We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but not worth the $300/night rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jamestown
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dostr4111
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place but not worth the $300/night rate”
Reviewed 24 September 2008

We chose this site through an RCI exchange -it certainly doesn't compare to the gold crown resort membership we have in Mexico. The professional hospitality status of the hotel is lacking. The staff is very friendly but totally unprofessional. The staff is not professionally dressed and do not act react properly to meet the needs of its guests. They are not readily available to meet the guests inquiries. The front desk on many occasions were not present to answer guests inquiries. Small services like newspapers at the guest room doors was never followed on a daily basis. Newspapers were available on only ONE day out of seven days. The exercise room hours were scheduled from 9AM - 9PM. For those who exercise, ealier hours are always preferable e.g. 6AM would be a better opening time. The exercise room was not open at 9AM. and the guest needed to contact the front desk to open the room. The innl advertises the availability of hot tub that does not even exist. The general physical condition is lacking - rugs need cleaning particular the public areas. They are black and deeply discolored. Half the windows in our room did not operate at all. I would say that the Wyndham corporation sorely needs a quality control assessment. It has a long way to go before Bay Voyage Inn reaches a high quality Inn standard.

  • Liked — kitchenette area, suite accomodation
  • Disliked — cleanliness, inadeqaucy of the staff, lack of amenities, eg newspaper
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dostr4111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    29
    23
    14
    8
See reviews for
26
48
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Suffield, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2008

Suite 209 was nice, not sure if it really could have slept 4. The front desk staff were not very friendly. The hallways were in desperate need of makeup air. Not sure if this would meet building code or not. The room itself did not smell. The air conditioning units worked okay but made alot of noise. The bathroom sink leaked all night. The dinner at the restaurant was delicious, no complaints about that.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2008

My husband and I stayed here as a time share exchange. Overall the staff was absolutely wonderful - friendly, helpful and courteous (One employee, though not rude, seemed bored and disinterested, but everyone else was so incredibly super nice!) We stayed in suite 107 and our view was incredible! Newport is only a few minutes drive and we were glad to be out of the noise and crowds.

My husband and I usually stay in B&B's so the old world charm of the Bay Voyage was very appealing to us. Old hotels/B&B's usually have poor noise insulation but the sound-proofing at Bay Voyage was really good. I am a VERY light sleeper and I heard very little noise from other units. There was a loud party one evening but when we closed the windows I could barely hear it.

Our suite was small but adequate for the two of us. The mini-kitchen was very nice, as were the free coffee and muffins in the morning. The room decor was also nice but the furniture placement is awkward (the TV cabinet is offset from the sofa so that it can be opened into a hide-a-bed) so that only the person on the end of the sofa can view the TV comfortably. The comfort level of the furniture/bed was average - but we weren't in our room much so it was fine.

Bay Voyage is a time-share property. We were contacted once by a Wyndham Properties representative. She was not pushy at all, and in fact very friendly and helpful. She gave me some good suggestions for restaurants and attractions in the area.

We enjoyed the Sunday brunch at the restaurant. The food and service were both good. One word of caution. We ordered drinks with our brunch. We thought they were included as there was no price on the drink menu - only to find we were indeed charged - quite a bit in fact! They should list the drink prices - but we should have asked so I don't fault them.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend Bay Voyage to anyone looking for a quaint hotel with old world charm in a fantastic location!

  • Liked — friendly staff & location
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Lance-and-Phoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
158 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2008

This was a 2 day trip that i had traded part of a timeshare for. Wanted to stay outside of the Kaos of Newport without the traffic for a quiet time alone with my husband. We arrived from NYC, took 7 hours in traffic to find the hotel very charming and built in the 1800's deep rooted in history. The rooms were clean and had everything we could ever need and more for 2 days. Free paper daily, coffee, nice ammenites. Front desk was very helpful with info about the area and advice where to dine. Nicely appointed living room with newish furniture, TV, mini kitchen and tastefully done!. Smallish bedroom with comfy queen sized bed and TV. Very clean bathroom.
The View was to die for. Overlooking the Pell bridge! That alone is worth the stay. We had a one bedroom with a balcony overlooking the pook and bridge and all the windows and french doors opened to a beautiful ocean breeze that was fragrant like honey and cut flowers.
There were partys going on in the rooms adjacent to the lobby with loud music one night, but i tell you we could not hear it from our room. Even with the windows open.
Certainly we will be back again!

  • Liked — The beautiful View
  • Disliked — artifical plants in the rooms.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank campo84748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
45208
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2008

My husband and I stayed at this place for two nights on a househunting trip to the area. Unfortunately this place gave us a bad taste in our mouth of Jamestown. The staff were awful, just boring and no energy. My husband booked a suite and when I called the next day to ask why our room hadn't been cleaned they said it was a time share. They NEVER said it was a TIME SHARE when we checked in and it is advertised as an Inn. Anyway, the room felt stuffy and the bed wasn't very comfortable. The door did not lock unless you played with it a little. Upon checkout(we went to the hilton in newport), they tried to charge us another higher rate! They also called us each day and asked if we would be interested in buying a unit!!! Unbelieveable. STAY AWAY!

  • Liked — V iew of the bay
  • Disliked — That it was a timeshare and they didn't advise us before we booked.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jamestown hotels

Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

Wyndahm Bay Voyage Inn is a nice, but old hotel. Place was clean, staff was friendly and helpful, including housekeeping staff. The view is great, and it's very convenient to the few restaurants in town (The Oyster Bar and Trattoria Simpatico are terriffic). The bedroom is small, but adequate and the living room is also adequate. The sleep sofa in the living room seemed fine. Issues were the heating unit, which was either way too hot or off, no matter how it was set, and the front door was warped so the door had to be slammed to lock it. One other issue is that our room was directly over the restaurant, which meant that the fish odors were kind of strong at night. I'd stay again, but I'd look for something newer in the area if it were available.

  • Liked — Location, view, charm
  • Disliked — age of facility, heating unit, size
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mysticmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2007

My mom has a timeshare here so my boyfriend & I went up for a weekend. I've seen this property from the outside and on the Internet and was quite excited. The staff were very friendly upon arrival and provided us with maps, brochures and newspapers from the area. Our suite was on the 3rd floor and although there was no deck, there were two sets of bay windows looking out at the Newport Bridge - very, very nice. The heating/cooling unit in the living room only shut off by unplugging it from the wall but other than that, the suite was in tip-top shape and one could tell that renovations had been recently made. On Sundays, the Inn offers (for about $30/person) a wonderful and delicious brunch - again, the views of the bridge are so nice.

The one complaint would be about the staff - because it was a timeshare, I checked in on a Friday and left on a Sunday. My mom was scheduled to check in on Monday and I had specifically asked the staff to change the bedsheets and tidy up the room although there was a $30 fee to do so. According to my mother - they never changed the sheets, made the bed or cleaned the room. I was very disappointed in that as clean sheets are a must! I need to check my statement to see if I was charged for that service. Also they were not as speedy checking my mom in as the staff working on that Monday were under the impression that I was still in the room, even though we made arrangements with the Sunday staff on my departure. Other than that - no complaints. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — The location and the view
  • Disliked — The staff wasn't helpful when my mom checked in and the heating unit in our room wasn't up to par
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckarp73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Newport Overlook
Wyndham Newport Overlook
#1 of 2 in Jamestown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
2.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
10.8 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn

Property: Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn
Address: 150 Conanicus Ave, Jamestown, RI 02835-1519 (Formerly The Bay Voyage)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Jamestown
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Bay Voyage Hotel Jamestown
Wyndham Jamestown
Jamestown Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing