in Rhode Island is far, so the longest drive to the farthest Rhode Island beach was about 45 minutes. Showers were always hot! Coin laundry is effective and we never had to wait to us it.

Room Tip: This is not a hotel. It is a campground. If you want a cabin, which are very nice here, for an exten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for leaving such a nice review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in Rhode Island and wish you the very best back in Michigan! You bring up a good point, within 30-40 min drive time you can be just about anywhere in the state. Within 35 minutes of our front gate you can reach half a dozen beaches, museums, Downtown Providence, casinos and more great restaurants than you will be able to try. It is a very special area.

We hope that you won’t be strangers and will visit us again in the future.

Thanks again!!

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

After 5 years of going to RV Camping shows my wife and finally I decided to take the plunge buying a Keystone Montana fifth wheel coach and placing it in Whispering Pines Campgrounds as first time seasonal campers. This was the best thing we could have done, Cameron and Justinn, the owners, are absolutely the best owner couple we could have hoped for. Not having done this before my wife and I both felt extremely comfortable from the first moment we met them. They showed us a site for our coach and I plunked down the deposit and never looked back. We are having a great time and already we have seen so many great upgrades sine the first day we stayed overnight. I have and will continue to recommend this campgrounds to everyone I know or come in contact with. We have already made friends with at least two dozen other families who have all been great to us. We expect to be here as seasonal campers for many seasons to come. Thank you Justin and Cameron!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Ernie! Thank you so very much for your stellar review. We are very happy that you have chosen Whispering Pines as your home away from home for the 2014 season and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for many years to come!!

Thanks again,

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Providence, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hadn't been to whispering pines in 9yrs, WOW what a difference, staff extremely friendly, as well as the seasonal campers. You can see new owners are making many changes and upgrades. Kids had a great weekend. Bathrooms are very clean,compared to the last stay 9yrs ago. Had such a pleasant stay we booked 2 more camping trips before we left.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAAE729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. It’s really great to read such positive comments from someone who has camped here both during our current ownership and before. Please let us know if we can do anything to further your enjoyment during your future stays with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at least two more times summer! Thank you very much for booking again so soon.

Much thanks,

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Plenty to do for the kids. Very friendly staff. Camp sites were in great condition and very clean. Will definitely go back. Only complaint was having to go across the whole campground to get to a bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ted K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing us, we are happy to see that you enjoyed your camping trip with us and hope that you decided to come camp with us again in the future. Some of our sites are certainly more of a walk from one of our bathroom facilities than others are. Please give us a call before your next camping trip with us and we will be more than happy to suggest some sites that are closer to restrooms.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review!

Best regards,

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great being back at Whispering Pines. Cameron and entire staff were extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. Facilities upgrading and cleanliness was a pleasant surprise. We'll be back.

One suggestion - Completing installation of mirrors (one long mirror or individual mirrors over sinks in men's rooms would be helpful. The men's room closest to my sites (in W area) didn't have mirrors.
It was also great that showers could be used without worrying about dropping coins in a meter. Great plus to accomodations.

We'll see you again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you very much for leaving taking the time to review Whispering Pines! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that you were without a mirror in bathroom #3. Unfortunately, the mirror was broken just before your stay and we had to remove it for safety. However, it has since been replaced.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you again!

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Valley
15.0 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
19.5 mi away
NYLO Providence/Warwick
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Coventry-Warwick Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
14.4 mi away
Seaport RV Resort and Campground
6.8 mi away
Classic Motor Lodge
Classic Motor Lodge
#4 of 4 in West Greenwich
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Campground

Property: Whispering Pines Campground
Address: 41 Sawmill Rd, Hope Valley, Hopkinton, RI 02832-1247
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Hopkinton > Hope Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hope Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
--Welcome to the Whispering Pines Camping Experience – Nestled in the heart of New England among 50 acres of towering pines… This is what camping was meant to be.— Amenities:-Large wooded sites for Tents, Trailers, RV’s - Full hookups, pull-thru & Season sites available - Clean restrooms - Complimentary hot showers - Camp store stocked with groceries and RV supplies - Laundry facility - WiFi - Dump station - Propane filling station - Firewood - Ice - Swimming Pool - Miniature Golf -Barrel Train - Paddleboats - Spring-fed fishing pond stocked yearly for catch and release - Playground - Athletic Field - Reek Hall w/ arcade - Snack Bar - Recreational Activities - Bocce - Horseshoes - Basketball-Volleyball - Dog Park ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing