We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just so-so” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jamestown
GreenLeadersBronze level
glenside
1 review
“Just so-so”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

The location is great. There are beautiful views of the water, bridge to Newport and the outline of Newport. Unfortunately, once inside the hotel the visit goes downhill. Check-in was unusually cumbersome. The common areas and our room all shared the same level of cleanliness - subpar. Everything was grimy and could use a good scrubbing. When asking staff questions the most frequent response was uncertainty. The common room with coffee and breakfast pastries was a nice touch but would have been better with cups and napkins. The air conditioning unit was extremely loud and made sleep difficult. Overall the stay was disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gluesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    29
    23
    14
    8
See reviews for
26
48
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

This place was alright. The view was beautiful. The room had a musty mildew smell which I think came from the air conditioning. Other than that it was clean though and we had a view of the harbor. The best thing about this place was the Sunday brunch- phenomenal. But also very expensive so beware! I think it was like 35 dollars per person! Also every time you enter and leave Jamestown on the main road they charge you! Overall it was fine for a few days and relatively cheap.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snoflake117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopedale, MA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Our vacation was four days Sunday through Thursday. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean, tasteful decorated and the refridgerator, coffee maker, white clean dishes, dish soap, sponges, paper towels and sponges were welcome ammenties. The washer and dryer availability was also a nice touch.
We stayed in the Newport area prior to our stay at the Bay Voyage Inn and our son said, "I can't imagine staying anywhere else again!" The beauty of the calm, serene, sail boat filled bay and the illuminated bridge at night captured our hearts. We brought our kayak and enjoyed navigating around the bay. We walked, enjoyed the beauty of the state parks and the restaurants in Jamestown. Chopmist Charlies was our favorite.
The thing we like the least was the location of the air conditioner in the bedroom. It was located directly next to the bed and the room was cool. Hopefully, next time we'll open the window and enjoy the sea air. The weather was extremely muggy, however, and we neede the AC. I can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quaint2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

After reading all of the reviews here, I do have to admit that I was worried about the hotel. My mother has a timeshare, so we got this as a "swap". The room was fine if you didn't plan to spend a great deal of time there and there are only two of you. Also, don't plan on cooking there as the sink is VERY tiny and their is only a microwave and a dorm-sized frig. The room appeared clean and the service adequate. (However, one employee is completely useless. You will know her when you meet her, it's very obvious. Nevertheless, at least she was pleasant.) If you book, request an odd numbered room. Those rooms have the view and the balconies. Our room was on the opposite side which faced the road. It was bothersome, as this road is the only one into downtown Jamestown. The traffic woke my up the first morning there. However, I solved that by running the AC. It was quite noisey and thus drowned out the street noise.
Our windows had slipped down from the top frame, which made it extra loud. We tried to close them, but they seemed painted shut. We reported this the next morning and it was taken care of within the hour. The room did have a bit of a stale scent and was quite dark if you did not open the drapery of all three windows. The two TVs were dated and the fitness center was not worth using. We weren't at the hotel all that much, so it wasn't a big deal. However, we got this with timeshare points. If I had to pay $200+ a night, I would have been VERY upset with what I got. If that's you, go elsewhere because you will feel that this hotel is not worth the high cost!!! On the flip side, they have the best view in Jamestown! It is an amazing view from the balcony and hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Request odd numbered rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishIweretraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Valley, UT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

What a wonderful experience! We recently had the good fortune of staying at the Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn in Jamestown, RI. From the moment we entered the Inn we felt we had made the perfect choice for our trip to visit family in Newport. The front desk clerks were extremely pleasant and efficient and had a broad knowledge of the area. The suite we stayed in was immaculate with plenty of room for the contents of my overweight suitcase and all of it's contents. The newspaper each morning was also a welcome surprise. We dined in the restaurant on three occasions during our stay and the meals were absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. The dining room staff was professional but also willing to show a welcome sense of humor. And as if all these positives weren't enough, the view of Jamestown and Newport Harborsfrom the veranda was the icing on the cake. Beautiful yatchts and motorboats of every size were quite a magnificent site as the sun set each evening. Obviously, our stay was memorable and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrammySue_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Property not as advertised. There was a lovely view on one side. Of course that's how they advertise this property. We were put on the opposite side (despite booking this property months ago) where our view was of traffic on a street. We immediately requested a change but was told that was not possible. The place appeared to be almost empty the whole 3 days we were there. Our toilet barely flushed & when it did flush the whole thing shaked & rattled like it was going to fall over! The air conditioning would shut off in the middle of the night. You'd have to turn it off 7 turn it on again to get it to work again. It was advertised that they had a hot tub...they didn't. When we inquired about it we were told that they haven't had one for years & they keep trying to get it taken off the website but it just hasn't been yet. They advertise an award winning restaurant, but the only time it's open is for Sunday brunch. WiFi didn't work in our room. When we inquired about that they just said, "yeah, it doesn't always make it to some of the rooms"! There was no daily maid service, which would have been OK if we were told about it. When we inquired about that they said, "they were busy today I guess they just didn't have time to do your room"!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nancymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jamestown hotels

Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Great location, facility and staff in a small, friendly and beautiful town that is near so much. A few good restaurants that are walking distance. Walking distance to ferry for great half hour ride to all the activities in Newport. View from room was awesome. Room was smallish but clean, comfortable and more than adequate. Restaurant looked great but was closed during our brief Sunday to Tuesday stay (Sunday brunch only, closed Monday). Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaJerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
3.0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Newport Overlook
Wyndham Newport Overlook
#2 of 2 in Jamestown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
10.7 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn

Property: Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn
Address: 150 Conanicus Ave, Jamestown, RI 02835-1519 (Formerly The Bay Voyage)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Jamestown
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Bay Voyage Hotel Jamestown
Wyndham Jamestown
Jamestown Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing