We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and nice view”
Review of Jamestown Oyster Bar - CLOSED

Jamestown Oyster Bar
Price range: US$0 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar, Pizza, Pub, Soups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Wilmington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and nice view”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The food was good. Had the oysters fried and the beer was ok. Had to ask for a full pint of beer as the bartender thought a 3/4 full pint was proper.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    11
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dirty”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

I was not pleased with the cleanliness of this rest. When you walk in you will see what I mean,take a look for yourself. The food was OK bit the service was the wurst!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spanky196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food. Poor attitude by management”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Went to Newport on a busy Saturday but it was packed so we went to Jamestown for lunch. Our waitress was ok. We were seated in their very small but quaint dining area. Atmosphere was nice but I felt the staff was stressed. We ordered lobster rolls and drinks. The lobster was excellent w big chunks &a lightly seasoned cole slaw on the side was tasty as well.
However a customer came to the doorway asking for a table for six. The man that appeared to be running things had the waitress ask a couple she just seated to move. They wanted their table to join with ours when we finished. He made this painfully obvious by standing in front of us and actually stood there and stared at us with an unflattering face I might add. After he whispered for the third time to our waitress that he was annoyed we hadnt finished our second drink yet we remarked at how we were being ushered out. We left without acknowleding his rudeness and continued to enjoy our afternoon elsewhere.
While the food was fantastic it was pricey at $22 per lobster roll but for the area I expected it. I wont return here after the way we and others were treated. I would much rather spend my money where a customer is treated with courteous respect. .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank battgirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
462 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Return Visit A Success”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Everyone in our party of four loved this seafood haven. The steamers, salads, lobster rolls were very good. The bouillabaise came with a surprise - a layer of pasta that detracted somewhat from the total dish. Would return again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jrjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed.”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We are on Jamestown all summer and are always pleased with our experience here. The atmosphere is always lively. Great bar to watch a game. Service is good. The appetizers and raw bar are terrific. Main dishes are just OK and a bit pricey. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jarvis.lambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jamestown Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing