We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treat yourself.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Coppabella
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Treat yourself.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Everything about this place is great.The rooms are very clean and fresh and the pool and surrounds are very well kept.The manager and his wife are very friendly and uphold a very high standard of the resort. It is handy to anywhere in Airlie and Shute Hbr and a shortish stroll into town .With a small supermarket across the road and a tavern just up the road it is so well situated. It also has a good barbecue area . There is a real tropical look and feel about the rooms and pool area .Treat yourself to 2 or 3 days stay here or more , and if you ever come back to Airlie I'd almost wager this is the place you will come back to.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
hi Paul and thank you for the kind words, glad we helped make your trip here a pleasant one and please call again.............................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    99
    22
    18
    9
See reviews for
53
179
19
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
293 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Airlie Beach is a fabulous town and well worth a visit. It is the gateway to the Whitsunday Islands with a quirky high street and excellent bicentennial walk from the marina (big car park there) to the town.I would recommend this Best Western hotel. We stayed in a studio apartment and this was clean and had everything we needed. There was a additional sofa bed and your own built in washing mashine and tumble drier. There was an excellent supermarket across the road and also a pub selling meals across another road. You would need a car to stay here, the town is walkable but is about 2 kms away. A minus for us was that our apartment was called a treetop apartment and backed onto a really busy road so it would be worth asking for e.g. a pool view room. Also, the fans in the room were very noisy and some lights didn't work. The hotel was fully booked so it would be worth booking early.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CarolWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thanks Carol all good except the street noise.............a small section of the treetops units do face out toward the street but they are priced accordingly for people on a budget..........3 nights for $240 for 2 people pretty good value especially for Airlie but as you say the large poolside apartments are quieter and really not much dearer........................enjoy the rest of your travels................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

- The internet was not working. When we asked the manager for internet usage, my husband was told, “Someone blew up the internet about five weeks ago, by plugging something into the wrong hole. It hasn’t been fixed”. One of the reasons we wanted to stay at the resort was the free internet. We were told that we could use the wireless, but it would only work within five feet of the office
- When we went to rent a DVD player, the manager said, “We don’t have them”, despite the fact that the brochure states that DVD players are available. When my husband pressed the issue, the manager retrieved a DVD player (after we went looking to rent one) and was very rude when we returned. He gave my husband the DVD play and said, “It better be a good movie”. He again asked us, “Why do you want a DVD player, you have three Foxtel channels”. My husband was stupefied by the comments the manager made. We had to make a make-shift DVD stand out of chairs as the cables from the DVD player to the TV would not reach.
- When we asked about the spa/hot tub being cold, we were informed that a spa isn’t supposed to be hot; it’s just supposed to blow bubbles. Several other guests were complaining about the temperature of the water while we attempted to swim in the pool
- The attitude of the manager was appalling. When we would ask for something, like the DVD player or an extra towel, he was rude and it seemed like we were inconveniencing him by asking for these things
- We arrived at the hotel around 5:30 pm. The manager was about to leave our keys taped up to the door (there was another set of keys up there for someone else also). It concerns me that keys for rooms are left out for anyone to retrieve
- The dryer in the apartment constantly shut off (to clean out the lint) and were told that it could only hold, at maximum, 2.5 kg. We removed all but one towel, cleaned the lint-catcher and still it wouldn’t work properly. The dryer worked sporadically throughout our stay. When we contacted the front desk about this, a repairman came to look and informed us about the weight capacity. Still, the dryer only worked sporadically with one towel or three.
- The TV reception was horrid. There were frayed wires from the Foxtel cable into both the wall and the TV

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Christie J,
We are aware of your views, which you have made clear during the various emails and phone calls to our Head Office. As they have told you, we have investigated the problems you reported, finding the TV Reception and dryer to be working normally in your apartment. We very much regret that you did not enjoy your stay and that you did not appreciate our friendly FNQ hospitality.
Peter & Pam
Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

we had a 3 night stay during our vacation in Australia with a good rate booked via internet, we arrived a bit late (around 07:00p.m) and found the reception closed, however we found on the door our keys including instructions in an enveloppe; so we had no Problem to find our room on the top floor; as we requested top floor, it was excellent to get our preferred choice even though we were one of the last check ins on that day; the room itself was very clean, it contained all what you need, including a small kitchenette; also a washing machine and a dryer in the room has been available, which has been a nice addon; bathroom a bit small, but very clean; Supermarket and a Restaurant around the Corner was very convenient and we used both Options (in the Restaurant you get a 10% Discount with the key);
Location itself is a bit outside of Airlie Beach, but a bus is on a frequent schedule and even Walking is done within 20 - 25 minutes in case you have no car; we enjoyed our stay and would definetly recommend Mango House, if you travel to Airlie Beach

Room Tip: ask for a room on top floor and away from the street
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank falke1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Hi and thanks for staying with us...........really pleased you had a nice time at our little place and maybe see you again one day.......Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

This has to be one of the loveliest places, that I have stayed in. Airlie Beach is a lovely town with easy access to the wonderful Great Barrier Reef.
I travelled here for a 3 day birthday celebration, and most people were staying at Toscana. Looking at the online reviews and realising that access was very steep, for people and cars, I knew that I needed to find an alternative. I'm so glad that I choose this delightful and peaceful place. Set in lush tropical garden setting surrounding an inviting and large pool, it offers an amazing tranquility and value for money. I booked directly with the owners and got a great deal.
I'm pretty sure I have the best apartment in the complex. The pool on one side and a gorgeous pond with water lilies on the the other. Undercover parking and being able to go straight into the room was just great.
This apartment is one of the best appointed and intelligently designed spaces that I have stayed in. Well appointed.... Fully equipped kitchen, microwave, decent sized fridge, dishwasher, washing machine, huge very comfortable bed and two divans that could sleep adults comfortably, nice dining area, private secure courtyard with seating for four, excellent shower, power points well located..... I could go on. Particularly enamoured with the shutters/ louvres, so much I want them for my house.
There is no food service, but the tavern across the road seems to have a good menu. The small shopping centre has a fabulous IGA and a bottle shop. The location is quiet and far enough from the town, that you could walk or catch a cab without feeling embarrassed. I think that there is a bus stop as well. Negatives? Seriously can't find one. I wish that there many more places like this. Fantastic, what a pity there isn't a chain of Mango House resorts across the country. If there were I'd be checking in to them every time I travelled.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachsands26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you so much for the review.......and really happy you enjoyed your stay here, I sometimes wish there was a trip advisor for hotels to review guests who stay as it is people like you that make running one of these things worthwhile............again thanks and hope to see you again one day................................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safety Beach, Vic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Welcome was heart warming with our names emblazoned on a sign at the front of Reception, welcoming us to Mango House Resort. After checking in and some quips with the witty guy (Peter, ) behind the counter we were kindly taken to our accommodation (by Pam) and settled in to our comfortable and beautifully appointed Apartment overlooking the Pool.

The Accommodation was sparkling clean, very well appointed in all respects. Everything was in good working order and we loved the Queenslander styling and colour co-ordination.

The Property was maintained to a high standard, the Pool sparkling and inviting, the well built BBQ facilities and comfortable outdoor furniture for relaxation.

The Birdlife was beautiful, natives birds, honey eaters all easily visible from our upstairs apartment.

Easy access to transport, eateries and the local IGA meant a hassle free stay.

The Managers Pam and Peter - well what can one say other than they are a great team who do Best Western proud. Some fun quips with Peter in the Office and Pam's bubbly, positive personality combined to make our holiday at this Resort an outstanding experience.

We will return! Thanks Pam and Peter and Best Western.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
wow Elizabeth, are you sure you were staying here...........your review nearly makes me want to rent a unit here...............glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day.....................................pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Have travelled all the way up from Melbourne and can honestly say is the best we have had. Had poolside studio, so spacious, huge shower. Lovely and clean, being out of town we loved, found it very quiet. Great value for the price. Gardens and pool area very relaxing. If you are looking for somewhere to relax is a great place. Even extended our stay.
Highly recomend.
Miss the ducks.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tynee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for such a nice review and very pleased you enjoyed your stay here.
I'm sure the ducks miss you as well, since you left I have received further expert advice on what to feed them, they now eat better than me.
Hope to see you again one day...........................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jubilee Pocket
8.7 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
3.9 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
1.1 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#10 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort
Address: Corner Shute Harbour Road & Erromango Drive, Jubilee Pocket, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach > Jubilee Pocket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Jubilee Pocket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mango Hotel
Best Western Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing