We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not be back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whispering Pines Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Will not be back”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Yes, I get that the name is Whispering Pines, but a good half of them needs to be cut down. No direct sunlight, extremely tight sites for a 30 foot trailer. Took 45 minutes to back in to my spot with he help of two people. No, this is not my first time. Pool was closed til 4pm on one of the days we were there. In the mini golf area there are flowers that attract 10-15 bees, so playing with kids was a bit nerve wracking. Went to buy ice, they were out. Smelled waste for a few days before the septic got pumped.
Not every aspect of the stay was negative. Basketball and volleyball courts were good, game room was fun for the kids. Fee showers are always always welcome.
What put me over the edge was that they had to charge me for a guest that was only staying 1 hour. That person was on our site just for dinner, did not use any facilities. To me that is poor customer service. You can have my $7 for my guest, but I will not return and discourage people from going to this campground.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay. Yes, the majority of our 213 sites are heavily shaded. However, almost every site on the property has a completely different layout. For this reason we escort every camper to their site and make sure that they are backed in easily. It also gives us the opportunity to check all of your connections and the overall condition of the site. Please don’t take off without your escort; we are here at your service. We do have a number of full sun sites that are pull-through for your convenience. If you are ever to stay with us again please give us a call anytime and we will be more than happy to find a site that is exactly what you are looking for. Even if you have already checked-in and find that the site is not exactly what you are looking for please let us know and we are always willing to move you, if at all possible. The pool was closed one day during your stay until 4pm. We are very sorry for the inconvenience; unfortunately, an outdoor pool with heavy traffic sometimes has an issue. Our campers’ health and safety is our number one concern and the maintenance staff kept the pool shut down for cleaning until it was once again 100%.

Guest fees are $7.00 for adults and are below the competitive average fee charged at campgrounds in New England. If someone is just coming in to drop off or pick up we are always willing to take a deposit and give a full refund to your guest on the way out.

I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you as our guest once again in the future. If we can do anything to help resolve the issues you had with your past stay or help you plan a future visit please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    45
    14
    8
    8
See reviews for
105
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We just returned from our first visit to Whispering Pines and it definitely won't be our last. The campground is clean, staff is super friendly, pool was clean and had decent hours available for swimming. We didn't see them but family we were camping with said the owners came through to see how things were and how they liked the campground. We've never had that happen at other campgrounds!! The snack bar had reasonable prices and yummy ice cream sundaes! They seemed to have lots of activities for kids and the little train for 3-7 y/o kids was really cute and a favorite of ours to watch go by. While we thought our particular site was a little tight there are plenty of other options for next time. What we really loved is it was pretty centrally located to the places we wanted to visit - beaches, Mystic. Newport was a little farther but still close enough. Our only complaint was the speed which drivers drove through the campground. Speed limit is 5mph but that definitely was not observed and it made me nervous allowing my nieces to ride their bikes. Cars didn't even slow down if people were walking or biking on the side of the road. But again, super friendly staff and that is a big factor in our decision to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you very much for deciding to stay with us at Whispering Pines! We are so pleased to read that your first experience camping with us was a great one. We love the location here too; camping in the woods but so close to so many activities. If we can do anything to help you plan your next trip with us please do not hesitate to send us an email or give us a call.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicopee, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

OMG!! We spent our week vacation at Whispering Pines. It was soooooo awesome!! We had our two grandchildren with us and they had so much fun!! We relaxed, we played, we danced, we had a super time!! the staff were very friendly. The "seasonals" were just awesome.....most times the "seasonals" are not very welcoming. Not here...they are so friendly and helpful. Sandy with the crafts was so kind...let us borrow supplies since the little ones were more comfortable at camper. She even came over to see how their hats came out!!! Bob was friendly....took our picture for us!! My husband and him even exchanged e-mail info!!! We didn't feel like outsiders, we felt like part of a friendly neighborhood!!! The prices at the snack bar were reasonable. Ice cream was a treat we could afford multiple times!!!! Our grandson caught his first fish in the pond....what a super memory!!! We did have an issue with the paddle boats...one didn't steer and one didn't pedal (unfortunately didn't realize until in pond!!!!)...me and grandson had to be towed in!!! But....I did tell a staff member and she said she would tell them. It was just another memory!!! Did use restrooms a couple times...very clean!! We camp with my sister and her family and the children ages range from 2 to 17...hard to find a place that can please everyone....the teenagers enjoyed the pool and basketball and arcade....younger ones just enjoyed playing outdoors and the activities. We are looking forward to returning next year/ a long weekend!! Whatever additions you add would make it even better!!
Thanks, Cindy & Billy Stoner and family

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi Cindy and Billy!

We are so very happy to read that you and your family had a great vacation at Whispering Pines! I assure you that you will see more additions to the available activities and improvements to the grounds visit after visit. We look forward to welcoming you again and if we can do anything to help you plan your next visit please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thanks again!

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhode island
Level Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Third straight year visiting whispering pines and we were pleased again. They seem to be updating or adding something every time we've been. The kids activities are great. This year we went for Xmas week in July. Santa was great showing up on the fire truck. There are lots of seasonal campers that are always welcoming. We will continue to make this as one of summer camping spots every year.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gregthenewguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you very much for coming to camp again with us this year. I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you for many years to come. Christmas is July is always a great weekend. We have added more themed weekends to the schedule this year and we have had a great response from campers. Western Weekend, Luau Weekend, and Pirates Weekend are just a few of the new additions and were all equally as fun.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and again, we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canaan, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great family campground. We checked in late and found our passes attached to the office door and felt welcomed. The only recommendation I would suggest are the camp rules attached as we did not know was the "lights out" time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank aleciaaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much for leaving a review. I am sorry that a staff member could not meet you and escort you to your site but I am very happy that you easily found your way. The camp rules are printed on the reverse of the campground map and our quiet hours are from 11pm to 9am. However, we only ask that you simply be respectful of your neighboring campers by keeping conversation very low. We do not require that you put out your fire and move inside. If, during your stay, you have any questions and or issues our front store phone number is answered 24hrs a day 401-539-7011. Please do not hesitate to call us, at any hour, we will be happy to assist you in any way.

We hope your enjoy the rest of your stay and will come and visit us again soon!

Thanks again!

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at whispering pines for 4 year now. Since the new owners took over it went down hill fast. The paved roads are not so paved. There is no activities ever going on. And there is a lot of drunk driving going on golf carts. I seen a guy on a motorcycle get ran over. One last thing is they have the police there. Not so much a family campground like advertised

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cliffcheney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Mr. Cheney,

This is a forum for guests to leave actual reviews of the property not a place for angry discourse and misinformation. Because of repeated noise complaints and other issues, you and your family were asked not to return to our property. We are committed to keeping Whispering Pines a family campground and will not stand for aberrant behavior of one camper or family that has a negative impact on our guests as a whole. To that end, yes, we are proud to employ off-duty police officers to work security. It is our first priority to ensure that all of our guests have a joyful, pleasant and ultimately safe camping experience.

Many campgrounds are available, other than Whispering Pines, offering many different experiences. I am sure that you will find one better suited to your lifestyle and we certainly wish you only the best.

Regards,

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockton
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This place was great. We stayed there while taking the kids to a hot air balloon festival nearby. The staff was always extremely helpful and friendly, everything was clean. Our only two complaints were the playground wasn't really, it was an old swingset and the fishing pond was unfishable due to extreme weeds and also because it's the same small pond where they let the kids rents paddle boats and canoes. Both didn't really affect our trip but I know that would be important to someone. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Crystalm116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us! We hope you enjoyed the balloon festival, we were not able to make it over this year but we had many campers return with great reviews. We hear your two complaints loud and clear. We actually have three small playgrounds on the property and we are in the planning stages of updating all of them with equipment. The pond is about six inches low because of the lack of rainfall that the property has received this year so the one shallow side is showing more weeds than normal. We hope that with some steady rain next week that issue will be alleviated. However, the fishing has not been affected at all and our junior anglers have been pulling record catches all season long. Also, we want to let you know that if you wish to use the canoes or paddle boats during your stay they are all first come, first serve and free of charge.

We hope to see you and your family again very soon and if there is anything we can do to help plan your stay please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thanks again,

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Valley
17.0 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
10.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
14.4 mi away
Seaport RV Resort and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Stagecoach House Inn B&B
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Campground

Property: Whispering Pines Campground
Address: 41 Sawmill Rd, Hope Valley, Hopkinton, RI 02832-1247
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Hopkinton > Hope Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hope Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
--Welcome to the Whispering Pines Camping Experience – Nestled in the heart of New England among 50 acres of towering pines… This is what camping was meant to be.— Amenities:-Large wooded sites for Tents, Trailers, RV’s - Full hookups, pull-thru & Season sites available - Clean restrooms - Complimentary hot showers - Camp store stocked with groceries and RV supplies - Laundry facility - WiFi - Dump station - Propane filling station - Firewood - Ice - Swimming Pool - Miniature Golf -Barrel Train - Paddleboats - Spring-fed fishing pond stocked yearly for catch and release - Playground - Athletic Field - Reek Hall w/ arcade - Snack Bar - Recreational Activities - Bocce - Horseshoes - Basketball-Volleyball - Dog Park ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing