We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reviews sounded better than it was.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Mango House Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reviews sounded better than it was.”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Got upgraded without asking, but found this option, meant there was no maid service, only found that out by sign on bathroom wall, nothing mentioned by Peter at the front desk, or on the website, we assume the upgrade got them out of maid service (reading other reviews it seems they do it all the time). Found a smelly toilet, and stagnant water smell in the dishwasher. Had already paid in advance through a internet deal. Did not find Peter the owner as helpful as others had said, Advice about Cedar Creek falls wasn't accurate or positive. I expect courteous language, I don't expect a conversation with expletives in it, even if the customer talks that way you don't join them, but I didn't use those words, but got them in conversations. I don't believe the prices for rooms advertised are ever charged, was expecting better, much better, but it really wasn't.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms for non smokers, we were up stairs with a smoker below, the smoke would rise, str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sequia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Have already responded to this but a new version keeps appearing from this guest each time i do.....this list of complaints different than the previous one so i look forward to further episodes from this person whoever that may be.................anonymous is a wonderful thing for some i presume.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    100
    22
    18
    9
See reviews for
54
180
22
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed at Mango House for a week - Peter was kind enough to upgrade me from a studio room to a poolside apartment, which was lovely. I agree wholeheartedly with the other positive reviews on this page. The gardens and pool area are beautiful, the property is clearly very well cared-for, the amenities are great, and the value for money cannot be beaten. It is a bit out of town, but I personally think that's a good thing: it's not TOO far out (i.e. it's walkable), but there are regular buses, and it's sometimes nice to be away from the hustle. The only possible downside (and why I've rated it 4 stars, not 5) is the noise - from the main road it sits on, there is heavy traffic from very early in the morning, and you also get noise from neighbours (e.g. I could hear the neighbour's TV through the wall.) The noise seemed to be worse at particular times of day - i.e. early morning and in the evening before others went to bed. If you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. I also got the whiff of cigarette smoke drifting into my unit from nearby smokers, which I'm quite averse to. But these were relatively minor points, and did not spoil the stay. Thanks Mango House!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Sorry so many things wrong but glad you had a reasonably nice time here................thanks for taking the time to write..........................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have never written a review on trip advisor but I felt compelled to share my experience of staying at Mango House.

My mother and I were guests during October 2013. We were kindly upgraded to a 1 bedroom poolside apartment and our view every morning going was over the beautiful gardens and pool. The block is a traditional Queenslander style set amongst lush tropical gardens, exactly what I wished to see on taking a trip to Queensland. Expect to see an abundance of wildlife, beautiful birds and a huge green tree frog who calls the gardens home. I found the place to be very quiet even though every room was booked during our stay and could hear no traffic disturbance at all. Our room was perfectly clean and every requirement for a comfortable apartment was catered to.

The owners, Pam and Peter are absolutely lovely and went above and beyond to to make our stay a memorable one. Pam not only offered to take us to Proserpine to show us the sugar mill and surrounds but drove us to our next hotel. Our stay at this next hotel (more than triple the price) did not compare with our time at Mango House and we both wished we had not moved on.

I have never stayed at a hotel with such genuinely friendly and welcoming hosts. It is obvious they take great pride in this place and I would recommend it time and time again. I challenge anyone to find better accommodation in Airlie Beach for the price you pay at Mango House.

Thank you Pam and Peter for our time spent with you. We are already making arrangements to return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missmjr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about us and very pleased you enjoyed your stay here and we both look forward to maybe seeing you here again in the future as does the frog if he can avoid becoming lunch for any tree snakes out shopping for snacks.
Pam offering to take you to the sugar mill would have been an excuse for her to head to the Proserpine shop of much fame, Colour Me Crazy..........so if you head back this way beware that place will be on her radar for a day out while I just toil along here.........sad isn't it.
Take care and thanks again
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

What a quaint and beautiful place to stay.
Myself and a friend stayed at Mango House for 4 nights at the beginning of November 2013 and had a great, relaxing experience.
When we checked in, we were upgraded (for free) to a larger room with a pool view and access to the pool from our balcony. The couple who run the place are lovely, they are extremely helpful with local transportation questions and information, as well as being accommodating, we had to check out at 6:25am when we left and they were more than happy to be around to help.
The pool is nice and quiet, and beautifully clean, there are always free loungers, a jacuzzi, a BBQ and tables.
The room itself was extremely spacious, it had everything you needed, all kitchenware, a gorgeous hot shower, air con, ceiling fans, a TV with plenty of channels and movie options, a washing mashing and tumble drier, a hair drier, towels, a microwave, tea and coffee and a dishwasher! There was no noise pollution from other rooms at all and hardly any noise from around the hotel, especially after around 8pm when there was hardly any traffic on the road nearby.
There is an IGA, a bottle shop and a couple of other stores across the road, you can book excursions through the hotel or take a taxi ($8) or walk (25mins) to Airlie Beach Main Street to visit the travel shops. All the bars, cafes, shops and the lagoon are on the Main Street.
The place is ideal and we had a really enjoyable time, it's a great value place in a fabulous location, the Main Street in Airlie beach is full of backpackers and the hotels just off the street are all up extremely steep hills so Mango House was definitely the best choice for us, and I would recommend it to families, couples and friends staying in the area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013alys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us and very happy you had a nice time here..................maybe see you again one day?..............................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

well this was just a lovely spot. we had a kitchenette, so we could prepare breakfast and snacks without a hassle. The grounds were lovely, with lots of greenery everywhere. Next door there is a caravan park and they feed the birds in the afternoon-of course they come over to Mango house-grounds, what a sight to behold!!! This is not in town proper, but just a short cab ride or there is a bus that departs from just a short walk away.we got along quite well without a car. The couple that run it, are really a pair of fun loving nuts and they gave us lots of helpful info on places to see and things to do. The unit was nice, and the patio outside was a lovely spot for our daily breaky. It's an older property but everything was in fine working order. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFLollyPopCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hi & thanks for taking the time to write about us...........sorry we didn't score higher on some things but hopefully we will next time except for location which probably won't alter going forward..............in 2 weeks time our location will be the envy of all who stay in the area.........."schoolies" and being 1.5km from town central then is something very special............................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at the Mango House Resort from the 5th Oct until the 14th October 2013. The original booking came about as a mistake - my wife who normally makes all the holiday arrangements found that the Hotel that she had wanted to stay was fully booked during these dates, and our (Austravel) rep advised on the Mango House Resort as an alternative. I looked on Trip Advisor before making a reservation and was a little perturbed to see 5* good reviews alongside 1* poor reviews, as we planned a 9 night stay, the Airlie Beach area to form the focus of our 2013 trip to Australia. I was reassured in looking at the comments from the manager (Peter) to both good and poor reviews - here was obviously a man who cared for the reputation of the establishment, and prepared to take on board any shortcomings that fell to him.

In the event, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Mango House Resort. The resort is well managed and room facilities are spacious and excellent. The Pool area is clean and of an appropriate size, given the number of rooms. The BBQ area was excellent, a top quality gas BBQ with ample area for all cooking tasks. Pam spends a lot of her time in keeping the gardens immaculate and take pride in the excellent ambience this provides. Both Peter and Pam work very hard to make your stay an enjoyable one. A small supermarket is just across the road from the Mango House Resort as well as a bottle-shop. A Tavern is just across the main road and features good food, sports bar and betting. Peter has arranged a 10% reduction for Mango House guests, just on the food, not the betting or alcohol though!

Other reviewers have commented about the distance the Resort is situated away from the Airlie Beach centre. I am of (UK) retirement age and certainly did not find the 20 minute walk into Airlie any problem, in fact it was useful exercise, although we did stay in October, not in the more extreme heat conditions of summer. To echo the thoughts Peter put in replies to other TA reviews, I am glad that this distance exists, as I also believe that Airlie Beach could be quite noisy if staying directly in the centre. A major plus for us was the first floor Pool View Room. We like nothing better than relaxing in the evenings on a balcony, enjoying a chat and drink in peaceful surroundings, enveloped in tropical, barmy air. Bus and taxi's are available for journeys into Airlie centre. We hired a car and found parking in Airlie Beach easy and, at the present time free due to what was said to the disruption during roadwork's, but little disruption was noticed. This was a kind gesture by the Airlie Beach Council - I just wish UK councils would adopt a similar position. Airlie Beach is a very welcoming area, everyone helpful, smiling and happy. It must be because this is a very beautiful part of the world and those who live there appreciate it. The Airlie Lagoon is a wonderful place - a large expanse of swimming water in different depths, exceptionally clean, onsite lifeguards, lovely views out to the Bay, and FREE.

Our intention in visiting Airlie Beach was to experience many of the opportunities the Whitsundays had to offer, a once and for all time visit as travelling from the UK involves a 23+ hour flight, and 2 transfers from Sydney to Brisbane and Proserpine. However we are now considering a return visit at a future point, as we could easily do it all again - Air Whitsundays, Tiger Moth, part of the Great Whitsunday walk around Mount Roper, Bowen (the Darwin set of the film 'Australia') etc. If we do, we would love to stay at the Mango House Resort with Peter and Pam.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fellwaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for such a comprehensive review of the Whitsundays.............reading this now I am thinking of you back home heading today into possibly one of your worst storms ever........I see Heathrow shut getting ready for it all to unfold, take care and know your cricket team are safe and warm in Australia while our team are underwater in India...................love to have you back anytime you care to.................have to run now and make sure Pam is still mowing..............Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

After 3 months farmwork and slumming it in hostels this was like heaven. The owners are refreshing as was the bright spacious air conditioned room. The hotel is about a ten minute walk uphill from the main street but it’s worth it for the view and warm welcome.

The hotel was spotless and my room had a full sized fridge, kettle, tv with DVD player, iron, hair dryer – all of the things you would expect and more. The bathroom was modest with a huge walk in shower and hot water in abundance. Linen was provided as was the option of using towels to take on day trips and to either of the hotels two warm pools.

There is a quiet bar and restaurant onsite which are very nicely presented and the free breakfast is a nice touch. Unfortunately, there isn’t much choice – toast, cereal, fruit and boiled eggs.

All staff members were gracious and polite and couldn’t do more to help.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerriCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
THanks but I think you have reviewed the wrong place this time, still great that you had a nice stay somewhere in Airlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jubilee Pocket
4.0 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
8.7 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,292 reviews
1.1 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#9 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mango House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mango House Resort

Property: Best Western Mango House Resort
Address: Corner Shute Harbour Road & Erromango Drive, Jubilee Pocket, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach > Jubilee Pocket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Jubilee Pocket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Mango House Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Mango House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mango Hotel
Best Western Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing