We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Mango House Resort
Nearby Hotels
Colonial Palms Motor Inn(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$483
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airlie Beach Hotel(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Islands Inn Motel(Airlie Beach)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Whitsunday on the Beach(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airlie Beach Motor Lodge(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coral Sea Resort(Airlie Beach)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
at Marina Shores(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Club Croc(Cannonvale)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveller rating
194
111
27
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
111
27
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspoolside roomjubilee tavernbottle shopiga supermarketairlie beachhosts peterwashing machinebus stopair conequipped kitchenminute walkone bedroom apartmentlovely poolfirst floorgreat place to staypool sideself catering
Filter
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 368 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

- The internet was not working. When we asked the manager for internet usage, my husband was told, “Someone blew up the internet about five weeks ago, by plugging something into the wrong hole. It hasn’t been fixed”. One of the reasons we wanted to stay at the resort was the free internet. We were told that we could use the wireless, but it would only work within five feet of the office
- When we went to rent a DVD player, the manager said, “We don’t have them”, despite the fact that the brochure states that DVD players are available. When my husband pressed the issue, the manager retrieved a DVD player (after we went looking to rent one) and was very rude when we returned. He gave my husband the DVD play and said, “It better be a good movie”. He again asked us, “Why do you want a DVD player, you have three Foxtel channels”. My husband was stupefied by the comments the manager made. We had to make a make-shift DVD stand out of chairs as the cables from the DVD player to the TV would not reach.
- When we asked about the spa/hot tub being cold, we were informed that a spa isn’t supposed to be hot; it’s just supposed to blow bubbles. Several other guests were complaining about the temperature of the water while we attempted to swim in the pool
- The attitude of the manager was appalling. When we would ask for something, like the DVD player or an extra towel, he was rude and it seemed like we were inconveniencing him by asking for these things
- We arrived at the hotel around 5:30 pm. The manager was about to leave our keys taped up to the door (there was another set of keys up there for someone else also). It concerns me that keys for rooms are left out for anyone to retrieve
- The dryer in the apartment constantly shut off (to clean out the lint) and were told that it could only hold, at maximum, 2.5 kg. We removed all but one towel, cleaned the lint-catcher and still it wouldn’t work properly. The dryer worked sporadically throughout our stay. When we contacted the front desk about this, a repairman came to look and informed us about the weight capacity. Still, the dryer only worked sporadically with one towel or three.
- The TV reception was horrid. There were frayed wires from the Foxtel cable into both the wall and the TV

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Christie J,
We are aware of your views, which you have made clear during the various emails and phone calls to our Head Office. As they have told you, we have investigated the problems you reported, finding the TV Reception and dryer to be working normally in your apartment. We very much regret that you did not enjoy your stay and that you did not appreciate our friendly FNQ hospitality.
Peter & Pam
Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

we had a 3 night stay during our vacation in Australia with a good rate booked via internet, we arrived a bit late (around 07:00p.m) and found the reception closed, however we found on the door our keys including instructions in an enveloppe; so we had no Problem to find our room on the top floor; as we requested top floor, it was excellent to get our preferred choice even though we were one of the last check ins on that day; the room itself was very clean, it contained all what you need, including a small kitchenette; also a washing machine and a dryer in the room has been available, which has been a nice addon; bathroom a bit small, but very clean; Supermarket and a Restaurant around the Corner was very convenient and we used both Options (in the Restaurant you get a 10% Discount with the key);
Location itself is a bit outside of Airlie Beach, but a bus is on a frequent schedule and even Walking is done within 20 - 25 minutes in case you have no car; we enjoyed our stay and would definetly recommend Mango House, if you travel to Airlie Beach

Room Tip: ask for a room on top floor and away from the street
Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank falke1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Hi and thanks for staying with us...........really pleased you had a nice time at our little place and maybe see you again one day.......Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This has to be one of the loveliest places, that I have stayed in. Airlie Beach is a lovely town with easy access to the wonderful Great Barrier Reef.
I travelled here for a 3 day birthday celebration, and most people were staying at Toscana. Looking at the online reviews and realising that access was very steep, for people and cars, I knew that I needed to find an alternative. I'm so glad that I choose this delightful and peaceful place. Set in lush tropical garden setting surrounding an inviting and large pool, it offers an amazing tranquility and value for money. I booked directly with the owners and got a great deal.
I'm pretty sure I have the best apartment in the complex. The pool on one side and a gorgeous pond with water lilies on the the other. Undercover parking and being able to go straight into the room was just great.
This apartment is one of the best appointed and intelligently designed spaces that I have stayed in. Well appointed.... Fully equipped kitchen, microwave, decent sized fridge, dishwasher, washing machine, huge very comfortable bed and two divans that could sleep adults comfortably, nice dining area, private secure courtyard with seating for four, excellent shower, power points well located..... I could go on. Particularly enamoured with the shutters/ louvres, so much I want them for my house.
There is no food service, but the tavern across the road seems to have a good menu. The small shopping centre has a fabulous IGA and a bottle shop. The location is quiet and far enough from the town, that you could walk or catch a cab without feeling embarrassed. I think that there is a bus stop as well. Negatives? Seriously can't find one. I wish that there many more places like this. Fantastic, what a pity there isn't a chain of Mango House resorts across the country. If there were I'd be checking in to them every time I travelled.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachsands26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you so much for the review.......and really happy you enjoyed your stay here, I sometimes wish there was a trip advisor for hotels to review guests who stay as it is people like you that make running one of these things worthwhile............again thanks and hope to see you again one day................................Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Welcome was heart warming with our names emblazoned on a sign at the front of Reception, welcoming us to Mango House Resort. After checking in and some quips with the witty guy (Peter, ) behind the counter we were kindly taken to our accommodation (by Pam) and settled in to our comfortable and beautifully appointed Apartment overlooking the Pool.

The Accommodation was sparkling clean, very well appointed in all respects. Everything was in good working order and we loved the Queenslander styling and colour co-ordination.

The Property was maintained to a high standard, the Pool sparkling and inviting, the well built BBQ facilities and comfortable outdoor furniture for relaxation.

The Birdlife was beautiful, natives birds, honey eaters all easily visible from our upstairs apartment.

Easy access to transport, eateries and the local IGA meant a hassle free stay.

The Managers Pam and Peter - well what can one say other than they are a great team who do Best Western proud. Some fun quips with Peter in the Office and Pam's bubbly, positive personality combined to make our holiday at this Resort an outstanding experience.

We will return! Thanks Pam and Peter and Best Western.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

wow Elizabeth, are you sure you were staying here...........your review nearly makes me want to rent a unit here...............glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day.....................................pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Have travelled all the way up from Melbourne and can honestly say is the best we have had. Had poolside studio, so spacious, huge shower. Lovely and clean, being out of town we loved, found it very quiet. Great value for the price. Gardens and pool area very relaxing. If you are looking for somewhere to relax is a great place. Even extended our stay.
Highly recomend.
Miss the ducks.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleni E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for such a nice review and very pleased you enjoyed your stay here.
I'm sure the ducks miss you as well, since you left I have received further expert advice on what to feed them, they now eat better than me.
Hope to see you again one day...........................Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews